SCC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SCC Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
SCC CEO James Rigby
James Rigby
233 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, can do attitude, positive(in 20 reviews)

  • "Paid on time but nothing more then thats(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No pay rises, if you get an appraisal it’s always overdue and they start by telling you there is no money available for a pay rise(in 56 reviews)

  • "No pay rises in the 3 years I was there(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best place i have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Analyst in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place to work, staff are immensely helpful and supportive. Current role is very enjoyable and I love working with numbers and figures. Enjoy the contracts im dealing with. No micromanagement, treated like an adult and left to work at your own pace.

    Cons

    None that I personally feel are applicable to me. Much is made of senior management and misconceptions about how things are run. I personally haven't seen anything aimed at me or anyone else. Ultimately, it is their company and they are entitled to run it as they wish. I understand that finance takes priority, it is a privately owned and run company so naturally, finance talks, just louder than it would in other... companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Carry on as you are. The Directors are really nice people. I get along with them and im entry level, so its about how you approach them. I like them.

    SCC2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues e.g fellow technicians

    Cons

    uneven salaries, over 3k difference between employees doing the same job, if you talk about something management dont agree with you are threatened to be ma aged out of the business

    SCC2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Understaffed, poor benefits, aggressive mgmt, constantly ap;olgising to disgruntled customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time

    Pros

    Soem great staff who are trying their best in difficult circumstances.

    Cons

    Underinvestment in people and tools. Sells itself as a place of innovation and partnering with customers but faisl on most counts.

    Advice to Management

    Speak to yoru staff to try and understand why you are unable to retain staff, the turnover is hoorendous.

    SCC2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (5)

    "They are outdated and bully culture reigns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cheap cafeteria Pay on time

    Cons

    No salary reviews Sales commission capped Micro managed Blame culture Don’t like change or new ideas Board rarely visit or speak to the staff unless it’s a disciplinary HR is a control tool and not there to help staff it rules like an iron rod Little hope for any promotion as the middle managers work there for decades - lifers Destroy any confidence and ambitions

    Advice to Management

    Change your directors out and get fresh ideas; you can’t run a business based on practices from the 1980’s Stop putting up fake reviews -it’s kinda obvious

    SCC2019-08-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenge, development, fast paced, big company

    Cons

    fast paced, can be a pressured environment

    SCC2019-07-18
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Pathetic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Workshop Technician in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None at all. Canteen food was even terrible

    Cons

    Literally everything. Pathetic excuse of a company

    SCC2019-08-20
  7. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Executive 

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great can do attitude of colleagues

    Cons

    Company benefits could be enhanced

    SCC2019-07-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "If your not in IT. Go there and then leave...!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Grantham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Will take young keen people with no experience. But will then give little or no training and expect experience staff to mentor them. On the plus side you will get experience and can move on to a better organisation.

    Cons

    Where do I start... - Bad pay, below market - Poor benefits - No training - Poor culture - Bullying Management - Mediocre supposed ‘Expert’ - Lack of Innovation - No support - Can’t do attitude - you could get fired or made redundant just because a senior manager doesn’t ‘like’ you or you disagreed with them

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn’t give them any advice... they’ll fire you....!

    SCC2019-07-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Field base"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to get experience

    Cons

    Everything from interview till last day

    SCC2019-07-25
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Racist management (supervisor)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Center Engineer in Fareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was ok. Manager is doing his best but it’s very much an uphill battle with stubborn old decrepit mules loyal to superman(visor)

    Cons

    4 on 4 off shifts You’re forced to stay in office during day shifts to which it is a den of vipers. Supervisor being the main culprit who just sits there slowly falling asleep stirring the pot watching the clock to run out until his imminent retirement This place is not about what you know it’s who you know. Security guards made into Engineers with zero electrical experience! No career progression

    Advice to Management

    Out with the OLD in with the NEW!

    SCC2019-07-10
Found 421 reviews
</>Embed