Trouva Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Trouva Reviews

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company to work for and develop skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trouva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I joined Trouva at its very early stages with the intention of working in a high pace startup environment. During my time at Trouva I was given the opportunity to work on projects that impacted every function of the business, allowing me to expand my thinking and skillset massively! There's a sense of unity between every employee at Trouva and you will immediately feel welcomed and included. The team structure is... fairly flat and everyone's ideas are heard and tried. I had a lot of fun working at Trouva and expanded my skillset way faster than I would have anywhere else!

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a high pace startup, touching both Business to Business and Business to Consumer markets. Getting the right balance on where to spend your focus can be a bit hard, but the Management is always there to help you spend out.

    Trouva2019-09-01
  2. "Rare opportunity to be a part of something great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trouva full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined the business with the intention of propelling my career to the next stage - and it’s delivered on exactly that. It’s a super flat structure and you’re hired because you’re generally the expert (and sometimes the only one!) in your field. This means you have a rare opportunity to build relationships with some incredibly smart, ambitious people who trust you to provide guidance and direction to your area in... the business. The culture is incredibly hardworking, determined, passionate and direct - you know where you stand and you’ll be given loads of feedback. You have the opportunity to make mistakes, implement solutions immediately and become more resourceful than you ever thought you could be! It’s also, put simply, a fun place to work (it ticks the boxes with snacks team activities + coffee!) with people who genuinely care.

    Show More

    Cons

    It’s a start up - there are some high expectations and teams aren’t huge, so you’re getting your hands regularly. It can be easy to slip into the habit of working long hours and you need to be disciplined with yourself about what is and isn’t feasible. That said, there’s overall pretty good flexibility to manage your time and days as you need.

    Advice to Management

    Keep getting feedback from the team to make sure time and resource is invested in things which will support their time at Trouva

    Trouva2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible and Demoralizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Trouva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very few positive things to say abbout Trouva

    Cons

    Poor leadership, poor workplace culture, low pay, taking advantage of everyone who comes through the door

    Trouva2019-09-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, challenging but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trouva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I know Trouva has been subject to trolling recently, but for me as someone who is actually working there, Trouva is fast paced and challenging, but fun. It is diverse both in cultural and gender and experience within teams which allows for greater opportunity for knowledge exchange. It is pretty social and engaging, with quite a flat heirarchy, allowing for closer contact with senior leadership. You feel valued and... rewarded for your contributions.

    Show More

    Cons

    As in any fast paced environment, it is sometimes difficult to see the wood from the trees. Constantly moving at a million miles an hour comes with its own challenges, but you can thrive if this is your style.

    Advice to Management

    As it is a really high pressure, high stress, fast paced and challenging environment, there should be more done to educate on burnout and how to manage this in your teams. More focus should be put on team bonding as the high pressure environment can increase likelihood of team relationship breakdowns.

    Trouva2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "If you love beautiful products and boutique shopping then it's the dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Brand Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trouva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You get to work with 200,000+ stunning products (homewares, lifestyle, fashion) and the 800+ independent boutiques who stock them - No two weeks are the same, extremely varied work and always a new challenge. In the Brand Marketing team you focus on uncovering and highlighting new brands, customer communications, creative and campaigns for website, social channels, PR and email - If you are driven the skies the... limit (i've done three different roles in my time in the company)

    Show More

    Cons

    - As it's a start-up the teams aren't huge so you have to be up for getting your hands dirty whatever your level - Targets and expectations are high. You don't become one of the UK's fastest growing start-ups by plodding along!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Trouva2019-08-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great people, mission, although high expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trouva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, helping independent shops. Really bright people who I enjoyed working with. Company shares. Company growing super fast so always something changing.

    Cons

    Management have very high expectations, this is definitely not a 9-5 job, which led to some of my being let go. Operations can be monotonous.

    Advice to Management

    People being let go could have been handled a lot better. Led to a lot of knock on effects. Communicate to us in future.

    Trouva2019-07-25
  7. Helpful (5)

    "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trouva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s exciting to work for such an innovative company and to be part of the journey. You can feel that people are dedicated to their jobs and are proud to work here. Recently there has been a lot of investment in training and development. You will meet many talented people. The team spirit is great and there is a sense of belonging. The work can be challenging, but I always felt that the business takes an active... approach in keeping employees happy and motivated (work from home options, perks, social events).

    Show More

    Cons

    The salaries are not shockingly low, but could be higher. It seems difficult and lengthy to get a pay rise or promotion but it’s certainly not impossible and hard work seems to the rewarded. Since it’s a growing company it can sometimes be a difficult to get an insight in what other teams are doing and see the larger scale.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your talent and listening to your employees

    Trouva2019-07-26
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great opportunity to influence a growing business & learn loads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trouva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trouva is a fantastic concept headed up by some of the smartest people I’ve worked with. It’s a hard working culture and it has great values at its core. Management respect intelligence and directness and I always found them willing to give the time of day to anyone who wanted a chat, whether that be line manager or intern. It's a place for people who are talented, genuinely interested in independent retail, and... excited by figuring out difficult problems. It's also a whole lot of fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's easy to slip into the pace of working long hours here, best suited for people who are looking for a challenge to throw themselves in to, and who are happy to stick around late knowing they'll go home happier if they've sorted something out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your doors open.

    Trouva2019-07-30
  9. Helpful (3)

    "One of fastest growing startups in UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trouva full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trouva is different to many tech startups as it is having an impact in pretty much any city/town/village around the UK (and now lots of Europe). As an employee when you are travelling around you can almost always find a boutique shop working with Trouva, walk in and have a chat to a small business owner that is supported by Trouva. As an employee I always found that really motivating and cool. It has grown really... fast over the last few years, which means there is always an exciting new challenge on the horizon. For some people that might be a bit overwhelming as the pace of growth and change is really high. But what it will teach you is how to prioritise what is really important, and work out how to deliver what is needed in the fastest and leanest way possible to impact the business. A skill that is critical to Trouva surviving, but something that all employers will value later and a great training ground.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing really fast. That is where a lot of the positives come from, but that won't be for everyone. The problems that were critical to helping the business grow and survive can shift pretty quickly. And the founders won't be afraid to recognise that and turn the company on a dime to refocus on a new set of goals. That can be disconcerting and difficult at times. The fast growth also means that... people might be facing a problem for the first time, from the founders, through the senior management team and down to every level in the company. Not everyone will want that pressure to be jumping into the unknown when there might not be someone around in the company with direct experience of the problem to mentor you through it.

    Show More
    Trouva2019-08-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome job, lots to learn, equity over salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trouva full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love my role, flying around Europe to sign up boutiques. Fast paced. Nice team events.

    Cons

    Don't come here if you want the best salaries, there is more money in sales elsewhere, although perks/equity definitely helps make up for it

    Trouva2019-08-01
Found 35 reviews