State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Street Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
280 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits such as tuition reimbursement(in 253 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, it was really easy to ask for help on work even as a high school student(in 213 reviews)

Cons
  • "sometimes long hours during peak periods(in 228 reviews)

  • "Long hours, no recognition, low salary(in 103 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    People are promoted/given opportunities on merit. Most colleagues are lovely. Lots of opportunities for development if you ask for them. You aren't given stuff but that's the way most companies work.

    Cons

    There can be malaise amongst staff who have been there for a long time but that's possibly from a lack of perspective as they haven't worked in many other places and so don't know what it's like elsewhere. Sometimes standards expected of people can be too low.

    Continue reading
    State Street2018-04-30

    State Street Response

    May 30, 2018State Street

    Thank you for providing your feedback on State Street. I agree that employees are rewarded based on their performance and there are many opportunities to develop your technical, professional and leadership competencies. I have found the team members and senior leaders that I have worked with to be very willing to share their expertise. Additionally, the company has put increased focus on internal mobility as a way to expand your career and learn about other areas of the organization. I found that my colleagues with a variety of experiences have been very valuable team members. I am also excited about the new performance management system to be released, which will change the way employees are evaluated. Not only is the technology new, but the way the company is thinking about evaluations is ahead of other companies that I have seen. Thank you again for your feedback and feel free to voice any other questions you have at a future town hall event. -Peter R. Brown Jr, Assistant Vice President, Strategy & Transformation

    Continue reading
  2. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Vice President in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I worked at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Flex working Flexible benefits Colleagues

    Cons

    Complex structure No focus on staff development

    State Street2020-03-13
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good company for global opportunities, flexible working arrangements. Meet some great people.

    Cons

    Salaries are not on par for similar roles in other financial institutions. Unrealistic changes rolled out by senior management. Focus on reducing costs can result in the loss of great staff

    State Street2020-02-21
  4. "No room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Designer 

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    There wasn't that many pros

    Cons

    Difficult management structure caused issues

    State Street2020-02-18
  5. "Broad Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Construction Management Trainee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Long established, genuinely global, and diverse opportunities.

    Cons

    Salaries tend not to be the highest for similar roles at other companies.

    Continue reading
    State Street2020-01-31

    State Street Response

    February 17, 2020Brand Manager

    Thanks for sharing your review. I agree, there is a global presence with diverse opportunities offered at State Street. I interact daily with colleagues all over the world and experience our global presence every day. Thank you for your suggestion about being bolder with resourcing, that’s great feedback. – Aaron, Finance Rotation & Development Program

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "In continual decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people. Had pretty good benefits, although they continue to make cuts to them. Supportive of the communities in which they operate.

    Cons

    Constant lay offs. Senior management changes priorities and strategy at the drop of a dime with little to no communication. Overly complicated. Unrealistic expectations. Don't value their employees. Consistently set people up for failure. Focused on cost to the point where many goals become unachievable. So slow. Incredibly difficult to get things accomplished.

    Continue reading
    State Street2020-02-03
  7. "Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good location and opportunity for flexible working

    Cons

    Poor salary, pension and benefits. Little room for opportunities

    Continue reading
    State Street2020-01-15
  8. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and promote mindfulness

    Cons

    Not great pay rises and bonuses

    State Street2020-01-09
  9. "Going downhill rapidly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex working. No pressure to work outside normal working hours, 9am-5pm.

    Cons

    Undermined by senior management. Near impossible for career progression. Majority of work is or will be offshored to low cost locations, knowledge does not suddenly appear offshore and should be a gradual process with realistic targets. Too much change with not enough vision/direction is causing role confusion onshore.

    Continue reading
    State Street2020-01-19
  10. "Good opportunities as first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fairly quick career progression. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice office. Majority of staff at all levels are friendly and can have a laugh

    Cons

    Aggressive offshoring of work but not enough staff left in Edinburgh to do the job. Often feels like you need to threaten to leave to get promoted.

    Continue reading
    State Street2019-12-11
Found 4390 reviews