Teradata Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Teradata Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Teradata CEO Oliver Ratzesberger
Oliver Ratzesberger
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance for many(in 205 reviews)

  • "A friendly team and work environment that makes you happy to be at work, even when times are tough(in 89 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance is improvable(in 33 reviews)

  • "massive culture change as the company pivots to compete against Cloud/open source soultions; Management is only focused on the top 500 accounts(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TA Lead EMEA in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with career developments for employees that wish to progress with their career. Focus on employees development and support from immediate management is provided . Constructive feedback has been positive received by management that has helped the organisation to implement changes with a huge focus on attracting new Talent to join the organisation that will help to grow the company and focus on... the skill sets of the future

    Show More

    Cons

    I my view there are none

    Advice to Management

    Great work environment that have implemented changes and provided opportunities for development & growth

    Teradata2019-06-06

    Teradata Response

    June 14, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    Thank for your thoughtful review. Happy to hear you enjoy and recommend Teradata as a place to work. We will continue to create opportunities for development and growth at all levels and in every location!

  2. Helpful (8)

    "Run as far as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, well-educated colleagues, good office location, decent pay

    Cons

    Terrible communication - silos culture and no actual information sharing regardless of all the communication platforms Outdated, cumbersome processes that slow down execution Constantly changing GTM strategy - meant on a daily basis Terrible line management in EMEA - lots of self-importance and I rather than We approach The worst HR ever - unable to provide basic information No strategy or direction where the... Company's going

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell the Company, if you cannot run it.

    Teradata2019-07-27

    Teradata Response

    August 5, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    We're sorry your experience hasn't been better. Our leadership team and employees worldwide are incredibly active on our new communications platform, Yammer. If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the information sharing on there and even suggest ways of improving it ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Downward spiral continues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industry Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great people and software (or at least the idea)

    Cons

    too many middle managers back stabbing of them and general rolling redundancies, no belief your job is safe so people constantly looking for something new

    Advice to Management

    remove management, reorg product teams, improve quality - be clear about getting rid of people - we are aware its happening so dont think we dont know then we just generate rumours

    Teradata2019-06-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits but not strong leadership and ageing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits (car allowance, travel compensation, competitive compensation...) Some smart and experience colleagues who have been in the industry for a while Company is trying to change its brand and manages to stay competitive

    Cons

    Leadership from US is too distant to regional teams which means that each region is micromanaged by local managers who don't always have good leadership skills. Average age of colleagues above 40, very small opportunities to grow within the company. The longer your tenure, the more opportunities you will have. Some older colleagues also think they know better and are often reluctant to change. The organisation is... constantly changing and there is therefore no clear leader and responsible person per team. PMs are only managing P&L and teams are let to themselves to manage day to day issues and responsibilities within the project.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Apply more leadership from the US to regions. Define one model for GTM and stick to it. Responsibilities of each employee need to be clear and should not overlap. Recruit more junior people and create more diversity. Provide a more rewarding approach to careers for younger joiners (not having to wait 3 years to get to the next level).

    Teradata2019-06-12

    Teradata Response

    June 17, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    Thanks for your review. Communication from leadership can always be improved, and we’ve already implemented a plan to make sure it’s top notch around the world. Today, Teradata has appointed Scott Brown as Chief Revenue Officer. He will direct our go-to-market strategy and execution, ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Run as far away as possible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Applications Architect in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None left after 2017. Pay was good.

    Cons

    Needs a whole book to explain

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company if you can't sell the technology.

    Teradata2019-06-02

    Teradata Response

    June 18, 2019Recruitment Marketing and Talent Community Manager

    We're sorry you feel negatively about your experience. We also appreciate the 10+ year tenure you've had with Teradata. Thank you for your review.

  6. Helpful (8)

    "Clunky Processes, lack of direction and culture that seems to encourage/celebrate bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PS Partner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is good, there are still some good people on the team.

    Cons

    Bullying Culture - is tolerated with no action taken against repeat offenders who are reported multi times to HR & Leadership. This culture is known both internally & is noticed externally also.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, there are still good individuals around with good ideas. Focus more on actions that actually drive business forward rather than process/admin for it's own sake. Strong Management is very different to bullying & aggression.

    Teradata2019-05-17
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Career destroying destination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None to think of at the moment

    Cons

    So many to list. This company is self destructing. Do not go work there as you will regret it. Other blogs highlight the layoffs happening globally. Search The Layoffs and look at the entries for Teradata. Many from current employees. Key point is that this company has no future.

    Advice to Management

    Retire and bring in real leaders

    Teradata2019-03-15
  8. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits, ok careers path

    Cons

    Not moving as fast as other companies in terms of adaptation and growth

    Teradata2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Average company, in the positive sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Teradata full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, nice benefits, good salary.

    Cons

    Senior management should retire and direct the ship in a different direction. They had an excellent card to play by acquiring a smaller DS oriented consultancy which they wasted, and with it loads of people left.

    Teradata2018-08-21
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Lost company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Teradata full-time

    Pros

    Salary, compensation, seeing for the 1st time in my life how an organisation should not be run.

    Cons

    Everything except salary. Management, recruitment, resourcing, strategy.

    Advice to Management

    1.Be honest. 2. Your 'be the clients trusted advisor' message combined with your 'Tcore' message is not achievable and leaves employees in a compromising position in front of clients 3. Lay off the right people. 4. There are far too many skivers who have been employed and are still being retained. Yet layoffs of really good people. Madness.

    Teradata2018-09-11
Found 37 reviews