TNTP Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

TNTP Reviews

Updated 25 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
TNTP CEO Dan Weisberg
Dan Weisberg
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "The flexibility to work from home is a perk(in 11 reviews)

  • "Working with uniformly great, hard-working and supportive people is motivating and makes the challenging work feel worth it(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be tough at times(in 25 reviews)

  • "They tell you in the interview that the average week is at least 50 hours(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Overall great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with incredibly competent and passionate coworkers, very flexible workplace in lots of ways - work from home, follow interests and shift internally to work on different types of work, expectation of supportive managers, there's a lot of pros.

    Cons

    Sometimes out of touch leadership, often heavy workload, sometimes patronizing approach to consulting, sometimes inconsistent management

    Advice to Management

    Trust your people more. Don't release info to staff the same way you would release to funders.

    TNTP2019-10-25
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good communication, good work environment

    Cons

    none none nonenone none nonenone none nonenone none none

    TNTP2019-10-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Partner, Client Team (Regional)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Partner in San Antonio, TX
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home and setting own schedule is a definite plus for those of us with young children. Autonomy is helpful.

    Cons

    This executive leadership group is the pits. Incestuous, plays favorites, makes unrealistic demands of teams, hypocritical, not transparent. In some organizations, there are people at the top of the food chain who truly do not know how to “lead”. This is that organization. Any flowery 5 star reviews to the contrary have likely been posted by HR.

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your teams and what they tell you they truly need. Get off the diverse culture high horse and face the reality that we don’t have one. You hire smart people, don’t give them room to grow, and then wonder why they leave. People who are the best and brightest are often afraid to speak out for fear of retaliation, which happens frequently in this organization.

    TNTP2019-10-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and autonomy to independently lead projects and drive your own work

    Cons

    Workload can be heavy at times

    TNTP2019-09-13
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Fine if you want flexibility but don’t care about advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy the content of my work. I get to work with passionate, intelligent, skilled colleagues. I have met many people at TNTP who are extremely committed to their work and bring a wide variety of experiences and talents. My current manager is extremely supportive. Working from home is of course a luxury as well.

    Cons

    Insulting salaries, especially given the expectation that staff work 50 hours a week (come on - this isn’t just exploitative, it’s also at odds with management best practices). Nonexistent career growth unless you’re either lucky enough to be staffed on something high profile or a relentless self promoter. There are no promotion cycles. You’re lucky if a position a level above yours opens up at all, and if it does it almost always means you would have to switch to a different team that you don’t have the interest or expertise to work on. This rewards ruthless ambition and punishes loyalty and consistency. Diversity and inclusion is supposedly a priority but the (mostly white) leadership team makes constant missteps in this area, and nothing really seems to change. There is no accountability for bad managers, especially if they have done the politicking to get in good with people above them. Having a bad manager undermines your entire trajectory at TNTP because they have total control over your staffing and your evaluation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Think about how you can recognize and compensate workhorse employees who aren’t willing to claw out other people’s eyes to climb the career ladder. Provide every manager, at ALL levels, with structured training and ongoing support (including dedicated time for management tasks) to help them excel at managing people and make clear that that is a core function of their performance. Turn the expectations we have for our clients around transparency, career progression, and retention inward. Live within your means from a staffing standpoint: Don’t take a project on expecting underpaid staff to break their necks because you can’t afford to staff it adequately. If an organization is only sustainable because it overworks people, it isn’t sustainable.

    Show More
    TNTP2019-07-03
  6. "Flexible working enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible location and work is great

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tough at times

    TNTP2019-05-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Effectiveness Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at TNTP full-time

    Pros

    The people and culture are a huge plus. I enjoy the day to day coaching aspect of developing teachers.

    Cons

    The ambiguity of the job at times can be frustrating. I was often not sure about my roles because it changed frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Keep appreciating your employees. It means a great deal.

    TNTP2018-12-10
  8. "Great Company, Still Working on Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TNTP full-time

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility, great perks, important work

    Cons

    Work life balance is pretty non existent. Sure, you can leave in the middle of the day to go pick up your kids from school, as long as you're back online, killing yourself until 10 PM and back online at 5 or 6 AM

    TNTP2018-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leadership Coach in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TNTP full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TNTP is an amazing place to work. I believe in the mission and the values of the organization. TNTP also allows you to work independently, but also with opportunities to collaborate with others.

    Cons

    TNTP works on a contract-to-contract basis. Unfortunately, the contract I am working on may expire at the end of the year.

    TNTP2018-08-23
  10. Helpful (7)

    ""all or nothing""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at TNTP full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful work, caring staff. We worked crazy hard long hours, but we really believed in what we were doing and it was clear every single employee cared about the work and was passionate - or at least deeply invested - in the mission. No one just clocked in/clocked out; it was not that kind of place.

    Cons

    long hours w mediocre pay, hierarchical structure, too many meetings, little personal flexibility/individuality. Folks here were a little cult-like in following the organization, and the people "at the top" seemed very pleased with themselves for reaching those ranks - like "you can get here too if you really drink the cool aid." because there was such a focus on mission and the "way," you didn't have any room for your own projects or to interpret the way you wanted to handle things your own way, which got frustarting at times. It was like "if you don't like how the bus is being driven, get off the bus."

    Show More
    TNTP2018-08-25
Found 81 reviews
</>Embed