Nuffield Health Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nuffield Health Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 222 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Nuffield Health CEO Steve Gray
Steve Gray
78 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "backhanded hiring of duty managers who the senior management already know from previous employment(in 15 reviews)

  • "Long hours, high turnover of staff(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely company to work for, great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuffield Health part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely staff Lovely members Great perks, free gym and health insurance

    Cons

    Can’t think of any at the moment

    Nuffield Health2019-06-11
  2. "One of the worst departments to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cafe Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuffield Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff meetings give the opportunity to contribute ideas, easy work when staffed or quiet, general corporate benefits like employee of the month

    Cons

    Often understaffed to save money, they don't care about the cafe staff, they listen to feedback and then do nothing about it

    Advice to Management

    Cafe needs restructuring to suit each individual club rather than rigid blanket rules for all the clubs

    Nuffield Health2019-09-19
  3. "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuffield Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gym floor shifts provide a basic stable income. In-house training is also a bonus.

    Cons

    The company will increase the price of personal training at any given time and the PTs are not given a higher percentage.

    Nuffield Health2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuffield Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Corporate Branch - great business environment - friendly staff - free gym membership & a £5 membership for a partner - not too stressful of a job - weekends off

    Cons

    - can be clicky - few issues with management around accountability and methods of discipline - repetitive - given responsibility without incentive - "Pay or rewards"

    Advice to Management

    Take more accountability for mistakes made by colleagues. Sometimes felt like being thrown under a bus with limited coaching and communication

    Nuffield Health2019-09-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Feedback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuffield Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nuffield is very good company for career progression.

    Cons

    Salaries are very low.

    Nuffield Health2019-09-01
  6. "good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nuffield Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CPD courses, training, nice facilities to use.

    Cons

    Extremely busy caseload not well organised System crashes very often

    Nuffield Health2019-08-28
  7. "Had a great time working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant in Bromley, England

    I worked at Nuffield Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers and perks of using the gym and food

    Cons

    Can be repetitive work and highly pressured by customers

    Nuffield Health2019-08-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Chaotic, horrible, unhappy environment to work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Epsom, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuffield Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, good coffee machine

    Cons

    Lower level staff treated with no respect whatsoever. No company training, no involvement or consultation, just work like a robot and keep your opinions to yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Get yourselves some decent management training please. Learn how to respect your more junior colleagues, involve them, give them appropriate training and then watch how they return this investment back to the organisation. Its pretty straightforward really.

    Nuffield Health2019-09-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Worst career experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital in Epsom, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nuffield Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free gym Flexible working Nice office Can add family/friend to membership for a small fee

    Cons

    My role was a new role for the business. I was made redundant after a year, so I seriously implore anyone who is thinking of going to work for this company (I can only speak for the head office) to understand that you are taking a risk - this company will not have your back, every decision that is made is made without consideration to anyone except the senior management. Because of the blatant greediness of... senior management/investors (please do not take any bearing to the charity aspect of this company, this is not a charity and it could not be any more capitalist and corporate if it tried) this has made the entire company environment negative and distrustful (and rightly so). I was in a job that started off with no guidance from an inexperienced Manager (I would go weeks without hearing from them). There was already a negative feeling in the air from the recent redundancies at the time. See my breakdown below: - Job role was not defined and no help from manager to define that, left me to my own devices - Due to the lack of care in my development and history of redundancies, I started to push for senior management to define my role and responsibilities - Had lots of meetings about this (nothing significant ever came out of them), although my line management changed about 4 times at least - Agreed with a diff head of dept that I would work couple of days a week with them as they had space on their team and needed the help - was told that I would be reviewed after 3 months which never happened, they just carried on using me - After a year was told my role was going to be made redundant, and no mention of my performance on the other dept I worked in - No defined structure in teams and a lazy attitude to work, meant no one really took accountability and nothing got done - honestly, if you're looking for a place to grow and develop, this is not the place for you - Avoid like the plague unless you like the risk (of being made redundant) and do not care about career/personal development, and do not mind being in a negative, unprofessional, unkind and un-collaborative environment - Sexist, male dominated vibe in the Head Office

    Show More
    Nuffield Health2019-09-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nuffield Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Other than salary no pros

    Cons

    Bullying, complacency, focused on appearance rather than patient care.

    Advice to Management

    Tackle the hard and obvious issues.

    Nuffield Health2019-09-09
Found 222 reviews