ASOS Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ASOS Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 485 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
ASOS CEO Nick Beighton
Nick Beighton
299 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work culture and good perks such as sample sales and staff discount(in 58 reviews)

  • "Staff discount well paid inplaces flexible benefits day off on birthday some great people(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours (I work nights, 4 on 4 off)(in 24 reviews)

  • "Quite informal, catty advisors to team leaders to performance managers, They lie when they say it's easy to progress(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "ASOS.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A really upbeat & positive company to work for. Benefits are great and they really believe in having a great work/life balance. Lots of opportunities for personal development to progress your career.

    Cons

    Not many cons to share

    ASOS2018-12-04

    ASOS Response

    July 19, 2019Brand & Engagement Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Your feedback helps us strive to do the best we can for all of our ASOSers. ASOS is such a positive and upbeat company thanks to the amazing people that work here – thanks for previously being one of those. We’re so pleased ...

    Show More
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great and chilled environment, good rate

    Cons

    You don't get a discount when purchasing online as full-timers do.

    ASOS2019-07-27
  3. "I have been working for one year and overall they treat you fairly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmophere in the office is friendly and cool. You can book your holidays easyly. During the day you have breaks, aside from lunch (which is one hour). While working you can talk with your collegues without being bossed around. So basically it does not seem to be in a office: more like back in high school.

    Cons

    Like any customer service job is ripetitive and pretty boring.

    ASOS2019-09-14
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Loads of good Agile practices just too much management doing nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to learn and work on latest tech stack

    Cons

    Many middle managers just don't do much or have any impact. C*O to this day is the most boring person I've ever met. I avoided going to any of his meeting unless I want to sleep.

    Advice to Management

    Think about what you want everyone to do between ADMs all the way to the CTO... Loads of roles could be cut, post agile transformation I see no space for ADMs. There are several other stakeholders in the business that also could be completely cut out. QA initiatives have been really great but there is too much focus on trying to save manual testers. Mainly because QA Leads in the company are manual testers they... are unable to see outside of their own biases. Replace your QA Leads with Devs in Tests. Too much money is spent on things ASOS doesn't need like a 1 Million indoor TV... What a waste! I really didn't want my bonus spent on that. Make better choices with the money ASOS is making...

    Show More
    ASOS2019-09-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "A good brand but.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in London, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good benefits (Tech loans, travel loans, STA Travel account, Employee share scheme, medical insurance, dental insurance, 40% discount on full price items etc) - Lots of great people in the business, feels like a family at work. - Lots of comfortable working spaces - Canteen - Weekly sample sale

    Cons

    - Exec board are out of touch with most departments - Sometimes it can feel hard to get some work off the ground - Redundancies were recently enforced. The handling of this was terrible. - Sometimes its hard to progress (speaking on behalf of myself and multiple people across the business). Even when you do, pay rises were minimal although work could double or triple.

    Advice to Management

    - Really consider the wellbeing of your workforce, it feels like this has dropped a lot over the past few years - Remember is not only the brand but the amazing people who rep it. I worked at ASOS for 3 years. Initially when I started I was amazed by how fast paced the business was and how different they were to most other brands. Everyday never really felt like work - it was fun and challenging but you have... great support from other teams. Unfortunately the past few years haven't been so kind to the brand and along with that was a shift in culture within the brand, you could sense it far in advance. At the end of the day, its a business and sometimes hard decisions have to be made - which I totally understand. Its just been handled quite poorly. Senior management weren't clear and HR mistreated a lot of long employees whether they'd been there for a month or 10 years. ASOS will definitely bounce back but some big changes need to be made and they have to remember where they started, who they are and I think new leadership is needed.

    Show More
    ASOS2019-09-14
  6. "Great team but not great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience/UI Designer 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time

    Pros

    Some of the most amazing and talented people to work with Good perks Lovely office space, especially the new area

    Cons

    All the amazing people are leaving Perks are being taken away Poor management Low morale at the moment

    Advice to Management

    It is a tough time but not enough is being done to make your employees feel motivated. I think if you could be more transparent, try and show that there is a great future for ASOS and you appreciate your employees morale would be higher.

    ASOS2019-09-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great office but distinct feeling of instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office environment Young and hard-working teams

    Cons

    Execs come across distinctly unempathetic

    Advice to Management

    Instead of making large decisions with no warning and communication - think about how you might be impacting the remaining staff too. Making redundancies to help the business doesn't make others feel safe, stable or happy. Then basically telling us to leave if we don't like it only showed a complete lack of empathy and has only made others consider working elsewhere for your uncaring attitude towards the people who... make this business what it is. Recent events couldn't of been handled much worse, to empathise and reassure your hard-working staff.

    Show More
    ASOS2019-09-08
  8. "Great company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time here very much, the people are nice and the work engaging.

    Cons

    better perks would be nice!

    ASOS2019-08-28
  9. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment to work with, good team spirit

    Cons

    Long hours, tedious work for little pay

    ASOS2019-08-27
  10. "Good Place - Going Downhill Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time

    Pros

    Good people, decent perks, good work life balance

    Cons

    Immature Management, Knee Jerk Reactions and lots of last minute decisions. Extremely poor communication and attitude from senior managers

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, work hard to regain their trust, Be more open and communicative.

    ASOS2019-09-10
Found 485 reviews
</>Embed