Redfin Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Redfin Reviews

Updated 21 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 427 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Redfin CEO Glenn Kelman
Glenn Kelman
303 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great People and Environment for Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed the people and culture since joining Redfin. It is a talented, diverse, and caring group that cares about making good products and taking care of each other. I have been encouraged at every step to take initiative on projects and work that I think are important to the continued growth and improvement of the organization.

    Cons

    The engineering side has built up an impressive product stack, but is feeling some growing pains as they scale both the platform and the team size. But despite being sometimes frustrating, these are overall good problems to have.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up on taking care of people and fostering the environment that has led to success so far. The quality of people that I am surrounded by is really enjoyable and refreshing compared to many other companies. Keep investing in tech infrastructure, tooling, and paying down of historical debt as the business grows. New products are important, but so is maintenance and infrastructure/process improvement to support them....

    Show More
    Redfin2019-07-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good to get Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time

    Pros

    You get a lot of experience in a relatively short amount of time.

    Cons

    Pay, work/life balance, respect from management. It is very corporate.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your agents what they are worth.

    Redfin2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is developing professionals. Career ladders, training, direct access to high level executives, all company conventions are all fostering learning and development of the staff. I also love the food and snacks.

    Cons

    Since this company develops people into professionals and is constantly promoting growth, turnover in departments slows down progress, as those people find new challenges (though I would not change this, I love seeing people succeed).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Redfin2019-06-20
  4. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transaction Coordinator 

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Redfin is innovative and open to new ideas.

    Cons

    The work is monotonous and, since Redfin is a relatively new company, there are frequent policy changes.

    Redfin2019-06-20
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Just happy that I left"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DS Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time

    Pros

    Well-stocked kitchen. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Extremely irresponsible management. People give excuses not to do things rather than think about how to get there.

    Redfin2019-06-24
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Great Culture, Pay and Resourcing Lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture and people. It's generally a pretty "young" company, and has the feel of a bunch of friends working together. You get a ton of responsibility, even early in your career. Opportunity to make impact across the whole company from every role. Never met a coworker who wasn't a genuinely nice person.

    Cons

    After awhile, you realize that despite the perks, culture, and mission, you're under-paid. Redfin fails to compensate longer-tenured employees as well as they would a new hire. The company doesn't seem to be of the mindset that everyone can easily be replaced, and doesn't try to hard to retain people. While you have a lot of opportunity to make an impact, you're also sometimes under-resourced since every program is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay people for the roles they perform, not their job titles.

    Redfin2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Associate Agent 

      I worked at Redfin part-time

      Pros

      Overall I enjoyed the job and had fun doing it. It was beneficial to gain firsthand sales experience and was nice meeting clients face to face. I really liked the people I worked with and it seemed like they really did want to help me.

      Cons

      As independent contractors, we had to pay for all of the RE fees ourselves, which added up. In the end, it just wasn't worth the time for me.

      Redfin2019-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "One of the best companies to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Listing Photographer in Portland, OR
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Wonderful company culture, great management, good working atmosphere, lots of ways to air views and be heard.

      Cons

      Not much to complain about!

      Redfin2019-05-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Innovative, Good Value for Clients, Consistent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Deal Writing Agent in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Steady monthly income with benefits.

      Cons

      Lack of work life balance

      Redfin2019-05-24
    • Helpful (2)

      "Feels like Family"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Transaction Coordinator in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I've been with Redfin for over 2 years and see many more in my future. I say its feels like family because well my sisters also work for the company, but it really feels like a family because people care about each others success and want to make sure you are doing well.

      Cons

      Every company has things to improve on.

      Advice to Management

      They are working on it, but providing information to all teams so everyone is on the same page. We don't know what we don't know.

      Redfin2019-05-15
    Found 427 reviews