Avis Budget Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Avis Budget Group Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Avis Budget Group CEO Larry De Shon
Larry De Shon
336 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most locations are short of staff so current workers work a lot of long hours and they are not compensated for their efforts(in 88 reviews)

  • "Next to no support from upper management who make it abundantly clear they are unqualified and disinterested in supporting their staff(in 80 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rental Sales Agent in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rani Banning is amazing manager, honestly has made the process so much better!! She has really supported me and hands down I can say she is the beat manager I have had. She is a 5 star manager. Always makes time for me even when she’s had a lot on her plate, always supported me regardless. Colleagues have been excellent.

    Cons

    There is nothing that I would advise as a negative.

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2020-01-23
  2. "Somewhat stuck in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stores Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Technology always expanding and investing in new ideas

    Cons

    Too much pressure when understaffed

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2020-02-13
  3. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, great people, fun place to work. Only left because of commute, wish I'd stayed!

    Cons

    Difficult customers, but always had great support to deal with that.

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2020-01-01
  4. "Declining, once good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RSA in City of London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will meet some great fellow RSA's/Cleaners/Drivers - the backbone of the company. Discounted rentals.

    Cons

    Taking away 0 XS for staff is ridiculous, they are willing to charge their staff £1000+ for damages on rentals! Next to no support from upper management who make it abundantly clear they are unqualified and disinterested in supporting their staff. Managers travel from location to location, just to drink their coffee and cosy up to one another. Too strict on governing the employee - this is not a role for an innovative or creative individual, you will be stifled by your line manager. The IT equipment is consistently garbage - constant outages as the company simply cannot be bothered to improve this. Fleet has seen a serious downgrade over the past 12-18 months, yet management's unrealistic expectations mean they demand employees to offer overpriced upgrades into budget model vehicles e.g. Citreon, £50 a day.

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2020-02-05
  5. "Big fat publicly listed company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office friendly people.

    Cons

    Too many staff = meetings after meetings after meetings. Canteen a bit pricey.

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2020-01-09
  6. "Good commission but bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Rental Sales Agent 

    I have been working at Avis Budget Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good commission and benefits in terms of pay and using cars

    Cons

    Management are useless at times

    Avis Budget Group2019-11-06
  7. "Your mileage may vary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leader in Bracknell, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avis Budget Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are pockets of the organisation with strong leadership and good career prospects, particularly in the rent-a-car operational parts of the business. You may genuinely thrive if you value process and hierarchy.

    Cons

    If you're a free thinker or a fast mover it's unlikely this is for you; you'll feel stifled by the centralised, top down decision making, lack of pace, lack of authority and inane investment process.

    Continue reading
    Avis Budget Group2019-10-24
  8. "Excellent work environment and friendly colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Content Manager in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avis Budget Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open and friendly work environment. Prompt and helpful HR and facilities teams. Comms are regular, informative and good fun. Office layout and communal spaces perfect for relaxing and networking. Very much encourages work/life balance.

    Cons

    Takes a long time to get permission to get licenses for some software. Makes hosting some meetings/webinars more difficult than necessary.

    Avis Budget Group2019-09-25
  9. "Opportunities to expand knowledge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support 

    I have been working at Avis Budget Group full-time

    Pros

    Many systems and technologies (old and new) giving you a wide depth of opportunity to learn new products

    Cons

    Official training can be hard to come by, as per many organisations. Not sure of long term support abilities within organisation

    Avis Budget Group2019-09-30
  10. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avis Budget Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people + good infrastructure

    Cons

    Takes time for projects to be completed due to red taps

    Avis Budget Group2019-09-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1993 reviews