Toffler Associates Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Toffler Associates Reviews

Updated May 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Toffler Associates CEO Maria Bothwell
Maria Bothwell
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn from the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing co-workers -Very interesting projects -Great brand -Fun culture -Good benefits

    Cons

    -Not much training -Limited upward growth

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about your offsite employees

    Toffler Associates2019-05-05
  2. "A good place to learn future focused strategy consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Direct access with senior clients. Create deliverables that typically make a difference for the client. Team culture. Colleagues really like working with each other.

    Cons

    Small firm, have to really roll up your sleeves and work all aspects of engagement.

    Toffler Associates2019-04-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Should be great but isn’t"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Given the lack of structure or method, you really learn quite a bit about good and bad ways to deliver consulting. There are still a few great people there who are fantastic to work with. Brand is viewed positively in select markets

    Cons

    Has been an up and down for years due to leadership challenges and a cult-like mentality at the top. Currently going through yet another turn around, and almost 40% of the company has left in recent months.

    Toffler Associates2019-04-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Keep looking, there are far better places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and compensation and flexible work location (when you’re not on client site)

    Cons

    I would echo what most others have said. There is an immature approach to the market, a borderline hostile work environment, and an unwillingness to accept other viewpoints-if you don’t quote Toffler books or repeat the same tired mantras (the workforce is aging, bio-digital convergence, company or client x isn’t a third wave company) then those in charge don’t want to hear your opinion. If you are fairly new... to the company, you will get stuck as an engagement leader (this will be presented as an opportunity) and miltiple directors will take credit for coaching you. When it starts to “fail”, someone will swoop in and “save” it and take the credit. It’s happened to countless people in the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend time teaching the directors how to be professional. Talking negatively about the other directors, the COO, or the MD behind their backs and to current employees doesn’t help create a welcoming atmosphere. You should also probably listen to your few employees who actually think on their own and present new ideas. The standard Toffler future predictions are starting to get old and sound silly to clients.

    Toffler Associates2018-06-23
  5. Helpful (6)

    "A continuous cycle of mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Toffler Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small company with a lot of exposure to different aspects of the business. Very flexible, some interesting projects.

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, poor leadership, lack of direction, and sometimes hostile work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the underlying issues instead of writing overly positive Glassdoor reviews.

    Toffler Associates2018-05-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A fantastic niche firm like no other!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Reston, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The most incredible family-feel culture I've ever experienced - True autonomy and trust from leadership. Forget micromanaging; most times, you're not even managed in a traditional, dry sense of the word. Instead, leaders provide direction and general guidance, but they trust you to do the right thing and make the right decisions. - Innovation and intellectual curiosity are not just encouraged; they are an... integral part of the culture. You want to go off and learn about some random topic and then see how it can benefit others? Go for it! The firm supports you, 100%. - The people, again. I have never before or since found such truly supportive mentors, managers, counselors, and directors, as I had here. They didn't just push me to become better - they led the way and joined me on the journey. - Work-life balance is superb. Depending on client, telework can be a great option. Very little travel. Your evenings and weekends are actually your own.

    Show More

    Cons

    - This is a small and relatively flat firm. So, if you need traditional stringent structure, this might not be the best place for you. - Autonomy can be challenging to some. Just be mindful of your own limitations and preferences. - The CEO can challenge you, at times. But she means really well and truly has your back, at all times! I can attest to that - even after I had already left the firm, she continued to... support my professional growth! - The firm portfolio is heavily focused on public sector clients, which can be a good or a bad thing, depending on where you want to go. - Hierarchy means nothing here (Personally, this is a huge PRO for me!). So if you're used to delegating smaller, minute tasks to EAs or Analysts, think again. Everyone, no matter the level, does whatever needs to be done. No room for egos.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There have been many programmatic and strategic changes to the firm's direction over the past year - and it's been wonderful! Keep doing exactly what you are doing.

    Toffler Associates2018-03-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "curiosity plus creativity equals a great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toffler Associates full-time

    Pros

    I've worked at a couple other commercial consulting firms prior to Toffler and am impressed by the thought leadership, ideas, client relationship, and intellectual creativity the Toffler team brings to it's clients. For a small firm, it leverages its assets and knowledge network better than the large firms - like a nimble speed boat versus a cargo ship. The focus is on delivering value to its clients and being a... compelling place to work, and not on partner profit. I love working with this team of colleagues because they are smart, curious, fun, and very collaborative.

    Show More

    Cons

    Being a small firm and competing against the big guys can be tough. It takes the right experience, knowledge, attitude, and scrappiness to be successful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on bringing value to clients and being curious.

    Toffler Associates2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A great group floating adrift. Wish I could give 3.5 stars."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Toffler Associates full-time

    Pros

    - There is an amazing culture here based on a legacy of intellectual excellence and team camaraderie - I always felt proud to call other TA employees my friends and colleagues. - A robust onboarding process and ongoing learning and development including creative exercises and engaging lesson plans to teach you the essentials to being a Toffler Associate. - All team members are accessible and responsive to emails,... meeting invites, phone calls etc. - Most leaders provide ongoing individual feedback including positive accolades, opportunities for improvement, and coaching on development areas. - The firm pretty much only works with executive clients (federal and commercial), so your facilitation, presentation, and analytical skills should be (or will quickly become) top-notch. - After demonstrating competence and building trust, you can contribute to just about any internal firm initiative. - Unmatched benefits with full health coverage, home office set up + monthly internet, daily parking/mileage, and potential annual bonus. - The firm invests in team relationships and celebrating success with all-day company meetings 6 times per year, black tie holiday party, fancy dinners, frequent happy hours/lunches, and annual awards ceremony. - The firm provides right-sized technology solutions for a small firm (Laptop + Internet air card, company iPhone, Office 365 + MS OneDrive, Yammer, etc.) - Nice office stocked with drinks, snacks, supplies, etc. - Free copies of all of the books by founder, Alvin Toffler.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Toffler Associates is a place where things move fast, but not always with the same long-term strategic thinking that the firm aspires to deliver for its clients. - Lack of clear business development process yields contracts that are misaligned with primary expertise in foresight and strategic advisory. - Seemed to shift market focus several times, but did not win new work, which created a limited ability to... support new clients - was on the same soul-crushing contract for 2.5 years. - Did not rotate staff to "bear the brunt" of some of most notoriously difficult, disrespectful, or hostile clients. Reserved unique client or internal opportunities for same inner few - you may float in and out of this group at times and if you are "in," it will be in addition to your normal duties. - Leadership does not proactively communicate about much, mostly updates the firm after things are already in motion and questions arise, causing confusion and lack of trust. - Roles and responsibilities are unclear, including new titles appearing overnight and assigned to 6 men, causing misunderstandings, unclear growth trajectory, and a lack of leadership diversity. - Not a very transparent performance evaluation process. Some employees rack-and-stack others. Unsure of how raises, bonuses, and promotions are determined. - Fail to hold low performing leaders accountable when they do not meet expectations of their role, especially with respect to mentorship of others. - Passive aggressive communication and heavy emphasis on military culture can make some interpersonal relationships challenging for non-military staff. - Substantial group think is a risk with any small company, but seemed especially tribal here. Quite a bit of gossip and never quite sure where you stand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Proactively communicate and be extra clear - if you think you are oversharing, it's probably just right. Saying "if you want to know something, you can always ask" is not communication. - Don't assume that money + benefits makes up for dealing with abusive clients. - Define a long term BD strategy and then focus on that for more than a quarter or two. Hone in on your niche, don't try to be too many things... to too many people. - Remember that TA is not the military or the government, even if it has served both. Be careful of letting that culture/style dictate your interpersonal relationships and processes. - TA doesn't sell a product - it sells its people, yet you wouldn't know from the marketing. Loosen the reigns a bit on the firm's external communications channels and lean less on the legacy of "the old ways." You're missing an incredibly unique opportunity to tell the story of how vibrant, intelligent, high-performing, impactful, polished, personable and funny your current team really is.

    Show More
    Toffler Associates2018-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "zero to hero"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toffler Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Been at the company for 5 years and in that time I've gone from teammate to engagement leader to senior leader... I've gotten 20 years of experience in about a 1/4 of the time. Amazing experience. Even more amazing people. Unmatched benefits Owners care more about employees than I've ever experienced... I feel like I'm part of a family. I'm allowed to explore my passions, express my creativity, have a say in... the direction of the business, and contribute to meaningful work.

    Show More

    Cons

    We're a small company so it's usually all hands on deck at ALL times... even though no one tells you where you have to be or what you must do... get ready to WORK

    Advice to Management

    Empower, empower, empower... our people are our greatest asset. Never forget that!

    Toffler Associates2018-01-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Toffler Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent focus on learning and development

    Cons

    Need to diversify client base

    Toffler Associates2017-04-06
Found 42 reviews