Ocado Technology Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 280 of over 303 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Ocado Technology CEO James Matthews
James Matthews
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Cutting edge technology and fun people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very relaxed working environment(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There aren't enough parking spots at the head-office in Hatfield for the size of the building(in 9 reviews)

  • "No bonuses, no work from home policy, anachronistic management in Ocado Group which affects Ocado Tech as well(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    534

    183 Comments

    Tech

    36.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Ocado Technology~995887
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Probably the best company to work for during the 2020s

      Nov 9, 2020 - Software Engineering Team Lead in Sofia
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great culture - "There are no dumb questions", "Everyone makes mistakes", "Make it work, then make it pretty", "Challenges are well accepted" * Visible Impact from the work that you're doing - On many of the projects the CEO and other high-level management are recognising the work that you're doing. * Great people work here - passionate and motivated to achieve great results!

      Cons

      * I can't think of cons at the moment.

      7 people found this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      What a great review! We're incredibly pleased to see employees loving their work. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Nice people

      Oct 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a nice culture with good people, freedom to express yourself and champion ideas.

      Cons

      Always lots to do, which is both good and bad.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast moving and Dynamic work place to Learn

      Oct 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wide range of technologies and complex problems to solve

      Cons

      not great Stock Options when compared to US Tech Giants or start-ups

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoy working at Ocado Technology and find the work interesting.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture

      Oct 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teams are given the autonomy to find the best solution.

      Cons

      Fast growth leads to reorganisations

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to hear that you enjoy the culture at Ocado Technology.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fair employer

      Oct 6, 2021 - Computer Programmer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly team and nice offices

      Cons

      Lower pay compared to industry averages. Not very meritocratic

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed working with your team at Ocado Technology. Regarding your comment about salaries, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again!

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      good atmosphere, bad salary

      Sep 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      people are nice and positive

      Cons

      salaries are very low, bad promotion system too

      2 people found this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for leaving a review! It's great to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere and working environment. Regarding your comment about salaries, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again!

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fine

      Sep 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Possible to move around a bit

      Cons

      Salary not too great, can feel like a small cog

      2 people found this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Regarding your comment about salaries, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again!

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Came unstuck when trying to progress

      Sep 22, 2021 - Project Support in Hatfield, East of England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Really exciting company with cutting edge technology - Your work makes a real impact and company are open to suggestions on improvements. - Open, relaxed and inclusive environment. - Were going through a transformation when I left and are trying to do the right thing culturally.

      Cons

      -40 hour working week as standard but your salary does not reflect this, and since leaving I know this is not the norm. - Was put through 4 interviews for internal job and not given any feedback for months. Very unprofessional.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the work and culture at Ocado Technology. On your comment about internal recruitment, we have worked hard over the last year to enhance our processes and our data shows this is having a significant impact across the organisation but we appreciate there is still work to be done in this space. Thanks again for your review!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very interesting work and my voice makes an impact

      Aug 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The work is interesting and varied, there are constantly new twists and turns and Ocado never stops being open to change itself to keep getting better - People's voices are heard and taken seriously regardless of role title - if you can make a good point clearly, people will act on it and you'll be recognised too - The culture is relaxed (even though the pace isn't always!) and doesn't blame people so you don't need to be fearful, there's room to be creative and take initiative when you see things to improve - The change is constant - I like it but not everyone does!

      Cons

      - The change is constant - I like it but not everyone does!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for leaving a review! We're really pleased to hear that you're enjoying your role and the culture at Ocado Technology.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A good place to work !

      Aug 24, 2021 - Team Lead in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ocado values Diversity Career opportunities

      Cons

      Benefits could be improved No bonus Better salary benchmarking required

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ocado Technology Response

      Communications Associate

      Thanks for your review! We're so pleased to hear that you're enjoying working at Ocado Technology. Regarding your comment about salaries and benefits, we would like to reassure you that we put a lot of effort into ensuring our total packages are competitive for each region that we operate in. Thanks again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 280 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ocado Technology Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ocado Technology? Share Your Experiences

    or