Wilko Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wilko Reviews

Updated 14 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Wilko CEO Sean Toal
Sean Toal
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "20% discount including on sale items (which can go ridiculously cheap)(in 37 reviews)

  • "Staff discount, was made to feel welcome and was sad to leave when Christmas was over(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Would often change shifts on rota without informing me and then blame it on me -(in 14 reviews)

  • "most days included short hours such as 3 hour shifts and lack of security(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Really fun & easy going"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Sales Assistant in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wilko part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, good salary as I’m a student, nice atmosphere with the people working in there

    Cons

    I didn’t think there were any as I only worked 12 hours over the weekend

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Wilko2019-06-19
  2. "Best job I’ve had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costumer Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Applying to work here was honestly one of the best things I’ve done, before I was working in a job that in simple terms really made me suffer mental health wise and I was really skeptical that a retail job would ever not be like that. I applied in the middle of my gap year and had an amazing interview where they were completely interested in me as a person and not just what I could do for them, didn’t mention anything...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is it gets very hot in the summer when shelf stacking

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Wilko2019-07-12
  3. "Average place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Controller 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilko full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff discount is 20% so cheap toiletries.

    Cons

    Managers don’t manage staff leaving some staff doing all the work.

    Advice to Management

    Manage staff.

    Wilko2019-07-11
  4. "Good retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wilko full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, friendly colleagues, good discount offers, always a job to do. Overall a good place to work in retail.

    Cons

    most days included short hours such as 3 hour shifts and lack of security.

    Wilko2019-06-23
  5. "Decent first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Harrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wilko part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many entry level roles, flexible rota, weekly pay. Great for students, primary care givers, and more.

    Cons

    Not immune to the high street downturn, so not a lot of overtime given in the last year.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Wilko2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty Good..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service in Clifton, Nottinghamshire, East Midlands, England
      Recommends

      I have been working at Wilko part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Really nice staff team, good fun and supportive place to work, competitive rates of pay and opportunities to progress if wanted, 20% staff discount and a family discount card after 16 weeks

      Cons

      Small hour contracts and short 3 hour shifts spread over 7 days. The cost to get to work almost matches what I would earn in one of those shifts...

      Advice to Management

      Stop hiring staff and cutting everyone else's hours. Most staff I know would appreciate the extra hours and worthwhile shifts (longer than three hours)

      Wilko2019-06-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not what they used to be"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Team Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Wilko full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      20 per cent discount. Some managers are really great (although most of the great ones I encountered have left due to the uphill struggle they are experiencing trying to run stores when all their good staff are leaving)

      Cons

      Removed all premium pay. Cut back staff in all stores. Little to no security presence in vulnerable stores. Have to be flexible at the drop of a hat. Removed assistant manager positions in small stores.

      Advice to Management

      Go back to 8 years ago, when people really loved the company and thought it was a great place to work. Examine where you've gone wrong in recent years. Bring back the family values.

      Wilko2019-07-05
    • "cashier"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

        I have been working at Wilko part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        friendly staff and good pay flexibility

        Cons

        not organised short notice on hours

        Wilko2019-06-18
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Merchandiser 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Wilko part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        People were nice, job wasn’t overly difficult

        Cons

        Managers were rude, staff were overworked and underpaid

        Wilko2019-06-16
      • "Network Analyst"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Network Analyst in Worksop, England
        Recommends

        I have been working at Wilko full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Flexible working environment and likeable people

        Cons

        Teams often lack communication between other teams, nothing major there.

        Advice to Management

        Management in business solutions is very good. I have never had reasons to think otherwise.

        Wilko2019-06-14
      Found 270 reviews