Virtual College Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virtual College Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
82%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Virtual College CEO Rod Knox
Rod Knox
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "It must be said that the people is what makes Virtual College so special(in 27 reviews)

  • "it's the people that stand out in making Virtual College a great place to work(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "A move towards flexible working would be very welcome(in 5 reviews)

  • "I give credit where credit is due, but Virtual College has definitely been through some rough patches in its time(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Fun, Caring and Creative Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Standards Coordinator 
    Recommends

    I worked at Virtual College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • A caring company that looks after its staff above and beyond anywhere I’ve ever worked before • The freedom to alter processes’, being given the ability to be creative and offer ideas on how things could be changed for the better • Regular Company events including, celebratory events, away days and seasonal parties (Christmas, Halloween, End of Financial Year etc) as well as weekly fruit baskets and the... occasional Hamper to each office

    Show More

    Cons

    • As there are 2 buildings within Ilkley, working in some departments limits you when getting to know people around the business. • Car parking has become a bit of an issue within the last few months due to parking permits being introduced. Although there is a car park you're not guaranteed a space.

    Virtual College2019-09-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great outward appearance, but not a great employee experience in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Lead in Ilkley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    VC staff are largely good, hard-working people. Staff get fruit baskets weekly. Good reviews on this site. Note: HR do email staff encouraging them to leave a Glassdoor review,, so whilst these reviews are good, the number of reviews might be artificially inflated. Naturally, if employees are current, that could affect how candid the reviewer is.

    Cons

    Low morale due to the following long-standing issues: - Little or no information from the leadership team on the direction of the department to staff. This meant big projects were undertaken with no plan and as such enormous amounts of time, effort and money are wasted, which for many hard-working staff members is deflating. - Big architectural decisions made without consulting experts (the developers in the... department) has made development and stability of the software difficult. - Salary had not increased adequately as staff gained more experience and qualifications at the company. Some people in IT were hugely underpaid, despite being invaluable assets to the company. The pay for newer recruits is more in line with industry which is rather unfair. Requests were made for appropriate pay rises but not met. - No defined career path or progression. Hard-working, motivated members of staff had not had applicable skills developed for many years, despite asking during 1-2-1 sessions and appraisals. Although VC allowed staff to do courses on another e-learning site, it was not always directly relevant and had no bearing on progressing in a role. - I witnessed bullying in more than 1 team in IT, some occurring on multiple occasions over a long time. I don’t think these have been dealt with properly and for the people on the receiving end, there’s very little solace. The seating in tech is very carefully planned and basically moving desks is limited as these matters are still ongoing (when I left). - The Leadership team in IT does not have the expertise required to run the department. They are not from a technical background and the department needs someone with applicable experience. - Several middle managers in IT felt unsupported and there was a sense of hopelessness for the future if the leadership team remained the same. - Customer service received by major clients is below par. I have 15+ years of dealing with customers in many industries, and I considered VC's approach to be cavalier at best, but more often reckless. Communication is poor and I witnessed more covering up than I was comfortable with when we had committed to delivering products. - The actions/inaction of the leadership team made it completely impossible for me to get any traction with plans I had for my team. I have never struggled to add value and motivate people but with my time spent mainly firefighting and personnel issues, I had no opportunity to move us forward.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    When middle managers are asking for help and direction, provide proper guidance. The leadership team should be there to impart advice for the benefit and welfare of employees as well as the success of the company. When seeking feedback from employees, it feels like it's a bit of a PR exercise. Listen, consider, act, or don't act but in any case communicate back. I think considerable amounts of money are... wasted on badly run projects, and employee well-being initiatives, which is nice but somewhat superficial and too frequent. Staff would feel more valued with an appropriate pay rise. Big personalities in tech (not managers) are allowed to essentially control the department this desperately needs to be addressed to keep hard-working, high calibre developers.

    Show More
    Virtual College2019-09-11
  3. "Collaborative, Positive and Grown Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Sales in Ilkley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Our people and our reason for being. The working environment is unlike other places I have worked for the right reasons. There is an authentic and genuine desire for collective success.

    Cons

    Parking can be challenging for those that commute to work by car.

    Virtual College2019-07-25
  4. "Great place in the heart Ilkley town."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - IT Support Analyst in Ilkley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and accommodating work culture. I love the weekly fruit baskets ! :)

    Cons

    Nothing to mention at the moment.

    Virtual College2019-06-28
  5. "A great company to work for, who put their people at the heart of all they do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Technology Consultant in Stroud, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have found Virtual College to be a very inclusive, friendly and supportive place to work. There are many forward thinking initiatives encouraging staff right across the business to be involved in shaping the future of VC, and their commitment to their employees is very transparent. As a remote worker, they go above and beyond to make me feel part of the team and include me in all rewards and initiatives.... They are constantly innovating - always looking for better ways to support their clients with digital learning solutions, whilst also enhancing the working environment for their own staff. They are a great company to work for - well organised with a clear vision and strategy, who put their people at the heart of everything they do. I'm very happy!

    Show More

    Cons

    Holiday allocation could be better

    Virtual College2019-06-28
  6. "Really happy that I took this role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Ilkley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic, friendly people. Forward looking and embracing change Great location Respect for knowledge and experience, trust to get on with the job, the right sort of interest in what I'm doing and appreciation for my efforts.

    Cons

    Nit picking but initial holiday entitlement could be higher

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do.

    Virtual College2019-06-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "People with less capabilities are set as leaders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, less stress .

    Cons

    Although the company boast of 3.5 million learners there isn't any vision for growth.Thats a funny situation where the company has high targets but no relistic means to achieve that.The core Technology severely lacks leadership of good skills.They don't have any technical skills are just leading the department.The product is very poor in terms of functionality and features.3.5 million learners is a big lie .The... company just runs on friendships , so, if you are not friends with big people you are vulnerable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have same rules and policies for all.

    Virtual College2019-07-31
  8. "Positive progress is underway"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Ilkley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Ambitious organisation which embraces change - Provides staff with opportunities to develop within role - There is scope to voice suggestions for improvement and ways of working across all levels - There is a greater move towards listening to staff and engaging with them to understand feedback for improvement - Fun motivators, e.g. pancake day hampers, international waffle day, company away day - Committed to... looking after staff e.g. sleep advice, yoga sessions, wellness hampers such as herbal teas, essential oils, water bottles. We're getting better at looking after each other. - Communication in the organisation is improving steadily

    Show More

    Cons

    - Poor holiday allowance - Salaries are disproportionate across people with similar responsibilities. The pay rises aren’t really meaningful enough, there is capacity to earn more elsewhere for the same job - is it really market-led? - Invest in training, show that you’re committed to our professional development - Although the people are great it can be cliquey at times which ultimately challenges... professionalism across working relationships and internal development and progression

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to staff. Invest in your people - show that you're committed.

    Virtual College2019-07-01
  9. "Great Place, Great People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Technology Adviser in Ilkley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at VC for such a short time so it can be hard to really voice anything. What i can say is that the company do care about you, the line managers and above listen and take into consideration what you say. I have had nothing but support since joining the company and i don't see it easing off. Another thing to state is that every person in the company is genuinely a nice person, and that is hard to... find in businesses. Every person i have been in contact with has given me the time of day and helped me continue to progress. not once have i (or anyone else) been turned away when asking a question or asking for help! truly good people!

    Show More

    Cons

    a couple of the processes could do with being ironed out but as changes have been happening to the company (growing) there will always be teething issues.

    Advice to Management

    Always listen to the staff members, this is a company full with extremely talented people, keep encouraging them to voice their opinion!

    Virtual College2019-06-28
  10. "A company that has bounced back from dark times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virtual College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at Virtual College for nearly 6 years now and throughout that time I have witnessed countless people come and go and have been through umpteen restructures. We have a fairly relaxed culture here where most people come to work in a "smart-casual" dress code. We are updated on the company's activity and business ventures on a weekly basis and have regular team meetings. In addition to that, we have... a team that organises special events for us such as Christmas parties, Halloween parties and summer BBQs; things that some people can only dream of having at their workplaces. To put it briefly, we are a company that likes to work hard and play hard! All of this, as well as other benefits, is what makes Virtual College the company that it is today where staff look out for one another and strive to meet their objectives. Take care of your employees and they will take care of the clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    I give credit where credit is due, but Virtual College has definitely been through some rough patches in its time. Communication wasn't always up to scratch and departments were very disconnected from one another. Further training wasn't always provided for staff; it took me 18 months to be fully trained for my job role despite asking time and time again for further training which is quite ironic considering that... we're an online training company. Some members of staff - myself included - felt that their work wasn't appreciated and that their concerns were simply falling on deaf ears. At that time, it wasn't about what you knew, but about who you knew; a kind of "all staff are equal, but some staff are more equal than others" sort of place. A generally unhappy and sour atmosphere was felt in my department where bullying, sniping, cattiness and talking behind one's back was commonplace. However, the staff have spoken and the Leadership Team have rolled up their sleeves and have responded with action instead of just words. My only wish is that all of this could have been done much sooner, but, hey, better late than never, I suppose. Please note that this is a review based on my full time here at Virtual College and so please don't be put off by my negative past experiences. The Virtual College of today is a place where I am proud to work and despite all of the bad memories I do have some very good memories here as well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to us, keep believing in us and keep your sleeves rolled up!

    Virtual College2019-04-30
Found 73 reviews