learndirect Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

learndirect Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 228 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
learndirect CEO Andy Palmer
Andy Palmer
104 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarding to support learners with their progression(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work from home, manage own diary(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is of course a money making organisation but it seems at the expense of any positive experience for the learners(in 29 reviews)

  • "Never saw senior management in centres(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IAG Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great team and excellent service

    Cons

    Poor management from senior managers

    Advice to Management

    Improve leadership skills

    learndirect2019-05-22
  2. "avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    working from home and setting own diary

    Cons

    company doesn't care about staff only money. Health and safety out the window when it comes to getting the job done at all costs to staff

    Advice to Management

    treat the staff how you would want to be treated. Clients are paying for a service - provide one

    learndirect2019-04-29
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Good Flexible working conditions at time

    Cons

    Lack of stability and career opportunities

    learndirect2019-02-13
  4. "Learndirect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Some targets can be unrealistic

    learndirect2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "L&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Originally joining the company in 2017, there was a great atmosphere for such a large company. Management backed you and there was great opportunities for progression.

    Cons

    The redundancies process happened and a company where everyone knew their role and where to go for what they needed then became an atmosphere where individuals are protective of their roles due to having a job one day and not the next. DTS acquiring learndirect has changed the mould of the company completely and not in a positive manner. The company has become smaller and the ethics is do or die type mentality. Staff...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good some accountability to staff and let them get the job done.

    learndirect2019-02-26
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Incompetent CEOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surveyor/Project Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Excellent Property Team prior to 1017

    Cons

    Cutbacks and outsourcing of building services. I was T.U.P.E.D over to the new company and them made immediately redundant, very shabby practice. To add insult to injury, they then refused to honour the expenses that I had already accrued amounting to over £1500:00, siting an E-Mail that I did not receive. These are the tactics of a second hand car salesman, very poor.

    learndirect2019-01-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    I had some really great managers in my time. The staff are generally quite young and very friendly.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great, communication from the SMT was poor, offices were not nice.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more openly with all members of staff.

    learndirect2018-11-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could have continued teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team. Brilliant to support learners

    Cons

    Bad senior management. Never saw senior management in centres.

    learndirect2018-10-04
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Should not be allowed to trade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Loved the team of professionals I worked with

    Cons

    A list too long to go into BUT a management team that ran us into the ground with an arrogant belief that they could get a good OFSTED grade. Once the truth was out they a)tried to hide their mismanagement by blaming hard working dedicated staff, then b) jumped ship to LDA leaving hundreds of employees to be made redundant in small batches so as to avoid press coverage and more importantly, so as to avoid lengthy notice...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Here's hoping those you forced into redundancy get justice for the way they have been treated by getting new and better jobs, and seeing you lot inevitably fail

    learndirect2018-10-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    - Rewarding to support learners with their progression - Good team atmosphere, everyone is supportive and works hard to achieve their objectives - Hard working front line staff who cared about their learners - Good working environment - Range of opportunities for CPD - Easily able to communicate across the business - Lots of support available

    Cons

    - Once a great company, but company decisions over the last few years affected the quality of service and quality for learners which led to the damning Ofsted report. For a high-quality provider to not be following Ofsted standards was abysmal. Most middle management didn't know what the Ofsted standards were until after the inspection, which says it all. It's a huge shame that the company fell so hard.

    learndirect2018-09-05
Found 228 reviews