EMIS Group Reviews

Updated 27 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
EMIS Group Chief Executive Officer Andy Thorburn
Andy Thorburn
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance and good hike and recognition(in 19 reviews)

  • "You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "great place to work if you can handle the pace of change both in technology and business priorities."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good employee benefits. You're helping the NHS provide a better service to patients. Many of the people who work there are first class.

    Cons

    Nothing major, it's a growing IT business so some people struggle with the pace of change but you'll see that in any successful business.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-10-09
  2. "worth to join"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Leeds, England
    Recommends

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good company to work with. Works on latest technologies so there is a fair chance to learn the new stuff.

    Cons

    salary could be a little bit better.

    EMIS Group2020-05-27
  3. "Good environment and growth opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good environment and growth opportunities

    Cons

    Benefits could be better to be fair

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2020-05-05
  4. "Great Company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - IT Support 

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time

    Pros

    Great team, company and benefits

    Cons

    Not much to say here

    EMIS Group2020-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great progress and investment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good focus on growing me as a professional

    Cons

    Not sure that the experience I had is consistent across the company

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2020-03-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A mixed, mainly negative bag"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Depending on your business area and job role, flexible working opportunities are there. Some of the people are great - subject matter experts know their stuff, unfortunately more and more of them are leaving because of the toxic working environment

    Cons

    Constant business re-organisation, leading to a toxic and uncertain working environment. Senior leaders are constantly wanting to leave their mark on parts of the organisation, leading to constant changes in direction to the point where no one really knows what's going on so big decisions are never made. Pay is well below market average, the group is constantly cutting corners to save money and making redundancies however none of this money is ever put back in to the staff to reward them as they deserve. The group say they are paying a mid-point when they average the market salaries, however I don't know what markets they're looking at because it's definitely not realistic. Group also say that they are rewarding staff in other ways, however they're doing literally everything they can to avoid paying staff what they deserve. This is a real shame, there are some great people working there however they are not rewarded as they should be. No matter how many people leave and give EMIS Group feedback to pay their staff more, they never listen, bury their heads in the sand and only ever reward senior management. Recent developments include making permanent staff redundant and moving to a lot of temporary staff, meaning that EMIS Group do not have to invest in these temporary members of staff. Lack of opportunities. They will be promised, however they will never come your way. Then when you ask why nothing's happening you will be told it's your own fault.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2020-03-12
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not all its cracked up to be"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the work being done there is incredible and there is some amazing talent in various departments.

    Cons

    Huge gap between senior leadership and everybody else, no one knows what is going on at the company. A lot of managers that have no management or people skills, therefore dont develop staff. A lot of talk about nice shiny policies (flexible working etc) and how they are a forward thinking company, but once you get in the door, you soon learn thats all there is...talk.

    EMIS Group2020-02-17
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Call Centre Analyst"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at EMIS Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Walking out of the door at the end of your shift

    Cons

    Appalling management, no communication, regular redundancies, no support, no guidance, face fits mentality, no progression, good quality staff are stopped from moving up, one rule for one culture, dire pay...

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2020-03-05
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Doesn’t value good, experienced staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company car & fuel card Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Emis Health changed beyond all recognition in the nearly 10 years I worked there. My experience at the start was one of a genuinely caring, fun, vibrant and productive company that I was proud to say I worked for. That all changed for the worse around 4 years ago when a mass cull of staff took place, under the orders of a new American CEO that had clearly been brought in to do that task, as he left shortly afterwards. Following this, the atmosphere of the company changed and there was a negative feeling ever since, due in part to people feeling insecure in their jobs, having lost good colleagues with experience and feeling undervalued, as well as the constant small changes in job role/job title/structure etc. I was no longer proud to work for this company, but I continued to do the best I could to represent then in front of customers every day. Fast forward to the end of 2018 and into 2019, the biggest ever cull of staff was undertaken in three waves, every 90 days, code-named “Project Pickford” by the senior management (an insensitive choice as it shares the same name as a well known removals company - this did not go unnoticed by the affected staff). During these these 3 cycles (and in-between) there were numerous staff, with invaluable combined experience of EMIS products of literally hundreds of years, who were made redundant. In the area I worked in we were promised for months and months that our team was “safe” and we would be getting extra staff in our already stretched team. This however turned out to be a lie, as all 21 of my team were made redundant after the SLT decided the role of account managers were no longer required in the primary care market (without actually consulting a single customer). To say this left me feeling undervalued is true, however my first thought was not for myself but for the customers and how they would feel being let down by a company that had previously provided support on a level above and beyond any competitor. For me personally, this experience was a blessing in disguise. I immediately moved into a new role, where I can share my years of experience, I am far less stressed and actually manage to sustain a life outside work, amazing after having given so many hours of my own time to EMIS and their customers, only for the company to claim my role wasn’t required and customers don’t want account managers. The company that claimed to pride themselves on honesty and transparency let all these staff and customers down, but also were not honest in that they didn’t tell them the real reason for these cuts - the truth being that they were paying out millions of pounds in fines to NHS Digital for breaches in contractual obligations such as SLAs (this information is readily available online). Unfortunately, removing years of experienced staff from all recently affected departments has unequivocally damaged the reputation of this business beyond all recognition, and although they may have made short-term savings, the ultimate cost to try and rebuild it will be far more in the long run, and anyway it’s probably too late for that now. However if the (unsubstantiated) rumours are to be believed, the business is being primed to be sold off.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-12-16
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Support needs support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Analyst in Bolton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at EMIS Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to develop SQL scripting skills on the support desk. If something breaks, support is allowed the access to fix it. Tea/coffee facilities. There are some great team members in level 1 support who always do their best to help out the team.

    Cons

    Virtually no time for developing beyond the exact current job role. 1 to 1s feel pointless with a numerical rating on your ability which bares no resemblence to the qualitative information on the review. Support is a constant firefight and other teams dump things they have broken on the team. Customer relations and other staff make promises that break general procedures and cause ineffable strain on an already troubled, stressed and understaffed support team. When someone leaves support (and there is a very high turn over in the Bolton office) it can take months before interviews start for a replacement. This drives others to move away too, causing further strain. Pay is adequate for the role and location, but for the workload it is quite poor. Managers can start an hour late without needing to work time back, but support staff are monitored to the second that they log into and out of the phone system. A lot of staff seem to abuse the opportunity to work from home, with Fridays being particularly silent but for support teams. The location means that traffic is a serious issue at the end of the day - taking up to an hour just to leave the retail park. New starters are given virtually no training on systems used in hospitals around the country, and so it is difficult for newbies to prioritise issues. There is also effectively no escalation point so end users suffer when level 1 have no answer, which adds further pressure onto those at the bottom of the company. The software we supported is convoluted, largely broken and in some cases dangerous. All software has issues and you'll always find patch fixes on anything, but there are whole systems being held together with the software equivalent of string and tape. Most of the product knowledge specialists have left the company, and those who remain are stretched so thin that assistance from a specialist becomes rare and difficult to arrange. This is not the fault of the specialists - they are fantastic and clearly work their butts off, but there needs to be more of them! Also, a previous review mentioned that the pool table had been removed and the response was that it would be coming back after the move - this however was not the case. This is just one further small perk that has been taken away.

    Continue reading
    EMIS Group2019-12-13
Found 198 reviews