Computershare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Computershare Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Computershare CEO Stuart Irving
Stuart Irving
302 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Advising on Share Plans for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Computershare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team environment and employer

    Cons

    None i can think of

    Computershare2019-08-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Awful management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Computershare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work, decent benefits allows a good work life balance.

    Cons

    Awful, bullying, passive aggressive management. Low pay & no decent prospects in an outdated, macho, pointlessly punitive culture.

    Advice to Management

    Pay line managers a reasonable amount & give them autonomy, making sure they’re up to the job before you employ them. Follow employment law FGS. Policies are there for a reason, not just so you can say you have them. Giving people flexible work & decent benefits by itself does not mean you’re a good employer.

    Computershare2019-10-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Computershare full-time

    Pros

    Salary, location, perks, bonus structure.

    Cons

    Nice people, nice desks, helpful team

    Computershare2019-10-23
  4. "Great company but progression opportunities limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Briston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Computershare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great people to work with -Modern building and onsite gym

    Cons

    -Lack of progression opportunities -Lack of training

    Computershare2019-09-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Retention of unprofessional staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Settlement Team Member in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Computershare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good manager and loved the work

    Cons

    An uneven retention of staff

    Advice to Management

    Why retain employees who have crises every month, leave work to go home early, complain about the company, play on their phones during work hours and act all bratty when they make avoidable mistakes?

    Computershare2019-10-02
  6. "Challenging And Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Developer in Skipton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Computershare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your developer skills will be boosted quicker than anywhere i can think of The work streams are well managed Time set aside for personal development Great canteen

    Cons

    Very challenging development work, but your skill set will grow in reflection with that. Not a great location in Skipton

    Computershare2019-09-09
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Skipton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Computershare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, share plan scheme, flexible working

    Cons

    Salary and chance of progression

    Advice to Management

    None

    Computershare2019-09-04
  8. "Good company, good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Computershare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pragmatic and modern approach to work - casual attire and not allergic to technology. Good work life balance. Great management, professional but relaxed. Career progression and opportunities real

    Cons

    Projects are sometimes pushed to production before before ready

    Computershare2019-07-29
  9. "Horrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BI Developer in Bingley, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Computershare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Literally nothing is positive about my experience. The canteen is ok - and they do cheese on toast. The soup is decent as well.

    Cons

    I work in the mortgage BI Team, which is split across Skipton and Bingley. The organisation of projects is nothing short of pathetic. Requirements are split between several project managers who all contradict each other and block things to make themselves relevant and justify their existence, poorly worded ambiguous Excel documents, and the BI Management’s heads. When you ask BI Management about anything, they... answers in a smug and condescending manner, implying that you are asking stupid questions. Testing teams find themselves clarifying requirements with the client, days after the deadline, and all the while, you get blamed for the non delivery. The management of BI, which consists of the above management and several incompetent managers who have no clue on anything to do with BI, needs disbanding. The director of BI hadn’t been in place for very long, and in my opinion was the right person to rebuild the team. He just needed a mandate to replace the existing management that has been in place for far too long and with the company for 25 years. Unfortunately, they made the director redundant and are persisting with the current poor management. Oh and one of the coding standards - you must put your where clauses in the join statements - apparently this makes it easier to read. There’s a reason why nowhere else does it this way. I have to say this is without doubt the most stupid coding standard I have ever seen!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This team needs totally new management and a completely different way of defining requirements.

    Computershare2019-08-22
  10. "Great development and progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Skipton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Computershare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of travel and responsibility are given to even lower scale roles.

    Cons

    A lot of corporate politics (Seemed worse than other places) but once you were 'in' these became irrelevant.

    Computershare2019-07-12
Found 892 reviews