Genentech Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Genentech Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Genentech Chief Executive Officer Alexander Hardy
Alexander Hardy
55 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance (although depends on where in the organization you are)(in 111 reviews)

  • "Hard to find opportunities for full time(in 99 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Reality Doesn't Meet Reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities whether you want them or not, both in terms of role development and getting your work out there. - Occasionally interesting problems to solve. - People are really great. Supportive and knowledgeable, they are the part that I will miss the most.

    Cons

    - My work was plagiarized by another department (used in an external poster, with publications pending likely) and I never received an apology or even acknowledgement for it, despite bringing it up to Sr. Director level. - Severely undertitles its workers. Even within the Roche network, the work that I was doing would be Engineer work, rather than Research Associate. In most other companies, this would be somewhere around a Scientist level. - There's way too much variability in quality between people in certain essential, critical departments, such as Quality and Project Managers. This variability can make your project pleasurable or a living hell. Many members of a development team will not know what the other members do, so there will be a lot of assignment of work that is not within a specific purview. - Communication is always lacking, whether that means knowing how to, feeling like you're free to, or giving/receiving critique. It is just not there. - Offboarding process is nonexistent. I still don't know where my COBRA paperwork is. - Slow responding HR department that does not seem to actually read the questions you're asking. - Although it doesn't encourage it, poor work/life balance is not actively discouraged. Stop sending emails at 1 AM!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop listening to MBAs and their stupid Six Sigma / 5S coke dream and actually listen to your own employees about how to best improve the department.

    Genentech2017-09-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, dymanic, benefits, reputation, location

    Cons

    Deadlines, visibility, politics, overtime, location

    Genentech2015-08-05
  3. "Lots to learn with opportunity for those who put in effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional development, environmental sustainability, and ethical development of products (therapeutics) are at the forefront of culture. Opportunities to move within the company are available for those who put in time and energy to network and apply. Great people. Super smart colleagues who are changing peoples lives through cutting edge medicine.

    Cons

    Some employees who have been here for a long time (20+) years have a lot of negative energy and make things political. Lots of bureaucracy at times can make it feel like you’re not productive, but that’s often the reality of a highly regulated industry (we need to make sure our products are safe! We aren’t making software like tech companies nearby, we are improving quality of life!)

    Advice to Management

    Transparency to decision making will help break the appearance of bias and political in-fighting.

    Genentech2020-01-15
  4. "Great company, clear mission, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    The people Focus on wellbeing Development opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance (although depends on where in the organization you are) Consensus decision making can impair speed and innovation A lot of process

    Genentech2020-01-13
  5. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent work environment, very friendly

    Cons

    None that one can think of

    Genentech2020-01-11
  6. "Great place to work for the most part!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, flexibility, lots of brilliant people to learn from.

    Cons

    You will really enjoy working here if you have a great manager and team. Lots of people leave because of leadership. Certain job levels are capped out for growth and you have to change roles to keep developing. Hard to move around within the company. Some leaders are not professional and gossip too much.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to adapt to the times. We need new ideas and leadership needs to get on board.

    Genentech2020-01-07
  7. "Senior Clinical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Genentech

    Pros

    Cutting edge research, great compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Customer engagement model too fast too soon

    Genentech2020-01-05
  8. "good training for postdocs who want to get into industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at Genentech full-time

    Pros

    Working in a big company

    Cons

    postdocs are not regular employees

    Genentech2020-01-04
  9. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Oceanside, CA

    I worked at Genentech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It’s a great company but your still a contractor.

    Cons

    Your still looked down and feel like you get treated as second class.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees because they are the ones doing the work, help them grow not lie and motivate them.

    Genentech2020-01-14
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bioprocess Technician in Vacaville, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Genentech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like my condensed schedule. Some don't but if it works for you and your family it can be really nice

    Cons

    Hard to move up or into different positions

    Advice to Management

    Dont hire so many engineers. They all leave, along with their training for engineering jobs in other companies.

    Genentech2019-12-28
Found 1976 reviews