ZEAL Group Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 23 reviews

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ZEAL Group CEO Dr. Helmut Becker (no image)
Dr. Helmut Becker
17 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company to work for

    Mar 30, 2021 - Finance Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, young crowd, fun and active, dynamic

    Cons

    no cons, great place to work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A very big NO from me

    Apr 12, 2021 - Senior Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A fantastic working environment both in London and in Hamburg

    Cons

    Very frustrating people, bullying, change of opinions every day and an HR which doesn't really solve the problems. When you have a problem it is always your fault. Once I find another job I will definetly quit.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great office vibes

    Sep 5, 2020 - IT Support Analyst in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great office vibes. Great people and good social events. Work was challenging and felt supported by my colleagues.

    Cons

    Hard to move up internally even though taking a lot of extra work on

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mediocre Company with no growth strategy

    Dec 13, 2018 - Management in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are really nice, there is a free breakfast on Mondays and the work life balance is very good - rarely anyone leaves the office later than 5:00pm.

    Cons

    The company gets outcompeted left and right and has no idea on how to grow its business. It has not had a success since 2015. Upper management is not able to solve this problem. Very limited career possibilities.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great culture and fun office environment

    May 4, 2017 - Talent Acquisition Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I joined Zeal 3 months ago and I could not be happier. Of course, of being part of the HR/recruitment team I might be a little biased ;) but as an individual I have to say that I was really warm welcomed here by everybody. My job is exciting and challenging, I got great equipment and tools to work with. People are very approachable, also the Board and Senior managers. By having regular office meetings and get togethers, I really get a good feel about the whole company. And great benefits!

    Cons

    Meeting rooms are booked up quickly

    1 person found this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Employer Representative

    Thank you for leaving this great review.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Opportunity.. Opportunity ... Opportunity at every corner...

    Jul 15, 2017 - Senior Technology Leader in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Having worked within the Zeal Group for about two years now, it's very clear to me that this company has all of the ingredients for success. * Start with aligned leadership at the top (CEO, CTO and CFO) work really well together. Each of them have very different styles, however they complement each other very well, and this provides for balanced decision making. * Great business, with great market potential. This is not a young business by any means. This group of companies has been around for well over ten years. They understand the market well and they have developed businesses that are very successful and this makes them a leader in each product market. * Well-Funded & Solid Financials. We are a public company and have continued to provide the market and investors with strong returns and have a great deal of cash on hand for any opportunities that might arise. * Investment in Technology: With just about 300 collective employees across the group of companies, more than 1/3 is comprised of Technology Professionals. A major benefit of so many platforms, is all of the great technologies we get to leverage. We are empowered to be as innovative as possible and utilize cutting edge tools to make us faster and more agile. On the Technology Infrastructure side, we have a working strategy towards Infrastructure as Code, we use tools like Ansible to automate as many tasks as possible and to empower the development teams to go faster and be empowered. On the development side, we have a continued focus on speed and quality. We are well on our way with continuous delivery, with some products doing code releases multiple times per day. We also get to use some pretty cool tools like (Docker, Kubernetes, Swarm, Rancher to name a few. All in all, we are well on our way in terms of leveraging technologies in the market that provide the most value and purpose. * Diversification: This is accomplished at the business level and across the great people who work for the group of companies. At the business level, we have a diverse portfolio of businesses within the group. Some are mature and well established and some are start-up like and provide opportunities for entrepreneur type minded people to engage and be successful. On the professional side we have something for everyone. In terms of people, we operated internationally and that ensures that we have people working here from all over the world with different backgrounds and different abilities. This group of companies has a true melting pot of talent. * Empowerment and Accountability: Two of our company values are “think like an owner” and “think brave”. These two values embody the culture we have. They really empower the employees to think outside the box and be provocative thinkers to solve problems. However with that empowerment comes accountability as well, so it’s very balanced in that way. All in all, in my twenty year career, this is by far one of the best places I have worked all things taken into consideration.

    Cons

    * An Opportunity and a Challenge: is the fact we have a very attractive market that we operate within. This is now starting to bring more and more competitors into our market vertical. With all of this competition we have many things going on in parallel and it can be challenging for sure. If you are highly motivated and can handle quick pivots in direction and are able to context switch without major disruption? Then this place is for you… if you are a more methodical person who needs a great deal of time to analyze and test ideas for success before trying them, this might not be the place for you. The pace here can sometimes be stressful, however it’s also very rewarding. * History…: First let me say, history is just that history, however since these companies have grown so much over the last 15+ years, it’s no surprise that we sometimes can’t out run the impact that historical decisions are still having on our technology platforms and our culture at times. While I think we have made amazing strides in the last two years of my time within the group, I think we need to continue to look forward and focus on the future and the opportunity ahead. We can sometimes get burdened by some of the technical debt that has accumulated over the years or the “way things used to be done” and lose our way forward at times. However, again I see this as a con and a major opportunity. * Brand and Market Recognition: I love the “Zeal” name, however it does not directly speak to all of the great things and people that we have. It does not tell the story on the surface of all the great things we do and the positive impact we have on people’s lives. When you look on the surface you see that we work on lotteries… and on the surface, that does not seem so compelling. What our brand does not show is how seriously we take what we do and the focus we have on taking lotteries to the next level. We are now not only doing traditional lotteries and secondary lotteries we are also branching out into Charity Lotteries and Social Lotteries… which are very cool and super impactful on the countries and local regions that we work with. So again, love our name and brand, however I think it’s a bit of a struggle for people to realize all of the great things we do and are capable of just by our name. Certainly, a bit disappointing. * Mixed Cultures: Another positive and a challenge is that we have some very distinct cultures across the main offices we have (Spain, Germany, UK). We certainly try to work together as much as possible and collaborate as much as we can, however you can never really avoid the different cultures we have across the three countries and the sometimes-challenging impact that has on operating the businesses. I would say we are getting much better, however we still have a ways to go and a lot to learn and adapt to make this area more seamless.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Employer Representative

    Thanks so much for taking the time writing this review. We hope that will inspire some people to find out even more about Zeal.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Very diverse company with great development opportunities

    Jun 27, 2017 - Business Development Manager in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - lots of development opportunity - freedom and a lot of ownership at an early stage of your career - flat hierarchies - very young company average age of employees is mid 30 - very diverse (female vs. male and nationalities)

    Cons

    - Only min required maternal leave package in the UK (but I have been told it will soon be improved) - Highly regulated market - you cannot progress and innovate as quickly as I would like to - Male dominated management

    2 people found this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you very much for your review. We are over the moon that you would recommend working at Zeal and speak positively of our diverse work force. We would like to inform you that the Zeal Group has an enhanced maternity policy in the UK. We pay the first 9 weeks of maternity at 100% of your salary followed by 30 weeks of Statutory Maternity Pay. This is an enhanced policy compared to the statutory obligation of the first 6 weeks at 90% of your salary followed by 33 weeks of SMP. This is something we may look to improve in the future but for a company of our size we are in line with our competitors. We know we have to improve our female/male ratio on the Management level. Although we recently promoted one of our long-term female employees to a Managing Director and we are proud to have a female CTO, we are aware of the issue and have open discussions about it.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent work environment

    Mar 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nice, modern office break area has got ping pong table, XBox breakfast :serials, veetabix, coffee machine, different types of milk (almond, soya, etc) monday 30 mins meeting to keep everyone up to date with news/updates from different teams flowers to all new starters on a first day great people, super friendly and easy to approach (desite on the level of seniority), everyne is so easy going very good benefits,i.e. gym discount, pension contribution, 28 days holidays

    Cons

    Can't think of any..

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for your review, it´s really good to hear that our employees are happy.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work and develop skills

    Sep 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great environment and colleagues, you can feel comfortable at work - Your opinion is appreciated and valued - Variety of opportunities to learn on the job - Great benefits (gym membership, financial support for further education, healthcare and pension including advise) - Great company events and travel

    Cons

    There is room for improvement when it comes to communication, structure, and processes. This is however a great opportunity to contribute and improve, which is highly welcomed.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Employer Representative

    Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and take it into account.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Innovation hungry company with great work atmosphere

    Nov 28, 2017 - Business Development in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Get a chance to work with some of the best and smartest in the industry - There are a lot of chances to bring in your own ideas and work on what really interests you - There is a massive appetite for innovative thinking - Your work is valued and the work-life balance is exceptional

    Cons

    - In some areas this is still a young company so be prepared to think entrepreneurially

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ZEAL Group Response

    Employer Representative

    That´s the spirit, smart, innovative, exceptional and entrepreneurial, that´s what we like to hear :). But joking aside, thank you for your positive and honest feedback!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Work at ZEAL Group? Share Your Experiences

ZEAL Group logo
or