Sanger Institute Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sanger Institute Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Mike Stratton
27 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lmited opportunities for career progression for staff and low number of independent fellowships for non-faculty members(in 5 reviews)

  • "Poor benefit schema, campus located far from Cambridge(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic institute for genomics research. There is no other place for genomics research within Europe.

    Cons

    I cannot think of concentrate negative points about the Wellcome Sanger Institute except that the Sanger Institute is quite distant from Cambridge.

    Sanger Institute2019-04-20
  2. "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good research environment Strong computational facility

    Cons

    Not a lot of wet lab research

    Sanger Institute2019-02-25
  3. "Relaxed research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    - Very relaxed working environment - Lots of lectures and events to go to during work times

    Cons

    - Can be bureaucratic at times - Non scientific staff can be valued less

    Sanger Institute2019-01-24
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Excellent facilities and equipment. The best of everything. Lovely campus. Free bus to site from Cambridge

    Cons

    Site is located in the middle of nowhere. Salary wasn't great and Cambridge is an expensive place to live

    Sanger Institute2019-01-15
  5. "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

      Pros

      Nice Campus Diverse coworkers Cutting-edge research Good support system

      Cons

      The pay is often not competitive - but this is academia.

      Sanger Institute2019-01-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "post-doc"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England

        I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good reputation, excellent genomics facilities, opportunities for learning new lab techniques and bioinformatics.

        Cons

        Expensive place to live, pay relatively low compared to expenses.

        Advice to Management

        Improve pay and benefits

        Sanger Institute2019-01-21
      • "Postdoc view"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great collaboration Excellent resources Free transport to and from campus

        Cons

        Distance from campus Salary Not that many good benefits

        Sanger Institute2018-12-12
      • Helpful (6)

        "Self-destructing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hinxton, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The institute has nice grounds, a good restaurant and gym. It is also well funded (although for how much longer?) which means that you can usually get the equipment that you need.

        Cons

        Under the CEO's direction the institute is returning to it's roots of sequencing and pretty much nothing else. It's a shame since a lot of the transnational science that we had been doing was pretty interesting, but perhaps we were getting too diverse. That said, the rationalisation has been handled very badly, with lots of disgruntled staff being released into the local community and many negative stories in the national...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        We seem to have destroyed the reputation of a great place. Our reputation in the local area was getting bad before the Guardian articles and now it's even worse. Not sure what can be done really, might be time for a clean sweep and a few people to fall on their swords? Failing that, perhaps the institute in it's current form has run it's course and it's time to shut it down and replace it with something different?

        Sanger Institute2018-11-28
      • "Great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Bioinformatician in Cambridge, East of England, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good life-work balance. Benefits, flexible working hours. Great vibe

        Cons

        Sanger owns all your work, you can do freelancing or anything outside

        Sanger Institute2018-11-06
      • "Nice Relaxed Atmosphere"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours, Great to develop external collaborations, Free shuttle bus from-to the campus to many sites around Cambridge, Onsite gym

        Cons

        Poor benefit schema, campus located far from Cambridge

        Sanger Institute2018-11-18
      Found 87 reviews