Cancer Research UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Cancer Research UK Reviews

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Cancer Research UK CEO Michelle Mitchell (no image)
Michelle Mitchell
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could get better pay if it weren’t a charity(in 33 reviews)

  • "Communication is sometimes lost at CRUK(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Volunteer 

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good feeling of helping generate money for charity

    Cons

    bit boring and business is slow

    Cancer Research UK2019-07-07
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great attitude to flexible working, all staff are lovely

    Cons

    Could get better pay if it weren’t a charity

    Cancer Research UK2019-10-04
  3. "Incredible place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior News and Content Officer in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing research and mission

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity to progress

    Cancer Research UK2019-10-03
  4. "Ops team project manager and marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable salary for role performed.

    Cons

    Layers of processes that seemed unnecessary, struggled to feel useful as felt my role could have been eliminated and the whole process would still be the same.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce amount of 'catch ups'. They seem to add no value to work.

    Cancer Research UK2019-10-06
  5. "Good Company/People."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Analyst in Islington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working and lovely people.

    Cons

    Cannot think of any Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Cannot think of any.

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-12
  6. "Great experience as a volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Volunteer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Very nice staff and colleagues (would often offer me free food) -Not long hours (as a volunteer) but they would ask me to stay longer -Overall good if just looking for work experience or to volunteer

    Cons

    -No cons with this job, I believe. I had a very pleasant experience overall.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps ensure that all stores have a lot of space, difficult and costly to do so though.

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-10
  7. "Good opportunity working for CRUK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Financial Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Charity that researches to save lives of others

    Cons

    Job responsibilities can be monotonous

    Advice to Management

    Create opportunities for better learning environment at work place

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-08
  8. "Great Charity to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working environment, can be challenging but fulfilling at the same time.

    Cons

    Fund raising events one after another. Not spaced out through the year properly.

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-02
  9. "Great place to do research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great co-workers, very good work-life balance, lots of opportunities to train and transition to other careers

    Cons

    Slow paced environment, low wages compared to private industry, stubborn bureaucracy

    Cancer Research UK2019-08-28
  10. "Get to work on true representation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy & Information Senior Officer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cancer Research UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learnt a lot from dedicated colleagues & amazing volunteers Brilliant research outcomes

    Cons

    CRUK has a severe problem with diversity, both in numbers of staff employed and understanding of what comes with it. Mostly middle/upper class workforce brings a very monomaniacal way of working and a lack of value placed on diversity of thought. BAME staff are given less access to career progression and don't end up staying long. No flexible work arrangement given in my team without long HR & occupational... health despite being a cancer survivor myself and despite ALL senior/head in my team WFH at least a day per week

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold yourselves accountable for the lack of diversity in your staff team Train people in understanding and valuing diversity of thought Get rid of the senior manager layer, there is no way you need 3 senior managers +1 head in small teams

    Cancer Research UK2019-09-09
Found 280 reviews