Secret Escapes Reviews

Updated 6 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Secret Escapes Co-founders Alex Saint and Tom Valentine (no image)
Alex Saint and Tom Valentine
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, free drink and socials(in 13 reviews)

  • "You choose the best time to work, good managing, great people to work with(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secret Escapes full-time

    Pros

    Great and fun place to work

    Cons

    None Really - people are lovely

    Secret Escapes Response

    May 4, 2021

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at SE and had fun working here :)

  2. "A company that actually listens!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Workforce Coordinator in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secret Escapes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with great like-minded people, flexible and conscience about improving work/life balance with lots of initiatives that include well being and mental health.

    Cons

    Sometimes to driven but data, data is great and can be the cornerstone to what needs to be achieved but we are humans first.

    Continue reading

  3. "Nice culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secret Escapes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice culture Good open people Flexible working

    Cons

    Career growth/ personal development is lacking, no structure in place Training budget available.. but you're on your own as to what training you need.

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    May 4, 2021

    Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your time with SE and like the culture and people :) Thank you for the feedback on areas to improve - please do pick up with Talent or HR to discuss this further as we want to support on this.

  4. "Great company and great role for someone wanting to gain experience."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Photo Editor in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secret Escapes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees, wellbeing focused, healthcare cash-plan, health insurance (after 1 years service), fully stocked kitchen, work socials in the office and off site, clean and bright office space, casual dress code.

    Cons

    Hard to get any role progression, salary is on the lower side with no overtime or bonus incentives.

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    April 8, 2021

    Hi, Thank you for passing over your review. We're glad to hear you had a good time. We will be taking your feedback on board as it is really thought out and will help us down the line. Wishing you all the best in your future endeavours

  5. "Hard workers not valued"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secret Escapes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Central location, nice office, free food and drinks, meditation sessions

    Cons

    Management without competence, fake environment where pretentiousness at working hard is awarded

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    May 4, 2021

    Thank you for your honest feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the office and we are sorry that you feel negatively towards some parts of your time at SE. We take this feedback seriously so please do contact us directly if you would like to discuss further - recruitment@secretescapes.com

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Great people, poor salary and benefits package and inconsistent management..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Assistant in London, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secret Escapes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some very talented people in a multicultural office, however everything particularly good about the company started to fall apart with the pandemic which is a real shame.

    Cons

    Not many to be honest, especially now with the pandemic. Salaries that were already quite low compared to the market had been frozen due to the pandemic. Inconsistencies across departments and processes and poor management could make your life quite miserable when you are trying hard to get things done with no structure in place. The company switched to survival mode now and is going away from it values, which impacts the motivation of its workforce and its customer base.

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    March 23, 2021

    Thanks a lot for your feedback. We're glad you liked the team and the office, we are really proud of what we've managed to achieve. We really empathise with how tough it's been throughout the last year and will take all your comments into consideration as we start to return to normality.

  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Content Editor in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Secret Escapes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved working with the content team, everyone was friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    I wished there were more opportunities for growth within my team.

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    March 23, 2021

    Thanks so much for your feedback - we're really glad to hear you had a good time with us. We're really happy with the team we've built up over the years. Thanks for your advice, we will take it into consideration as we continue to grow!

  8. "flexible and good company, poor opportunities and training"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager in London, England, England

    I have been working at Secret Escapes full-time

    Pros

    good environment, flexible and good company

    Cons

    poor management, poor opportunities and training

    Secret Escapes Response

    April 8, 2021

    Thanks for passing over your review. We really appreciate it and will make sure it is brought up when we can.

  9. COVID-19

    "Fantastic working culture and genuinely great and pleasant team"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secret Escapes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An open and encouraging environment that allows you to do your job well

    Cons

    Being in the travel industry during a pandemic, but they will come through it

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    March 23, 2021

    Thanks so much for your lovely review - we're really glad to hear that you're enjoying your time here at SE!

  10. COVID-19

    "A great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secret Escapes full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people and nice, friendly atmosphere Strong focus on values Opportunity for growth Nice office in central London Wellbeing initiatives

    Cons

    Sometimes things can get confusing, senior management not always aligned on priorities during the covid crisis. Pretty standard for a company this size anyway.

    Continue reading

    Secret Escapes Response

    February 16, 2021

    Thanks so much for the positive review. We're glad there are so many positives and we will really take your constructive feedback on board

Viewing 1 - 10 of 107 Reviews

Popular Careers with Secret Escapes Job Seekers

Sales Production Coordinator
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Package Operations Executive
Learn About the Job

Work at Secret Escapes? Share Your Experiences

Secret Escapes logo
or