Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Genentech Reviews

Updated 8 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
72 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is not a thing(in 113 reviews)

  • "I've been a contractor for more than three years and sadly we don't get all the benefits than full-time employees get(in 101 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reality Doesn't Meet Reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities whether you want them or not, both in terms of role development and getting your work out there. - Occasionally interesting problems to solve. - People are really great. Supportive and knowledgeable, they are the part that I will miss the most.

    Cons

    - My work was plagiarized by another department (used in an external poster, with publications pending likely) and I never received an apology or even acknowledgement for it, despite bringing it up to Sr. Director level. - Severely undertitles its workers. Even within the Roche network, the work that I was doing would be Engineer work, rather than Research Associate. In most other companies, this would be somewhere around a Scientist level. - There's way too much variability in quality between people in certain essential, critical departments, such as Quality and Project Managers. This variability can make your project pleasurable or a living hell. Many members of a development team will not know what the other members do, so there will be a lot of assignment of work that is not within a specific purview. - Communication is always lacking, whether that means knowing how to, feeling like you're free to, or giving/receiving critique. It is just not there. - Offboarding process is nonexistent. I still don't know where my COBRA paperwork is. - Slow responding HR department that does not seem to actually read the questions you're asking. - Although it doesn't encourage it, poor work/life balance is not actively discouraged. Stop sending emails at 1 AM!

    Continue reading
    Genentech2017-09-16

    Genentech Response

    November 16, 2017Account Manager

    Thank you for writing us a review. Integrity is a fundamental value that we take very seriously here. We appreciate your feedback and are committed to ensuring that employees at all levels speak up and share their views. Employees are encouraged to raise any specific concerns with their HR Business Partner to ensure they are promptly addressed. Thank you for sharing your review.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, dymanic, benefits, reputation, location

    Cons

    Deadlines, visibility, politics, overtime, location

    Genentech2015-08-05
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer in Oceanside, CA

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company, no issues, would recommend.

    Cons

    No cons, good company, would recommend.

    Genentech2020-04-08
  4. "Senior Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    People, benefits, compensation, career opportunity

    Cons

    Lack of work/life balance, politics

    Genentech2020-04-06
  5. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reliability Engineer in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great working culture and safety practices

    Cons

    commute is not an ideal location

    Genentech2020-04-04
  6. "gRED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Scientific Manager in South San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Resource rich. Lots of opportunities to try new things.

    Cons

    Lots of meetings. Lots of silos.

    Genentech2020-03-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome people, but be careful what you say."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bioprocess Technician in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Lots of really great, smart, and highly motivated people. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Despite claiming to have a speak-up culture, I have seen many people experience negative effects from speaking up. It can also be really hard to change how management perceives you, especially if you have a bad reputation.

    Genentech2020-03-11
  8. "Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, Regulatory Affairs Management in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Culture and people. Amazing pipeline.

    Cons

    Work life balance is not a thing

    Genentech2020-03-14
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organizational potential, ambitious company, mission driven

    Cons

    Lots of inflated positions; some managers are highly political.

    Genentech2020-03-11
  10. "I found my happy place - get to geek out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. Recognize technical expertise that allows me to be in a happy place.

    Cons

    The company reminds me of a UC Environment, where one has to take initiative to get things done. However, the company values initiative, and the help is available when one asks.

    Continue reading
    Genentech2020-03-09
Found 2006 reviews