SCC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCC Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 398 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
SCC CEO James Rigby
James Rigby
222 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, can do attitude, positive(in 21 reviews)

  • "Paid on time but nothing more then thats(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No pay rises, if you get an appraisal it’s always overdue and they start by telling you there is no money available for a pay rise(in 56 reviews)

  • "No pay rises in the 3 years I was there(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Work hard and get rewarded!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Commission plan - Cycle to work - Networking opportunities - Surrounded by experienced people to learn from

    Cons

    At the moment I've experience no cons of working at SCC.

    SCC2019-03-05
  2. "Strong company with a passion for innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Company culture is fantastic - Salary & Benefits - Employees are friendly and foster a very warm and supportive environment - Ability to progress is encouraged by managers

    Cons

    - Politics of any large organisation - Outdated flexible working attitude in some aspects

    Advice to Management

    Continue to innovate and refine the graduate scheme.

    SCC2019-05-03
  3. "....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time

    Pros

    People... mainly good and approachable

    Cons

    Benefits are awful, sick pay, sickness conditions (by the way I have not been off sick yet), pension, no rewards (bonus) holiday is low compared to elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    Improve benefits and people would stay at SCC

    SCC2019-04-22
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Really poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Some of the staff and colleagues are great and try to help. Paid on time. Pay package not unreasonable.

    Cons

    SCC champions. Most HR reviews you can tell as this is a pro. The only people that get this are sales teams as they are deemed more important than other departments. Terrible holiday allowance. SCC you need to realise that 23 days rising to 25 after 5 years is not an incentive to join. HR are non existent, until it's in their favour. No 1-2-1s or PDR, which are required to drive pay discussions. Staff retention...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try and look after staff and customers. It would go a long way to steadying the ship. Actually invest in good people and sing about it.

    SCC2019-05-09
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Tossed aside!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Generally the people at SCC are great Initial salary good Bonus good Ability to buy up to 5 days holiday Car allowance reasonable Free tea and coffee in the kitchen

    Cons

    No annual pay reviews No professional development Many, many changes in line management in a short space of time (6 different line managers in <3 years) Legal department producing customer contracts not worth the paper they are written on (or disk space they occupy)! Competitors were able to waltz in and take over a customer contract with little recourse. Little/no attempt to fill vacancies from within SCC. No...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff development, staff retention, building teams and not a collection of individuals. Make service contracts clearer and enforceable. Allow limited working from home where the job allows to improve work/life balance. Advertise internal vacancies more effectively as I have lost count the number of times vacancies appear on external job sites before even being aware there was a vacancy!

    SCC2019-03-07
  6. "SCC Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great commission structure Supportive & friendly staff Recognition i.e. SCC Champions Overall great culture

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    SCC2019-03-05
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Internal account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time

    Pros

    Some very kind and helpful people

    Cons

    Low salaries, no official guidance, support neither training. Not enough people for the amount of work, not nice work environment

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and support your employees

    SCC2019-03-28
  8. "A solid business plan and friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Lots of very nice and friendly people. The business is solid and stable so job security is great. It's a really interesting place to work as the company has such a diverse portfolio. Lots of people to meet from offices across the UK. Pay is fair and competitive. SCC Champions competition is a great way of rewarding staff. More training on offer than any other company I've worked for. Great variety of courses run...

    Show More

    Cons

    Traditional approach to flexi-time (pretty stringent by modern standards). Parking at HQ is rather terrible (not enough spaces), although we've been told this is soon to be rectified.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the business at the terrific rate you are! Keep an eye on the 'modernity' of the company with regards to employee benefits. Competitors are increasingly offering extra incentives to work for them and this is maybe an area SCC is lacking (for example the flexi-time approach).

    SCC2019-02-19
  9. "Excellent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time

    Pros

    The recruitment process was great, everything was set up for me when I arrived and a comprehensive on-boarding process was in place to help me settle in. Ever since everyone has been great, there's always support available and there are good opportunities to progress internally.

    Cons

    I haven't noticed any cons so far.

    SCC2019-02-18
  10. "A great stable company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    You are valued and rewarded well at SCC when you work hard. They look after their people investing in training and development and supporting people in their promotion ambitions or moving sideways across to other departments and roles. It is a fair and supportive company with many talented and innovative people to work alongside. It continues in its success, meaning a stable workplace for employees to benefit from.

    Cons

    The main HQ building is a bit tatty , however a refurb is planned ahead.

    SCC2019-02-19
Found 398 reviews