ICON Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ICON Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
ICON CEO Steve Cutler
Steve Cutler
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "cta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ICON full-time

    Pros

    good atmosphere in the office

    Cons

    nothing to say about it

    Continue reading
    ICON2018-05-17
  2. "it worsened over years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Clinical Trial Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ICON full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly environment amongst peers; above-average salary

    Cons

    I had a very bad line manager, who was not interested in my development and only cared about the project metrics. More generally, the company brags about their values, but they don't really practice them. On the technical side, they still use very old and obsolete systems that can't keep up with the advancement of the clinical research industry.

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-12-06
  3. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reviewer in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Location is good and colleagues are nice

    Cons

    Lack of support on career progression

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-09-25
  4. "Medical Technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technologist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work and very friendly. Good facilities

    Cons

    Salary is too low for staff

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-08-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Profit over people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has previously acquired a number of organisations with talented people and brands that were leaders in the space with good global reach.

    Cons

    Unsustainable people business model that focuses solely on the “numbers” at the expense of supporting talented people achieve and sustain future growth in their areas by working together (Extensive travel restrictions, high workloads, lack of investment in people and very high team turnover).

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-08-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Investigator Payments Coordinator 

    I have been working at ICON full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company values are good.

    Cons

    Not offer enough flexibility to employees.

    ICON2019-07-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Didn't have to work long hours.

    Cons

    Looking back at this role, I realise now how poorly run the organisation was. Uncollaborative and poorly-trained management. Lots of unhappy and unfulfilled people in the office which was normalised by management. HR also didn't have a clue what they were doing.

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-05-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Change is slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICON full-time

    Pros

    Great employees with a solid understanding of their roles and responsibilities. Some very proactive teams that fix issues at the source.

    Cons

    Lots of change over the years which has eroded the culture, some senior managers are very reluctant to change.

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-03-10
  9. "A Company in Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst, Pricing and Market Access in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICON full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you like getting paid at the low end of your salary band, this is the place for you. If you like a sense of better times past and an inescapable feeling of pessimism, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Management refuse to learn about the companies and services they acquire and so fail to adapt to keep staff and clients

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-03-29
  10. "employee engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ICON full-time

    Pros

    career progression, good benefits, hr engaged

    Cons

    long hours, lack of support

    Continue reading
    ICON2019-02-02
Found 866 reviews
</>Embed