Redfin Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Redfin Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Redfin CEO Glenn Kelman
Glenn Kelman
339 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Potential opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great focus on customer experience and state of the art technology

    Cons

    Limited resources devoted to relatively small local markets

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-03-06
  2. Helpful (8)

    "This company has changed.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits overall, work life balance isn't bad once you reach a manager level. Salaries are competitive at the manager level. Agents are given freedom to work without supervision as long as they are closing deals and get overall good reviews.

    Cons

    Local managers don't own their job itself or decisions on their direct reports anymore. Upper management has shifted to micromanaging everything that happens in the field everyday. This approach has really strayed from what I considered to be the core values when I started of supporting people at all levels and trusting your people to do the right thing and do their job effectively. Agent base salaries and bonus keep going down over the years because there are so many mouths to feed at the company.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-02-27
  3. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Agent 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Redfin part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work when you want to work

    Cons

    Lots of nights and weekends

    Redfin2020-02-28
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Don't do it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Listing Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    life insurance, health insurance, retirement

    Cons

    horrible management, they never fix problems they just look for scapegoats

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-03-01
  5. "Better opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Estate Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, constant leads, technology, salary W2, growth opportunity.

    Cons

    Management, low pay, too much work, politics, surveys affect pay, stress levels, quota and metrics, high turnover, small percentage on bonuses.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-03-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company with a below average commission rate per house sold."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Redfin

    Pros

    There is many leads that are good.

    Cons

    Small commissions & based on reviews

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-02-21
  7. "Completely flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Real Estate Broker in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Redfin part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As an associate agent, you can work any days or times you want, and any cities you specify. The flexibility is great!

    Cons

    You can't do any of your own real estate transactions, per your contract, with Redfin. You can only get a referral fee if you refer someone to Redfin.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-02-06
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not What It Used To Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Redfin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good salaries for management

    Cons

    Zero work/life balance as a manager or agent. Support positions are better. Company is morphing from a quirky startup with a soul to just another public company making cut-throat decisions to satiate Wall Street.

    Redfin2020-02-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Absolute best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Redfin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive, positive environment. Great earning potential. Support from all areas of the company. Great opportunity for advancement in my career. Open door policy for feedback. Constantly striving to be better and do the right thing. Benefits are oustanding. Coaching and support from direct leadership is genuine. My experience with working at Redfin has changed my life. A lot of these reviews are from associate agents who are Independent Contractors and not full time employees. I started with Redfin as a buyer's agent and brought my experience from the traditional real estate world into the Redfin model and thrived immediately. I became a team manager after a year in the agent roll and was so glad to have the opportunity to advance my career. I had a great coach at the time and now I get to work with customers AND coach my team of agents to make them the best they can be while working toward their personal and career goals. We are a caring family that is full of support, driven by a CEO who is genuine, driven and transparent to his core. That trickles down through the whole company. This company is always striving to be better, make this process better for our customers and make the lives of our agents easier. I can't say enough wonderful things about Redfin and where we are headed. I am lucky to have found this company.

    Cons

    I honestly don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Redfin2020-01-29
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - AI Don't Have An Answer 

    I have been working at Redfin part-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule makes it easy

    Cons

    Scheduling can be difficult sometimes

    Redfin2020-01-31
Found 489 reviews