State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Street Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
State Street President and CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
246 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Good company for global working

    Cons

    Some people in higher positions underservdly due to offshoring of functions

    State Street2018-12-04
  2. "Poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good location and opportunity for flexible working

    Cons

    Poor salary, pension and benefits. Little room for opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Development talent from within. Ensure monthly reviews are conducted with staff and concerns are addressed.

    State Street2020-01-15
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and promote mindfulness

    Cons

    Not great pay rises and bonuses

    State Street2020-01-09
  4. "Going downhill rapidly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex working. No pressure to work outside normal working hours, 9am-5pm.

    Cons

    Undermined by senior management. Near impossible for career progression. Majority of work is or will be offshored to low cost locations, knowledge does not suddenly appear offshore and should be a gradual process with realistic targets. Too much change with not enough vision/direction is causing role confusion onshore.

    Advice to Management

    It costs the company less to pay employees the right salary rather than letting them leave and end up paying more to recruit someone new, in turn usually paying a higher salary for less experience

    State Street2020-01-19
  5. "Good opportunities as first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fairly quick career progression. Relaxed atmosphere. Nice office. Majority of staff at all levels are friendly and can have a laugh

    Cons

    Aggressive offshoring of work but not enough staff left in Edinburgh to do the job. Often feels like you need to threaten to leave to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Recognise good staff before they leave. Reduce strain on staff to stop ever increasing high turnover

    State Street2019-12-11
  6. "Poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Compliance in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working arrangements. Good experience of how not to do things

    Cons

    Poor culture, weak senior management, lack of accountability, Boston lead

    Advice to Management

    Take more personal accountability

    State Street2019-12-29
  7. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Personal Growth (worked at this company for over 8 years with 3 promotions) Felt supported Rewarded for hard work (consistent bonuses & pay rises) Good people. Good employee engagement & training plans. Varying levels of experience so didn't feel out of place. Benefits.

    Cons

    Some long hours Salary okay but could be better Instances of leniency for poor performance which was tolerated for too long prior to action.

    Advice to Management

    Be agile when recognising consistent employee performance either good or bad.

    State Street2019-11-21
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quantitative Researcher in London, England

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    State Street provides with a great life balance

    Cons

    As an old custodian bank, due to all of the regulations and restrictions sometimes it is hard to push with new technologies

    State Street2019-11-20
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President 

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    Good employer. I liked working there.

    Cons

    Nothing much that I can think of.

    State Street2019-11-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good for the self-motivated!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Anyone with decent social skills will do well and if you keep your own standards high, you will do very well. People are friendly and have a wealth of knowledge about their fields.

    Cons

    Bad behaviour isn’t punished and low standards are tolerated. There is a culture of negativity within the organisation which to a degree is self-perpetuating. You need to try and avoid this getting you down.

    Advice to Management

    Try and do a few things at one time well, see things through to the end and take the time to reflect on successes and failures. Discussions on lessons learnt are never heard and we are doomed to repeat the mistakes of the past unless we start being honest about our abilities to get things done properly.

    State Street2019-10-26
Found 4322 reviews