United Utilities Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

United Utilities Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
United Utilities CEO Steve Mogford
Steve Mogford
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "good benefits like the healthcare scheme, pension scheme and lots of support(in 7 reviews)

  • "they have many benefits as well and an amazing pension scheme(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Career progression can be difficult - more who you know than what you know(in 4 reviews)

  • "If you are in a senior management grade expect 5 years max before the give you the boot(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Community feeling with development opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal and External Communications Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities to learn, develop and progress. Community feel across the company. Great salary, employee benefits and bonus scheme. 1 day a year volunteering opportunity as well as many others.

    Cons

    Progression routes could be clearer.

    United Utilities2019-10-11
  2. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of career progression Employee benefits are great Approachable and friendly employees regardless of job grade Free parking

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    United Utilities2019-10-10
  3. "A caring company offering great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There's a really wide range of job roles, so there's something to fit everyone's skillset. You really get the feeling you are doing a job that's making a difference - we're all working towards the same goal. UU cares about its employees and is working hard to develop the support it provides in areas such as health & wellbeing and learning & development.

    Cons

    Pressure from our regulators means we are sometimes restrained with what we would like to do from an innovation point of view - that means the pace of change can sometimes be frustrating.

    United Utilities2019-10-10
  4. "Great and supportive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulation Manager in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of growth opportunity Support from management Opportunity for flexible working and benefits

    Cons

    Onsite food is expensive, bring your own lunch.

    United Utilities2019-10-09
  5. "Amazing Apprenticeship Scheme at UU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Quantity Surveyor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time

    Pros

    The outward bound course we completed at the start of our apprenticeship really made me look forward to starting life at UU. I would recommend to anyone to apply for the apprenticeship scheme, so far it has been extremely enjoyable and I am looking forward to my future with this company.

    Cons

    I can not think of any negatives.

    United Utilities2019-10-01
  6. "Good Place To Be Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Graduate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Strong Ethos on working collaboratively and effectively -Decent Salary -Flexible Benefits System for healthcare -Experiences provided e.g. Outward Bounds Trust Program -Friendly and supportive colleagues -Emphasis upon progression and training

    Cons

    -More opportunities to gain understanding of wider company

    Advice to Management

    Keep emphasising the importance of marginal gains in performance to achieve the company goal

    United Utilities2019-09-30
  7. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Gm Operative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    working time, salary and opportunities

    Cons

    too many meetings that don't concern yourself in some areas

    United Utilities2019-09-30
  8. "Very Impressed, Extremely Welcome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appremtice IT Developer in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very professional and relaxed working environment. Massive array of staff benefits. Progressive attitude.

    Cons

    None found as of yet

    United Utilities2019-09-26
  9. "Solid place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Analyst in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at United Utilities full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Location, People, Benefits, Flexible Working, Car Parking

    Cons

    It's a very large fragmented company Everybody is an analyst...

    United Utilities2019-09-25
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Warrington, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at United Utilities full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salaries, Benefits, Career Progression, Employee Voice Panel & Employee Networks

    Cons

    Nothing negative to share at present.

    United Utilities2019-09-17
Found 82 reviews