Ocado Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Ocado Technology Reviews

Updated 27 November 2018
90 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tim Steiner
48 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "There isn't a London office which would be easier for commuting, and working from home is strongly discouraged" (in 4 reviews)

  • "Location (long and expensive commute from London)" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work with friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Development Manager in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocado Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great relaxed atmosphere where people strive to work together to produce high quality, technology leading solutions.
    People are very friendly and dress code very relaxed.
    Use of leading technology and agile methodologies,
    Constant training and improvement opportunities supported by a new career model.
    Excellent benefits package.

    Cons

    Lack of processses in some areas but this is being addressed.

    Ocado Technology Response

    30 Nov 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for the review, we're pleased to see that where you have concerns they're being addressed.


  2. "OSP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ocado Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great international colleagues, dynamic work, exceptional collaboration

    Cons

    Poor line management and HR, unrealistic expectations of product, poor pay for junior roles and lack of respect by management. Unfair hiring processes and ill equipped HR

    Ocado Technology Response

    30 Nov 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for your feedback – it's great to hear you enjoyed the work and collaborative culture but we'll pass on your Cons comments to see where we can improve.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place with some caveat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ocado Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great place for new graduates, exposure to latest technologies, helpful teammates, some really nice people. Great communication from CEO and Sr leadership, gives you the feeling of togetherness. Great values and vision of Sr leadership.

    Cons

    Team leads/line managers are untouchables, because they joined Ocado many years before. Ocado values and code of conducts do not apply to them. Tend to hire those within their close networks. These hires are then favoured in promotion and high salary raises. Team leads frequently use profanity, often disrespectful, particularly to women, openly or covertly; high turnover of staff.

    Ocado Technology Response

    30 Nov 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    We're concerned to read your experiences with some team leads and will be passing this on for review. We can see you've left the company now, but if there's anything you'd like to report in more... More


  4. "A great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Team Lead in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Former Employee - IT Team Lead in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ocado Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture, great atmosphere, great innovation, great education!

    Cons

    Very ambitious plans yet limited new-hire headcounts

    Advice to Management

    The non-flat, non-hierarchical structure of software engineer progression (SE1, SE2, SE3, etc) doesn't really work.

    Ocado Technology Response

    2 Nov 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for the review, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our structure is constantly under review by our Catalysts, so we appreciate the feedback.


  5. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ocado Technology full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment
    Good social benefits
    Carrier path

    Cons

    Employees with not nice soft skills are usually the promoted


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent culture, friendly people, recent expansion, comparatively few incentives for good talent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Engineer in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocado Technology full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Technology used is pretty good. Nice colleagues. Decent coffee. Canteen has a good selection of food. Excellent gyms in the area.

    Cons

    At times, Ocado tries to solve problems by throwing more people at it rather than implement the right solutions/refine and correct existing processes, or bring in process leaders. It takes an huge aunt of time to get something relatively simple done. Parking is at capacity. Toilets are constantly blocked. Work from home policy is non-existent, which is rare in a technology company. Open-plan office is noisy. Salaries are 10-20% below industry standard. They is no bonus scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Promote quality over quantity. Employ some stronger process leaders - don't just promote engineers into leadership roles. Introduce a work-from-home policy. Replace all the toilets.

    Ocado Technology Response

    2 Nov 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for the feedback; we're aware of some of the issues you've raised so you should see improvements soon.


  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Ocado Technology full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and fast learning environment

    Cons

    not in London but nothing else really

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Technology Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ocado Technology full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, helpful environment.
    Always supports & encourages you to develop and learn new skills.
    Top Down Bottom Up communication helps to feel empowered and encouraged to engage at all levels

    Cons

    Does not have a properly implemented work from home policy

    Advice to Management

    Allow more people to work from home or remote locations

    Ocado Technology Response

    30 Aug 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for the comments. If you'd like to work from home more, we recommend speaking to your line manager or a Catalyst about ways to make this possible.


  9. "DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in Hatfield, East of England, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ocado Technology (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with cutting-edge technology

    Cons

    Do not complain even if harassed

    Advice to Management

    Value employees too not only managers

    Ocado Technology Response

    30 Aug 2018 – Social Media and Content Lead

    Thanks for commenting – we're concerned about your 'con' though and would strongly urge anyone with complaints about harassment to speak to a manager or to HR as this should not be tolerated.... More


  10. "Great work place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mobile Engineer in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Mobile Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ocado Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's a big company, despite that the work environment is very good, more like a small startup. A good level of freedom in the own work and a good work organisation.

    Cons

    The salary is too low and it's not in London but just outside, at Hatfield.