Gap Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Gap Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4949 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Gap CEO Art Peck
Art Peck
919 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They press you to push company credit cards pretty hard(in 232 reviews)

  • "Long hours; I would sometimes be there until 1PM closing the store(in 122 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Visual associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Gap full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Because they give alot of oportunity to grow up

    Cons

    Gap is a very good company, they give a lot of opportunity to grow up

    Gap2019-03-19

    Gap Response

    April 3, 2019Company Representative

    At Gap Inc., we are strongly committed to the career growth and development of our employees. We're happy to see this noted in your review. Thank you for sharing!

  2. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexible Working Hours, Staff Discount, Private Health Insurance, office location

    Cons

    No share scheme, holiday allowance could be more generous.

    Gap2019-05-07

    Gap Response

    May 22, 2019Company Representative

    Thanks for sharing what it's like to work on our team. We appreciate your feedback and utilize comments like yours to help improve the employee experience for all.

  3. "Working at gap sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sale Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The pay is great and good environment to work in

    Cons

    Shifts are not set, won’t have the same shift pattern

    Gap2019-04-29

    Gap Response

    May 6, 2019Company Representative

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us! We're glad to see you'd recommend us as an employer!

  4. "Customer Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great discount for staff both on full price and sale No strict uniform - just wearing Gap clothes

    Cons

    Hourly rate was quite low

    Gap2019-05-10

    Gap Response

    May 22, 2019Company Representative

    We're proud to offer all of our employees a wide variety of benefits, including an employee merchandise discount across our family of brands. We're happy to see you note this as one of your pros!

  5. "Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England

    I worked at Gap part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good environment and work ethics

    Cons

    Bad hours are very long

    Gap2019-04-24
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly management, provides flexible hours.

    Cons

    Sometimes, workload can be very high depending on the time of year - long shifts

    Gap2019-04-15

    Gap Response

    April 16, 2019Company Representative

    We are thrilled to see you would recommend our company as an employer! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

  7. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Gap part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The team is cool and ok

    Cons

    The head office needs to improve a lot their management

    Advice to Management

    Improve the different marketing for sales

    Gap2019-04-03
  8. "Great place to work for a uni student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Salford, North West England, England

      I worked at Gap part-time

      Pros

      flexible time with a range of 8-24 hrs a week

      Cons

      management needs update as the store is repetitive and sales have more opportunity for growth .

      Gap2019-04-10
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Gap full-time

      Pros

      Pay is good, easy work, not much pressure

      Cons

      Shop floor gets messy, changing rooms get piled up, stockrooms are not well organised.

      Gap2019-03-20
    • "Very nice company values, friendly people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in London, England
      Recommends

      I worked at Gap part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      There seems to be a very well instilled culture and values, with all the staff I met across two venues being extremely motivated and dedicated to the brand. There was very flexible holidays in my case as I was a student, and could ask for days off quite easily.

      Cons

      Can feel slightly patronising at times.

      Gap2019-03-29

      Gap Response

      April 4, 2019Company Representative

      We're happy to hear about your experience on our team. We work hard to create a culture across the company in which all members of our team are welcomed and supported. We will keep your comments in mind as we continue to drive positive change across the company.

    Found 4949 reviews