United Utilities Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

United Utilities Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
United Utilities CEO  Steve Mogford
Steve Mogford
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits like the healthcare scheme, pension scheme and lots of support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Helpful colleagues / large company / good opportunities / pleasant offices / good pension scheme(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Career progression can be difficult - more who you know than what you know(in 4 reviews)

  • "If you are in a senior management grade expect 5 years max before the give you the boot(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "united utilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very friendly company, office setting feels fairly informal and comfortable, lots of perks such as food, drinks and ice creams for hard work or during bust periods to keep up morale

    Cons

    hard to change shift patterns if circumstances change

    United Utilities2019-12-27
  2. "Demoralising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people below middle management level, reasonable salary and rewards

    Cons

    Bullying attitude has increased in last few years, no loyalty to hard working long term staff.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the skills your people have and reward accordingly. Realise that bullying does not get the best out of people!!!

    United Utilities2020-01-16
  3. "Great place to work, great teamwork !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Mechanical Engineer in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best Engineering function in the whole of UK Water industry. Great apprentice & Graduate Engineer development programmes.

    Cons

    Massive geographical area, certain departments can be still a bit silo thinking at times !

    Advice to Management

    Keep going with transformations change development plan, the CEO is driving in the right direction, we all just need to keep up !

    United Utilities2019-12-25
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time

    Pros

    Good salary and bonuses, good career prospects

    Cons

    Location may be a con

    United Utilities2019-12-20
  5. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reservoir Safety Engineer in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Up to 35 days holiday (5 paid) and a good pension scheme.

    Cons

    Can be challenging working with some of the company partners

    United Utilities2019-12-19
  6. "good union relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Liverpool, England
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good unions working with the company

    Cons

    too much lip service, managers do not always listen

    Advice to Management

    only employ good people managers

    United Utilities2019-12-31
  7. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor Advanced in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money, good benefits, good management and colleagues. Best company i've every worked for and i hope to forge a long term career here.

    Cons

    I have't found any negatives yet.

    Advice to Management

    Continue supporting staff and putting succession plans in place in order to help people progress.

    United Utilities2019-12-12
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulation Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Its a positive environment Lots of development opportunities

    Cons

    Out of town sites mean public transport isn't as easy as some places

    United Utilities2019-10-30
  9. "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible in terms of opportunities.

    Cons

    Relaxed environment, sometimes can hinder growth.

    United Utilities2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of career progression Employee benefits are great Approachable and friendly employees regardless of job grade Free parking

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    United Utilities2019-10-10
Found 92 reviews