Bazaarvoice Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Bazaarvoice Reviews

Updated 11 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bazaarvoice CEO Keith Nealon
Keith Nealon
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Money-driven, party culture where work/life balance is binge drinking with your team but not having actual freedom to take time off(in 14 reviews)

  • "this is not an innovative company with growth opportunities for the Austin market at all anymore, and the senior leadership REALLY doesn't get it(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Most exciting time to join: time of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Researcher in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the first time I've worked at a company that thrives on trust. I'm really privileged to work with passionate professionals who don't rub their expertise in your face. I'm loving being in Belfast, where the majority of product is based. Multiple teams are here, and I get to work with them. I get a great sense of product ownership here, with complete autonomy to perform at my best. The culture is continually evolving, and we're getting more established. With a new office manager and a new CEO for 2020, we're well on our way for being innovative market leaders. And we just get to go along with the ride. There's the perks & benefits which are awesome.

    Cons

    It's been 3 months so far since joining. All the negative things are being fixed, and even in a few months I'm seeing massive progress. Like getting the entire Belfast office aligned, building stronger teams and more efficient calibration. I'm genuinely excited to see progress happen. Watch this space, it's going to blossom further into a pretty epic product company.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2020-01-16
  2. "chef is steering the ship, the captain chopping in the onions and the old timers being squashed into new roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    its a young dynamic company. can only get get better

    Cons

    illiquid managers in role, arrogance from top down and a nonclusive atomsphere. forget about progression or earning increases. this is a company in decline - with decline comes metrics, metrics and metrics.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2020-02-12
  3. "The best Reviews software for clients, but sometimes we make it hard internally!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Allowed to manage our own portfolio, including new business, up-sells and renewals. Influenster acquisition is super-exciting and opens up lots of opportunity to sell to new targets in accounts.

    Cons

    Some of the leadership decisions can seem US focused, with UK and Europe as an after-thought.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2019-11-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best people and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people definitely are the best(!!), followed by the company values, which I felt were innate within many BVers. You will not only hear about them but is actually actioned on via your day to day work and charity days. There's also an internal recognition system where you can give high-five shout outs to someone awesome. When you're a newbie you're welcomed into the company and you introduce yourself globally (literally) in the fortnightly 'Gong' where all offices in EMEA + US connect. It's also where company news, product updates, team/ individual achievements, guest speakers, long-term work anniversaries, client speakers etc. happen too - great way to hear what is happening. APAC are asleep but their updates and wins are shared also. Internal mobility is very good if you're a strong performer. There is also the opportunity to cross the pond to other offices (if the opportunity is available to do so) and individuals have been very successful. The solutions are not complex to get your head around and simply works as proven in the huge range of brands and retailers that use it. Even on a consumer level, it's influencing your purchasing decisions - who doesn't love a review! People are very social and often there are pub drinks, free office lunch (once a week) together, lots of snacks, summer and Xmas parties are fantastic fun. BVers from other offices make regular visits too. Overall, I LOVED my time at BV! It was a tough decision to leave because of the amazing people. You will make life-long friends working here.

    Cons

    The culture took a dip a little before and after the private equity acquisition and the low moral was definitely felt. Sadly some redundancies had to be made too. However, leadership/ management were well aware and did their best to bring the motivation levels back up again. Being a US firm, most major decisions came from there and/or things were implemented/ tested there first. Not a con, during my time Gene Austin was CEO and he was a great leader.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2019-08-21
  5. Helpful (4)

    "The ship is definitely sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely nice people to work with, reasonably good salary and benefits, nice off site events

    Cons

    This place has changed a lot lately and definitely not for the better, all the good people have left in the last months or are about to leave the sinking ship. There are no real career progression possibilities, unless you start as an intern, promotions seem to be a completely random choice: whoever happened to be around for more than 3 years becomes a manager, without any assessment. There is zero thought leadership, nothing inspirational, managers are just considered as escalation points - and escalations are very frequent as clients aren't satisfied with the horrendous tools, sales sets completely wrong expectations just in order to hit the targets. Managers apply an extreme top-down and arrogant approach when it comes to taking decisions, particularly in the professional services department. There are way better companies out there, I wouldn't recommend working here.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2019-08-25

    Bazaarvoice Response

    September 12, 2019Director People & Talent EMEA

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I take your comments regarding your experience very seriously. We do recognise that there continues to be change in Austin and globally, including London. However, we think this change is continuing to march Bazaarvoice in the right direction. If you would like to provide more specific feedback, please reach out to your manager or people and talent leaders.I truly appreciate you raising these issues and would welcome an opportunity to speak with you about them. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Not the right company for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sucess Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, friendly people, no micro-managing

    Cons

    No clear policy for internal progression, it seems easier to resign and apply to an other position than to go through the internal process. To progress it seems thqt visibility is more important than quality.

    Bazaarvoice2019-07-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer in Belfast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Belfast City Centre, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work with some of the best software professionals in Belfast on software that operates at real global internet scale. Teams are autonomous and own products from inception to delivery, and those products are core to the company's business - we're not limited to fixing bugs in legacy code or acting as satellite teams for the primary development hub in Austin. Innovation is encouraged. Management are supportive of a good work-life balance, whether that means flexible hours, working from home or highlighting the importance of good mental and physical health. Although BV has been around for almost 15 years, Belfast still has something of a startup vibe, and everyone has a voice in office decisions. Almost too much free food and drink, and I believe remuneration is well above average for Belfast. Note: Ratings are for Belfast only

    Cons

    There has been upheaval in Austin as the company was acquired by a equity firm in 2018, leading to some technical leaders departing the company. High level of autonomy has led to duplication of effort and varied approaches to deployment/technology adoption, which is not efficient.

    Continue reading
    Bazaarvoice2019-01-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time

    Pros

    The working environment is great. Collaborative and friendly. Everyone is eager to help.

    Cons

    There were a lot of changes throughout the last 6 years. The company was acquired and the profitability driven actions are visible across teams, no necessarily for the best or in the interest of the employees.

    Bazaarvoice2019-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people if you want to make friends Flexible

    Cons

    Lack of Leadership No motivation or celebration for targets being made Poor Management in all departments

    Bazaarvoice2019-02-03

    Bazaarvoice Response

    February 6, 2019Director People & Talent EMEA

    Thank you for your honest feedback. Feedback is very important and we will send this information on to the proper leadership team. But we also encourage you to provide this feedback directly to your manager.

    Continue reading
  10. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bazaarvoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great and thorough on-boarding process - Great atmosphere all around - Attractive Salary & Compensation - Club trips, Company Phone, Computer, etc

    Cons

    - Location of the office is not the best in London

    Bazaarvoice2019-01-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 433 reviews