State Street Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Street Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
State Street CEO Ronald O’Hanley
Ronald O’Hanley
183 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time

    Pros

    People are promoted/given opportunities on merit. Most colleagues are lovely. Lots of opportunities for development if you ask for them. You aren't given stuff but that's the way most companies work.

    Cons

    There can be malaise amongst staff who have been there for a long time but that's possibly from a lack of perspective as they haven't worked in many other places and so don't know what it's like elsewhere. Sometimes standards expected of people can be too low.

    Advice to Management

    I think you're doing a great job. Just make sure that promoting/rewarding high performers isn't too much of an administrative headache.

    State Street2018-04-30

    State Street Response

    May 30, 2018State Street

    Thank you for providing your feedback on State Street. I agree that employees are rewarded based on their performance and there are many opportunities to develop your technical, professional and leadership competencies. I have found the team members and senior leaders that I have worked with to be very willing to share their expertise. Additionally, the company has put increased focus on internal mobility as a way to expand your career and learn about other areas of the organization. I found that my colleagues with a variety of experiences have been very valuable team members. I am also excited about the new performance management system to be released, which will change the way employees are evaluated. Not only is the technology new, but the way the company is thinking about evaluations is ahead of other companies that I have seen. Thank you again for your feedback and feel free to voice any other questions you have at a future town hall event. -Peter R. Brown Jr, Assistant Vice President, Strategy & Transformation

    Show Less
  2. "Great culture but systems and processes in the dark ages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Finance in London, England

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are approachable and friendly. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Politics. Lots of lifers who have antiquated ways of doing things

    Advice to Management

    differentiate reward for performance more

    State Street2019-10-19
  3. "good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment and good culture

    Cons

    not best salary-wise in industry locally

    Advice to Management

    none

    State Street2019-10-05
  4. "Wouldnt Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Office Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues and relax environment

    Cons

    Very Political, Old processes, Underpaying when compared to peers

    State Street2019-10-04
  5. "Traditional and conservative custody bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VP-Senior Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work and life balance

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic and Boston centric

    State Street2019-10-04
  6. "Stable company but improvements to be made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    *9% pension *subsidised canteen *gym flex and other benefits available * CRD acquisition

    Cons

    *IT and HR ticket system unable to speak to who you need to quickly with anything on or off boarding related *silos *overtime culture expected *Interns coming in on the internship program skipping to Senior Associate and Officer level quicker than staff who have been there longer. * Training for career development * most networks are employee lead * knowledge transferred to offshores departments could be... improved. * pay not competitive

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A lot of ownus on the staff to be accountable and ask. rather than managers managing properly.

    State Street2019-10-03
  7. "Head and tail disconnected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good work / life balance good pay

    Cons

    program management is poor. big technical visions don't penetrate further than emails. there's people here that can get the job done, but no coordination to enable that

    Advice to Management

    when you create a vision, marry it to a plan and hold those individuals accountable for milestones.

    State Street2019-09-30
  8. "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really there is none to be honest

    Cons

    Poor pay, communication, technology and senior management

    State Street2019-09-27
  9. "Never dull"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Street full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great variety of work and challenges. Stimulating environment with great people

    Cons

    Fast paced environment which means it can be stressful

    State Street2019-09-06
  10. "Dissapointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Street full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good location and working from home

    Cons

    No recognition, chances to progress or promotion, ever increasing work loads and new business onboarding, no support or work life balance and poor salaries and no pay rises or bonus'.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the experienced staff and provide assistance rather than just rely on the expectancy.

    State Street2019-09-17
Found 4178 reviews