Barclays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Barclays Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6231 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Barclays CEO Jes Staley
Jes Staley
1,507 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Infrastructure Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer in Knutsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barclays full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. The scale challenge pushes you both personally and technically. They invest heavily in people and the on site facilities are brilliant.

    Cons

    Due to size you need to establish a network to get things done.

    Barclays2019-03-31

    Barclays Response

    April 1, 2019Head of Resourcing

    Great to read your review and hope the next 10 years at Barclays are as positive as the first.....

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Barclays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The employee benefits and flexible working policy

    Cons

    Experience largely dependent on team hence positive experience not widespread

    Barclays2019-08-28
  3. "Helping customers with PPI complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service and Remediation in Poole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barclays part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, management team care for staff members.

    Cons

    Temporary contract doesn't help you plan your life

    Continue reading
    Barclays2019-09-16
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barclays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Variety of work, people, location

    Cons

    Salary just isnt quite good enough

    Barclays2019-09-16
  5. "banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Banker - Essential Banking in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barclays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    training is important and they are very serious about development of collegues

    Cons

    not too many just the temporary contracts are a little difficult

    Barclays2019-09-16
  6. "Overall a good company just not the department I was in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Premier Relationship Manager in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barclays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved the job, the customers were so interesting to talk to and hear about their lives and professions. Most customers were high earners so a lot of them worked in very specific niche areas of their professions and it was interesting to hear about their specialities. Before working in my last department I had always praise Barclays as an employer, their benefits package is second to none and the wages are really good.

    Cons

    I was in a department called premier direct when I left, I originally started that department as a team leader, when I was interviewed for the job, my understanding of the job role was that I would have a portfolio of high value clients and that my team would manage the clients due to the size of the portfolio, I couldn’t have been more wrong! When I began they put me in new to bank training even though I had been a part of Barclays for 5 years already, it had been a while since my last management position and some management training would have been a lot more beneficial. They also gave me a team that they had taken on as a risk due to the majority of them coming into work from long term unemployment and as such a lot of them were difficult to manage! The job role they were doing was not any kind of relationship building or management. They were on an outbound dialler making sales calls, all the calls were loaded into the dialler based on prompts about lending, mortgages and sometimes savings (although the focused heavily on lending mainly). The people I was managing had no idea what they were targeted against Yet I was expected to put action plans in place when they didn’t get things like mortgages or loans within a 2 week period. In the end I had to take time off and decided this wasn’t the job for me. When I returned I was made a direct premier relationship manager where i would contact the customers to build relationships myself, while this was using the same outbound dialler there was more of a relationship building style to it and not just completely sales. However, on returning I was clear my card was marked and I wasn’t wanted there, I would imagine it was due to having knowledge of the underhand techniques and sales they were driving when as a bank Barclays do not set targets for sales. I soon found myself going through a disciplinary process and when speaking to other people within the department and the union the “offence” I had committed should have been dealt with by no more than a file note. Soon after this was resolved I found myself to be the main suspect of another investigation for a laptop which was stolen 12 months earlier from my car, at the time this was reported to the police and they had seen the damage done to my car from the break in. I was told it was someone within the department who had contacted their special investigations team to raise this with them requesting it was looked into. This I also believe to have been done maliciously and in an attempt to make me feel like i was no longer welcome there, I’ve since decided to leave Barclays as they made it difficult for me to move to another business area.

    Continue reading
    Barclays2019-09-16
  7. "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Barclays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance and friendly culture

    Cons

    Working with data is a frustration

    Barclays2019-09-15
  8. "Very good experience except for payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Reservations Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barclays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible management with much empathy, fairness and understanding of every individual.

    Cons

    Payroll is an absolute disgrace at Barclays head office in Canary Wharf.

    Continue reading
    Barclays2019-09-16
  9. "Ok - salary low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Banker - Essential Banking in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Barclays part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Status & training. Looks good on your CV. Get respect from customers as work in a bank

    Cons

    Busy, long hours, inflexible, low pay

    Continue reading
    Barclays2019-09-14
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Barclays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, excellent HR policies and support if neeeed. Good bonus scheme but not detrimental to customer service

    Cons

    Limited internal development and progress.

    Barclays2019-09-13
Found 6231 reviews