learndirect Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

learndirect Reviews

Updated Aug 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 228 reviews

1.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
13%
Approve of CEO
learndirect CEO Andy Palmer
Andy Palmer
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewarding to support learners with their progression(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work from home, manage own diary(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The business is of course a money making organisation but it seems at the expense of any positive experience for the learners(in 29 reviews)

  • "Never saw senior management in centres(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IAG Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and excellent service

    Cons

    Poor management from senior managers

    Advice to Management

    Improve leadership skills

    learndirect2019-05-22
  2. "Provided with significant career development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Partnerships in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, values to support individuals to change their lives for the better

    Cons

    Little training/support and under investment in delivery

    Advice to Management

    Systematically removed everything that was once wonderful about this company

    learndirect2019-08-23
  3. "A lot of travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assessor 

    I have been working at learndirect full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and you can manage your own diary

    Cons

    There was a lot of travelling and no team morale

    learndirect2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home and setting own diary

    Cons

    company doesn't care about staff only money. Health and safety out the window when it comes to getting the job done at all costs to staff

    Advice to Management

    treat the staff how you would want to be treated. Clients are paying for a service - provide one

    learndirect2019-04-29
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Good Flexible working conditions at time

    Cons

    Lack of stability and career opportunities

    learndirect2019-02-13
  6. "Learndirect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Some targets can be unrealistic

    learndirect2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "L&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Originally joining the company in 2017, there was a great atmosphere for such a large company. Management backed you and there was great opportunities for progression.

    Cons

    The redundancies process happened and a company where everyone knew their role and where to go for what they needed then became an atmosphere where individuals are protective of their roles due to having a job one day and not the next. DTS acquiring learndirect has changed the mould of the company completely and not in a positive manner. The company has become smaller and the ethics is do or die type mentality.... Staff are more scared and unsure of their roles than ever before. Every single little thing needs to be signed off by the owner and lacks a long term vision. All in all there is nothing good about learndirect anymore.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Good some accountability to staff and let them get the job done.

    learndirect2019-02-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Incompetent CEOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Surveyor/Project Manager in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Property Team prior to 1017

    Cons

    Cutbacks and outsourcing of building services. I was T.U.P.E.D over to the new company and them made immediately redundant, very shabby practice. To add insult to injury, they then refused to honour the expenses that I had already accrued amounting to over £1500:00, siting an E-Mail that I did not receive. These are the tactics of a second hand car salesman, very poor.

    learndirect2019-01-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Poor company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    I had some really great managers in my time. The staff are generally quite young and very friendly.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great, communication from the SMT was poor, offices were not nice.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more openly with all members of staff.

    learndirect2018-11-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Wish I could have continued teaching"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at learndirect full-time

    Pros

    Great team. Brilliant to support learners

    Cons

    Bad senior management. Never saw senior management in centres.

    learndirect2018-10-04
Found 228 reviews