EMIS Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

EMIS Group Reviews

Updated 9 January 2019
150 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
EMIS Group Chief Executive Officer Andy Thorburn
Andy Thorburn
38 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Another thing to note is that the work/life balance at EMIS is great" (in 14 reviews)

  • "Good to know you are working on projects that make a difference to the NHS and patients" (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management are so detached it's unbelievable" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Career progression is non existent" (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Challenging, rewarding, great life balance and lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolton, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Flexible working is the norm and cultural, lots of work life balance and some roles are working from home.
    - Working with healthcare IT gives a sense of achievement that you are working on something really important.
    - The Executive Team Member I work for is extremely caring and offers regular face time and coaching
    - Lots of opportunity for progression
    - Great people to work with! Real sense of team spirit.

    Cons

    Not all roles are advertised for applications and needs more females in senior positions.

    Advice to Management

    Once the strategy is announced ensure you organise yourselves operationally. Ensure the womens network does not become the only forum that women can network in.

    EMIS Group Response

    29 Oct 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking time to add a review to Glassdoor. I'm very glad you see EMIS as a supportive employer of flexible working. We know that in parts of our business this works well and in... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Impressive leadership, improving communication across the Group, good opportunities and nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Accountant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Improving communication
    - Mostly impressive, friendly people at the top of hierarchy who are open to fresh, new ideas
    - Nice people across the Group
    - Flexible working
    - Good opportunities if you know what you want to achieve

    Cons

    - Still some way to go on the communication; improvements made in Group-Wide communication, but often lacking between certain departments
    - Decisions, in particular around remuneration, are fair and appear to be in line with market rates, but seem to take a long time to be made

    Advice to Management

    Keep persevering with informing the business of what is going on, at board level and in the external markets; it really helps to keep people engaged

  3. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    Good team
    Safe product
    Good work ethic

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to juggle workload generally ok

    Advice to Management

    N/a


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Moving forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    - Pay & Benefits have improved recently
    - The current senior leadership team is trying to transform company culture for the better
    - Business is actively looking to improve leadership qualities and consulting with employees
    - 2019 product strategy will revolutionise NHS systems if successful
    - Opportunities to grow each day, if you are willing

    Cons

    - Hangover and silos from fast growth / many business acquisitions
    - Lack of repercussions for negligence / incompetence / maliciousness
    - Ongoing internal battle with those who are reluctant to modernise, collaborate or adopt responsibility
    - Some key day to day decisions are not being delegated by senior leadership, which implies a lack of trust for their managers

    Advice to Management

    - Keep on with transformation of culture
    - Seek out and elevate those who are advocates for this transformation (they could / should be nurtured into your future leaders)
    - Hold those who act reprehensibly to account
    - See the 2019 strategy through with conviction

    EMIS Group Response

    17 Dec 2018 – Group HR Director

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to review EMIS on Glassdoor. It is pleasing to see that many of the areas that are high on our focus are being seen as moving in the right direction, notably... More


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Positive place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Generally a positive place to work where I feel really empowered to make decisions. The people here are great and there is a good culture of hard work and getting stuff done. Professional development is encouraged and there are lots of opportunities outside of your day to day role, from charity work to getting involved with improving the organisation. Being based outside of a city centre with easy commute and parking is a benefit a lot of employees. Good to know you are working on projects that make a difference to the NHS and patients.

    Cons

    Flexible working is theoretically available but there isn't a culture for this. Information isn't always cascaded from the most senior level when it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Regular communication channels rather than keeping lots of work secret. Establish a flexible working culture to help employees improve work/life balance.

    EMIS Group Response

    1 Dec 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on Glassdoor. I very much appreciate your thoughts on flexible working. We have areas of EMIS that have really embraced this and are reaping the... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    EMIS is in a transition of change and for the better in many ways. Staff are consulted and involved in change decisions for the most part, perhaps at department level.
    There are numerous continuous improvement initiatives being led by staff on the ground. All to improve ways of working and to ensure we’re doing the best we can to make our products and services the best they can be.
    The executives are keen to improve policy and culture i.e. empowerment of staff, family friendly policy, charity work.
    The staff are great to work with and there’s a family feel to the culture. Everyone genuinely cares about the work they do and always put customers first.
    Certainly in my department, it’s fast paced and very busy but you always feel supported by peers and management.

    Cons

    Communication from executives on decisions being made could be better at times but I feel this is getting better.
    There has been a number of structural changes and new people joining at senior levels. This has, in some cases, caused uncertainty and periods of unrest but this will always happen in large organisations and will take time to settle down.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure effective, timely and consistent communication to departments and staff about change decisions being made. We are a ‘caring’ and ‘joined up’ company and this should be demonstrated and acted out by everyone.
    Acknowledge and value staff both in the UK and abroad. This isn’t always felt and would go a long way.
    Consult and seek input from the very knowledgable and dedicated staff we have prior to making big decisions.

    EMIS Group Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review on Glassdoor. It is really comprehensive with lots of really thoughtful points. I provide summaries of Glassdoor comments to the Execs and although we look forward to a time... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "What a great team, who are massively missed!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager
    Former Employee - Project Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A great team to work with !
    Great learning experience with the most talented people!
    Very experience in the sector!

    Cons

    Work/life balance was not always easy, but had a great line manager who understood.
    Implemented fair pay system??

    Advice to Management

    Look after your team, I understand there are always business decisions to make please handle this the right way.

    EMIS Group Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for adding a review to Glassdoor and for your comments about your previous team. I hope you find a new great team too!

    We definitely have work to do around pay and benefits. We have a... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Small steps in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    After a rocky few years things have settled down under Andy T's leadership. There is a clear vision for the future and on the whole things look good.

    Cons

    There are still lot of technical deficits to be caught up with before we can continue onto our bright and bold future.

    Process and personnel changes have been mostly positive but many have used this as an excuse not to deliver.

    Nepotism remains rife.

    Advice to Management

    Please maintain the momentum of these positive changes.

    EMIS Group Response

    12 Nov 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for adding a review to Glasssdoor. Whilst it is pleasing to see your overall score and the fact that you feel things are settling down under new leadership, it is very disappointing if we... More


  9. "Not sure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Quite relaxed culture, can work any hours you want as long as you do your hours

    Cons

    Lack of structure, the systems are just terrible which is shocking especially given the type of company we are. I just don't understand why we can't get proper and effective systems

    Advice to Management

    Management isn't really a word here, I don't think there is much management per se.
    Get more involved and lead by example I would say !

    EMIS Group Response

    1 Dec 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to add your review to Glassdoor. It would be interesting to talk to you direct about where you are seeing an absence of management as its difficult to address without... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Implementation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues, Good community to work in

    Cons

    As shared by others really but there is a change already and the new SMT are very good so far...

    Advice to Management

    Keep the communication flowing, already you have started a good work with being open. More of it!!

    EMIS Group Response

    29 Oct 2018 – Group HR Director

    Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that you are starting to see signs of improvement at EMIS, but I recognise that we have more to do and look forward to seeing your rating of EMIS... More