SCC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCC Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
SCC Chief Executive James Rigby
James Rigby
238 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, can do attitude, positive(in 21 reviews)

  • "Paid on time but nothing more then thats(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No pay rises, if you get an appraisal it’s always overdue and they start by telling you there is no money available for a pay rise(in 55 reviews)

  • "No pay rises in the 3 years I was there(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Operations Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good incentives Secure work in public sector They pay you back for money you spend visiting with customers Career progression is available, but you have to show you are eager/want to go for it

    Cons

    Pay is less than average

    SCC2019-11-25
  2. "Worst company ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I cannot think of any pros

    Cons

    No management skills No progression Low salary Expected to work more hours than your contracted hours and receive no payment No training Over 20 members of staff within the HR department have left within the last 2 years and yet the environment is not reviewed or improved All complaints are swept under the carpet

    SCC2020-02-19
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - IT Field Engineer 

    I worked at SCC full-time

    Pros

    Secure work alongside public sector

    Cons

    Pay below average and shift work

    SCC2019-12-11
  4. "Professional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a great team of professional, knowledgeable and friendly people in a variety of locations; Have had exposure to really interesting work and had been given opportunities to develop and broaden my own personal knowledge, skills and experience; People get recognised and rewarded for hard work; Have been made to feel valued and supported by Directors; Good internal training programme; Flexible approach to working hours; Ability to buy additional holiday (or sell if you wish); Each employee can have a volunteering day each year; SCC does loads of work with and for charities.

    Cons

    Primarily based at the Birmingham site, the area can be very congested, especially when leaving the site.

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-11-19
  5. "Great company Great working culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Executive in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - flexible working culture -friendly atmosphere (very much a family feel to the teams) -Management listen to ideas from employees and factor that into decision making -There is a real social feel to the team with away days and office dress down days (In aid of different charities (employees can pick the charities!) - Free yoga and massages in the office ! - One day a year you can dedicate to a charitable cause - good work life balance and overall a friendly place to work

    Cons

    - Not centrally based (but still relevantly easy to commute to)

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-11-18
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dreadful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Service in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Some good people trying to do their best within a broken organisation

    Cons

    * Leaving fake reviews on Glassdoor (so obvious as to be embarrassing) * Toxic culture which stems from a senior mgmt. team which have been in place for years and refuse to adapt to a changing marketplace * Blame culture (as per the above point) * No respect for the customer and employees on the front line left to defend the indefensible * No training or salary reviews available * Lack of skills within the organisation for new technologies * High turnover of staff which does not lead to any internal soul searching as to why this is.

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-12-09
  7. "Very Good Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Administrator in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming in all departments, and praise given all the time for a job well done

    Cons

    Not yet had a yearly salary review and i doubt i will unless i fight for it or hand my notice in

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-11-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base Salary is Competitive and Nice Offices

    Cons

    IT Systems disjointed. Promises made on application not realised. "Policy changes". Questionable work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-11-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Not too good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workshop Technician in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get paid on time. Opportunities for overtime.

    Cons

    Management only care about figures

    SCC2019-11-01
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Storesperson in Stevenage, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone on my site where great people apart from management and higher

    Cons

    I got forced into a storesperson role when I came into the business as admin. Previous storesperson salary were higher but there was more work than the previous years. The only thing my line manager was good at was micro managing and putting everyones team spirit down and he was sexist. I went through the HR team in which they were only concentrating on covering for their awful management. I had my managers put me down for mental health when they were the reason my mental health got bad (I got told to toughen up) HR completely igorned that when I complained. I can honestly say this is the worst place i have worked in my working life. I wouldnt advise anyone to work for this company. No health and safety checks where done on my working environment. This company does not care about you or your wellbeing! Also HR were referring to policies that were out of date. No one at scc knows what they are doing. Just got to look at the W10 migration to know that SCC does NOT make IT work!

    Continue reading
    SCC2019-11-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 436 reviews
</>Embed