Arup Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arup Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Arup Chairman Alan Belfield
Alan Belfield
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great community, everyone engaged, interesting work, flexible and reasonable hours

    Cons

    Pay is not really high

    Arup2020-02-11
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior C 
    Recommends

    I worked at Arup full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture and values People Benefits Variety of work Rewarding clients to work for

    Cons

    Salary not the best

    Arup2020-02-02
  3. "Good company, talented staff and supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented colleagues Interesting projects / work Good benefits package No shareholder... owned in trust by staff

    Cons

    Bonus structure is top heavy

    Arup2020-02-02
  4. "Good, friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Trainee in Solihull, England

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at Arup is a great place to begin your career. It is flexible, has good resources and benefits and the people are very friendly.

    Cons

    A lot of meetings happen over skype depending on your location, and sometimes it is a bit difficult to meet people from other teams

    Arup2020-02-17
  5. "Ok overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall conditions for work are very nice

    Cons

    It’s all right overall I would say

    Arup2020-02-12
  6. "Good but slow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Arup part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to work if you work for the right person.

    Cons

    Slow and inconsistent management. Don’t really live their values internally.

    Continue reading
    Arup2020-02-13
  7. "Amazing projects, smart people, collaborative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented people Exciting project opportunities (overseas and large-scale) Opportunities to work in different areas/teams Sustainability, resilience, digital transformation, social value and other important topics are increasingly being considered in most of projects

    Cons

    Hard to do extra activities within the company without a job number (overtime hours, then) Leadership is not very diverse Salaries should be higher considering the level of skills people have

    Arup2020-01-21
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuine Work, Interesting Projects, Flexible Working, Entrepreneurial

    Cons

    Pay is poor Left on your own to find your projects Lack of support from Management

    Arup2020-02-05
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Arup full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good variety of work across different sectors - Good work-life balance - Good support for Engineers in their early career for getting chartered - Arup University which has a lot of free e-learning resources

    Cons

    - Difficult to arrange overseas secondment - this system could be better organised/advertised

    Arup2020-01-21
  10. "A supportive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arup full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people around me have a genuine desire to perform well and provide high quality outcomes for our clients and end users. People care about what we do. Training/career development is generally available. The team I work in are friendly and supportive and I feel very much able to be myself within a professional environment. Sometimes longer hours are required for project deadlines but this is balanced by flexibility and understanding from my management team when needed for personal reasons.

    Cons

    The organisation is large, which isn't a con in itself, but can mean one office or team can be quite different from another.

    Arup2020-01-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 956 reviews
</>Embed