Sharp HealthCare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sharp HealthCare Reviews

Updated 11 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, flexible hours, career growth available(in 30 reviews)

  • "Organized system, well established, good benefits(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals(in 19 reviews)

  • "Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Wow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Joiner 

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Everything is always good yeah

    Cons

    Nothing at all really yeah

    Sharp HealthCare2019-09-11
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Secretary in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Upper management can be misleading.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-12
  3. "Design engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good best out of the league

    Cons

    NoThing much very good conduct

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-08
  4. "RN with Sharp Home Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allowed me to have flexibility in my day. Great managerial support. Acquired more clinical skills.

    Cons

    Charting took a lot of time.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-11-04
  5. "Staffing Recourse Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Too many hours available to work, Well-designed system to pair Employee to every facility. Great friendly co-workers and managers are all supportive.

    Cons

    More training shift should be given to new hired Nursing Assistant. i.e. minimum 4 shift paid training, one each in a different major hospitals.

    Advice to Management

    Continue Hire New Grad RN within the organization. (Priority Selection should be given to those who are already working within the Sharp Healthcare system, given the circumstances that the employee is loyal/good standing within Sharp Healthcare)

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-20
  6. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance has been great. Good health benefits. Decent retirement plan. Looking forward to seeing the organization evolve to remain competitive in the local market

    Cons

    Leadership can be uninspiring at times. Career progression is not clear. Limited opportunities to demonstrate full skill set

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I believe leadership is heading in the right direction. I would recommend that leadership teams stay connected with staff at all levels to ensure employees are set up for success.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-31
  7. "Clinical Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co workers and team of doctors

    Cons

    Higher up management doesn’t seem to understand Nursing or how to retain staff

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, good flexibility, and all around supported, and usually staffed well.

    Cons

    The RN pay is the lowest compared to all major hospitals in San Diego

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your nurses better, it’s expensive to live in San Diego, you want to keep your good nurses I hope.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-22
  9. "exellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in La Mesa, CA

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culturally diverse and encourages employmee envolvement

    Cons

    benefit cost increase but better than other companies

    Advice to Management

    continue encouraging employoee envolvement in implementing new ideas to support inovation and growth.

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-01
  10. "Great company and great managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse-3 East in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Management and culture is very supportive. I started here as a new graduate RN and they have a great nurse residency program that gives you experience on different floors so you end up on the floor that works best for you. Management is flexible with vacations and encourages growth (I moved from tele to ICU with the full support of my manager)

    Cons

    Not as high paying as the local Kaiser and UCSD but still competitive

    Sharp HealthCare2019-10-15
Found 485 reviews