Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Genentech Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1870 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Genentech CEO Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance varies greatly depending on your function or manager(in 109 reviews)

  • "Food isn't free but it is discounted so not much of a con at all, difficult to find non-contract full-time position after internship(in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reality Doesn't Meet Reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities whether you want them or not, both in terms of role development and getting your work out there. - Occasionally interesting problems to solve. - People are really great. Supportive and knowledgeable, they are the part that I will miss the most.

    Cons

    - My work was plagiarized by another department (used in an external poster, with publications pending likely) and I never received an apology or even acknowledgement for it, despite bringing it up to Sr. Director level. - Severely undertitles its workers. Even within the Roche network, the work that I was doing would be Engineer work, rather than Research Associate. In most other companies, this would be somewhere...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to MBAs and their stupid Six Sigma / 5S coke dream and actually listen to your own employees about how to best improve the department.

    Genentech2017-09-16

    Genentech Response

    November 16, 2017Account Manager

    Thank you for writing us a review. Integrity is a fundamental value that we take very seriously here. We appreciate your feedback and are committed to ensuring that employees at all levels speak up and share their views. Employees are encouraged to raise any specific concerns with ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, dymanic, benefits, reputation, location

    Cons

    Deadlines, visibility, politics, overtime, location

    Genentech2015-08-05
  3. "Great company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Great company that still maintains great culture and work/life balance despite pressures to integrate with Swiss parent Roche

    Cons

    Integration with Roche has led some senior leaders to leave in lieu of being based out of Switzerland

    Genentech2019-05-21
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth, work life balance

    Cons

    Loosing focus, talent retention is poor

    Genentech2019-05-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad but not great either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Associate in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth, work-life balance is good, good benefits.

    Cons

    Continuous reorgs, poor managers, bad behavior from managers is not dealt with appropriately.

    Genentech2019-05-22
  6. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Lead in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Culture, teamwork, challenging, truly patient-centric

    Cons

    I can not think of any that matter

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the new change process ensures people a path to grow

    Genentech2019-05-11
  7. "Balance company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, smart individuals, current IT, awesome functions, lots of work, free transportation over land and water. and excellent facilities. - Very grateful

    Cons

    The environment is changing, and ageism is become prevalent.

    Genentech2019-05-11
  8. "Market Analysis and Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Analytics 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits and perks

    Cons

    Lack of uncertainty with biosimilars

    Genentech2019-05-11
  9. "Medical Science Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Team, science, pipeline, oncology expertise

    Cons

    Roche, uncertain place between commercial and development organizations

    Genentech2019-05-09
  10. "Company has changed drastically"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Overall company offers great medical benefits and perks during the holidays

    Cons

    Too much politics: mangers have favoritism and does not recognize hard workers

    Advice to Management

    Value and recognize hard workers and frontlines who really care about their work.

    Genentech2019-05-22
Found 1870 reviews