Google Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Google Reviews

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great perks: free food; a lot of cool travel; interesting projects reaching billions of people(in 939 reviews)

  • "Super smart people who are also very helpful and like their jobs(in 765 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be difficult to keep a work life balance (although it is not expected for you to overwork yourself)(in 406 reviews)

  • "Big company, lots of bureaucracy(in 357 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "XYZ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    Good job recommend others to join

    Cons

    Not very much only salary increment is less

    Continue reading
    Google2020-02-28
  2. "Progressive, dynamic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative company in technology and corporate culture

    Cons

    Co-ordination across multiple teams is often inefficient

    Google2020-02-18
  3. "OK except for the politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Program Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Comp, people, resources, impact, culture

    Cons

    Politics, living in the bubble

    Continue reading
    Google2020-02-24
  4. "Overhyped"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industry Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, learning by doing on the job

    Cons

    Zero career prospects and cutthroat competitive culture

    Continue reading
    Google2020-02-23
  5. "Big money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 

    I have been working at Google full-time

    Pros

    I get paid a lot

    Cons

    There are no cons I can see

    Google2020-02-05
  6. "Pretty neat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Food, food, food, food and food

    Cons

    The people, workplace and the job

    Continue reading
    Google2020-02-02
  7. "Software engineer (but the form is broken)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Loan Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food and benefits are amazing. Great to work with so many talented and hardworking people.

    Cons

    Often you can progress your career faster outside of Google by working at a fast growing smaller company. Inside Google there's a slow promotion process and lots of good competition for leadership roles.

    Google2020-02-03
  8. "Linguistic career in technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytical Linguist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, good perks, working with great people, having resources

    Cons

    Getting too big, lack of linguistics positions lead to high competition, salary lower than engineers

    Google2020-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, dream job for any CS major

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Google2020-01-26
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant/Project Manager II in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Google full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career Growth, work on products which scale, budget to work with, surrounded by smart inspiring people

    Cons

    Always on and never stops

    Google2020-01-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9692 reviews