Lyst Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Lyst Reviews

Updated 14 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
90%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Lyst CEO Chris Morton
Chris Morton
24 Ratings
  1. "Ambitious company with positive culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Lyst has clearly invested a lot of time building a culture where people are motivated by what they do and enjoy coming to work. - The company values are really clear from day one. People know where they stand and know what they are expected to deliver on. -Senior management are cohesive. They communicate key decisions and strategy to the business well, and have inspired commitment and loyalty from employees (a lot of whom have been there 3+ years). - Employees are switched on and smart. Lyst has ~120 employees but still maintains a start-up culture in a lot of ways, moving quickly and proving fast. People get a lot of ownership over what they do and are accountable for it. - Lyst holds a unique position in the market and has big ambitions over where it wants to be. There are great opportunities to be stretched and no two days at work are ever the same. -Excellent offices and company perks (lunch, yoga, football, friday socials etc).

    Cons

    -Can't think of any cons in particular.

    Lyst2019-11-05

    Lyst Response

    January 10, 2020Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for your review. We’re really pleased to hear that you are enjoying your time at Lyst, and we’re glad that the work we’ve invested in building our culture and communicating our strategy is being well received, and is adding value. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  2. "Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lyst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Nice culture - Solid tech stack - Beautiful office

    Cons

    - Boring engineering tasks - Few opportunities to learn new skills

    Lyst2019-12-14

    Lyst Response

    January 10, 2020Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for leaving your review and for taking time to share your feedback with us. We’re striving to build an environment in which people can continuously learn and grow, therefore; I’ m sorry you did not feel this was your experience whilst at Lyst. Your feedback will be taken into consideration when reviewing how we can create more engineering specific learning opportunities in the future. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  3. "Great culture and ambitious company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical SEO Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lyst vision is bold and ambitious, is easy to identify people that are driven and working hard every day to fulfil that. Loads of people with 3+ years working share the same vision and grit to make it work. You are independent and have full support to work your own hypothesis and tests. We are also responsible for your working hours, it's more important to deliver the projects and results than spend long hours at your desk. The freedom is not suitable for everyone since is easy to slack and lose focus on your OKRs and squad objectives. Brillant people around all senior positions and all of them are willing to listen to you and help with anything necessary to ensure you have all structure and support around you to deliver the best you can, this also provides clear guidance and inspiration to become better at your job every day. Amazing office, food available all day, good benefits package.

    Cons

    The nation, tribe, squads organization can be confusing. Loads of legacy issues that demand hours of rework and sometimes are deprioritised due to the company ambition of constant growth.

    Lyst2019-09-19

    Lyst Response

    January 10, 2020Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We’re pleased to hear the positive feedback about our culture and the vision and ambitions. We appreciate that our org structure can be complex and take some time to understand. We’ve therefore spent a lot of time over the last year improving clarity on this and understanding across the business. As part of our onboarding, we put huge importance on providing tools and support to ensure new starters understand how we operate at Lyst. We hope to build on this work over the next 6-12 months. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Creative with options to work anywhere

    Cons

    Big team - high turn over

    Lyst2019-09-01
  5. "Progressive and friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Finance & BI in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lyst part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great people - Autonomous ways of working / not much micro management - Flexible working - Lots of opportunity to progress - C-suite are always looking for ways to improve

    Cons

    I can't think of anything major

    Lyst2019-08-14

    Lyst Response

    August 30, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for the review. We’re glad to hear all the positive feedback on our culture and people here at Lyst, and we see your long tenure as a testament to this. We wish you all the best in your new role :) Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  6. "Tenure as a testament"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ive been working at Lyst for 4 years and consider myself incredibly lucky to have done so. Lyst have a great culture of internal promotion. Looking at the senior management team (including c-suite) it is amazing how many have been promoted into those positions. Lyst look for the potential in employees and will recognise it when they find it. Lyst is quick to adapt to what's in front of it. I know some people have struggled with this as there are frequent changes in direction, but when you are fighting to grow as quickly as possible this is part of the process. What is does mean is that as soon as an opportunity presents itself, Lyst is face to react and has often been a first adopter.

    Cons

    City centre location isn't for everyone and is a difference experience to locations such as Shoreditch.

    Lyst2019-06-12

    Lyst Response

    June 21, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for the review and positive feedback on our culture and senior management team. Our office in Shoreditch had reached its full capacity, and we needed to move to a much larger office , to accommodate our growth in headcount and to ensure the whole team could be on one floor. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  7. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time

    Pros

    Company full of smart, motivated and passionate people. One of the culture values is Humble Trusted Owners, most of us fit that description, as such you are not required to scream your lungs out for someone to see your progress and achievements as we can all see it. But if it's constant praising that you're looking for, I would look elsewhere. Engineering wise, we practice internal open source, so if you see a problem in code from another team, you are within your power to go fix it, make a PR and explain why it's good. Some managers are better than others, but manager training is being rolled out, so looks like Lyst is ensuring that everyone's manager gets the support they need to manage people better. There's no blaming at Lyst as it goes against the culture, instead we work together to look at the causes, find solutions and ensure we don't have the same issue again. CEO is very approachable, it may just be a bit of a scary step to make that first step and reaching out (something I urge others to do). The offices are amazing too, makes having lunch in such a setting is quite the experience.

    Cons

    There's been a few hurdles Lyst has been through and it left people sour at times. Lyst failed to handle those situations properly, however it was a lesson we had to learn so that we can handle them better.

    Lyst2019-06-11

    Lyst Response

    June 21, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for the review. We are pleased to hear you are having such a great experience with us! As you mentioned, at Lyst, we will continue to learn and take on any feedback from any hurdles we may face, and ensure we continue to be equipped to handle them in the future. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  8. "Customer centric"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOS Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of UX research and feedback Customer oriented development Consistent codebase Great team spirit all through the company

    Cons

    Rapid changes of team structures lately

    Lyst2019-06-11

    Lyst Response

    June 21, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for the review and positive feedback. We appreciate internal changes may happen more frequently here at Lyst, this is so we are able to adapt as a fast growing start-up. However, do come and chat to us if you have suggestions on how we can best manage or communicate these changes. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Culture, Great Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with some really talented people, bar is high and the culture is really collaborative. The teams work on interesting challenges, and are given the freedom to solve problems how they see fit. Still has the "Start up" culture of being inquisitive and never being satisfied with the status quo - loads of new things on the horizon and a feeling that the company is really going places. Onboarding process was smooth - great interaction with the recruitment team and wider HR team prior to my arrival - Felt like part of the gang very quickly Company feels like it is going places - everyone is engaged, wants to push forward.

    Cons

    It is a genuinely great place to work

    Lyst2019-06-04

    Lyst Response

    June 7, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thanks you so much for the review. It’s great to hear you've had a positive experience at Lyst. We’re so glad you are excited by our challenges and the new projects on the horizon. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyst full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone that works here is driven, smart, ambitious and extremely motivated to develop a great product for our customers. A huge amount of work has been done over the past couple of years to really drive a positive and productive company culture with values that we can all get behind and a vision we can work towards.

    Cons

    There aren't really many cons at all! As with any growing company, culture and communication is something that needs continuous attention which Lyst is really great and inspecting and adapting on a regular basis; to make sure that as our actual numbers are growing, so are we as a productive organisation. No one company is perfect but being able to understand that, adjust to the needs of your team and your customers, recognise when mistakes are made and to learn from them is key to getting pretty close!

    Continue reading
    Lyst2019-05-31

    Lyst Response

    June 7, 2019Chief People Officer & GC

    Thank you so much for your review. It was a real pleasure reading your positive feedback on our people and culture here at Lyst. I agree, as we continue to grow, maintaining this culture and communication across the business is something we will continue to make a priority. Thanks again, Emma

    Continue reading
Found 32 reviews
</>Embed