Sanger Institute Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sanger Institute Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Sanger Institute CEO Mike Stratton (no image)
Mike Stratton
30 Ratings
Pros
  • "Its a very beautiful campus with great benefits(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lmited opportunities for career progression for staff and low number of independent fellowships for non-faculty members(in 5 reviews)

  • "far away from cambridge city centre (30 mins bus, free shuttle)(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent facilities, lovely campus, well organised

    Cons

    The salary is not great

    Sanger Institute2019-08-20

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I totally agree about the excellent facilities and lovely campus! Best of luck on your next venture :) Regards, Sophie

  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
    Recommends

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The institute is based on a lovely campus, there is a good work-life balance, and excellent opportunities to progress your research and transferable skills. There are free shuttle-buses in the morning and evenings.

    Cons

    The campus is 30 minute bus ride from Cambridge with not much else around.

    Sanger Institute2019-09-06

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review of working at Sanger Institute. We appreciate the time taken to feedback your experience. Best Regards, Sophie

  3. "Best genomics centre in Europe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Expertise everywhere so you will grow fast scientifically. Gender equality. Support for mothers

    Cons

    Salary is competitive but still lower than industry

    Sanger Institute2019-07-14

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your Glassdoor review- most appreciated! We believe that cultivating a friendly and supportive workplace is key to helping our researchers, students, and staff develop their skills and experience. Regards, Sophie

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awful place to work dominated by the worst management structure I have seen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice grounds and access to good refreshments/food.

    Cons

    Appalling HR section, a very crafty Director and a disturbing atmosphere to work in. Witnessed some serious acts of bulling by Senior members of staff. Several staff have been forced to move on by signing NDA's.

    Advice to Management

    Review the appointment of the Director (GET RID OF HIM!)

    Sanger Institute2019-06-19

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Many thanks for taking the time to feedback. I am sorry that your experiences have not been positive and differ from the feedback more generally received on Glassdoor – that is disappointing to hear, especially concerning my HR team and the services they work hard to deliver. Of particular concern is the suggestion that you have seen first-hand, unacceptable behaviour and I would reiterate our policies to deal with, and indeed call out, such events. We are absolutely committed to dealing with such issues and you can see our polices here: https://www.sanger.ac.uk/about/careers/our-working-culture-policies-and-approach. We are consistently reviewing our working culture at Sanger. We do this through annual staff surveys, engagement with Employee Representatives, wider dialogue and feedback and as part of culture development programmes that are underway - these programmes are currently focused on building transparency around all elements of operations and decision making. These are just some of the initiatives we have undertaken to ensure that we can offer all our staff the best possible experience. Best Regards, Charlie Weatherhogg- Human Resources Director

    Show Less
  5. "Advance Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice international environment, nice surrounding nature

    Cons

    Need to use transports to get to Sanger, far from everywhere

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities to grow

    Sanger Institute2019-05-11

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Sanger Institute. I will pass on your feedback to the HR team. Regards, Sophie

  6. Helpful (1)

    "PhD student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Student 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic institute for genomics research. There is no other place for genomics research within Europe.

    Cons

    I cannot think of concentrate negative points about the Wellcome Sanger Institute except that the Sanger Institute is quite distant from Cambridge.

    Sanger Institute2019-04-20

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. I agree that we are little way out of Cambridge, however we do offer lots of free transport options to help our employees. I hope you agree that the facilities that we have on site make up for the distance away from Cambridge :) Regards, Sophie

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good research environment Strong computational facility

    Cons

    Not a lot of wet lab research

    Sanger Institute2019-02-25

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your Glassdoor review- much appreciated. Regards, Sophie

  8. "Relaxed research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    - Very relaxed working environment - Lots of lectures and events to go to during work times

    Cons

    - Can be bureaucratic at times - Non scientific staff can be valued less

    Sanger Institute2019-01-24

    Sanger Institute Response

    September 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Social Media Manager

    Thank you for your Glassdoor review - most appreciated. I will pass on your feedback to the HR team. Thank you.

  9. "Bioinformatician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sanger Institute full-time

    Pros

    Nice Campus Diverse coworkers Cutting-edge research Good support system

    Cons

    The pay is often not competitive - but this is academia.

    Sanger Institute2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "post-doc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, England

    I have been working at Sanger Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good reputation, excellent genomics facilities, opportunities for learning new lab techniques and bioinformatics.

    Cons

    Expensive place to live, pay relatively low compared to expenses.

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay and benefits

    Sanger Institute2019-01-21
Found 91 reviews