Thumbtack Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Thumbtack Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Thumbtack CEO Marco Zappacosta
Marco Zappacosta
218 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent vacation time with good work-life balance(in 29 reviews)

  • "The culinary team is amazing (3 homemade meals a day, can't beat it(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are little to no significant cons to working here, other than growing pains are causing parking to become an issue(in 25 reviews)

  • "They don't offer any 401K matching(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Company with usual growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great food, fun challenges

    Cons

    Growth has really slowed down. Local services marketplaces are tough

    Thumbtack2020-04-02
  2. "Excellent Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved my team we were like a family.

    Cons

    Laid off unexpectedly due to the corona virus out break.

    Thumbtack2020-03-31
  3. "A great company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time

    Pros

    - People are really nice to work with and always willing to help - No strict working hours limit

    Cons

    - Food not very tasty to me :(

    Thumbtack2020-02-27

    Thumbtack Response

    February 28, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Thanks for the 5 stars! :) We agree that Thumbtack is a pretty awesome place to work.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best Place I've Worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Work with some of brightest minds in Silicon Valley • AMAZING food (free breakfast, lunch, and dinner) • Supportive and great teammates

    Cons

    •We are constantly running so many tests that it can feel difficult to catch momentum at times • Overall, there's very little to complain about. It is an absolute pleasure to work with a company who cares about their employees as much as Thumbtack does.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-23

    Thumbtack Response

    February 25, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Wow, what a stellar review! We agree with every single one of your pros! It really is a fantastic place to work because of the food, and especially the people. :) We also appreciate the feedback about catching momentum. It's important for us to gather reviews like this to make sure our employees feel respected and taken care of. Thanks again for taking the time to leave this review!

    Continue reading
  5. "Love working at Thumbtack!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Producer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company sure has a knack for hiring supportive, intelligent and collaborative people. The company goals are very clearly defined and the roadmap how were are going to hit our business goals. The CEO is very approachable and is asks for feedback with every company change or pivot. The company takes care of you in benefits to perk and the daily TACKitchen menu is to die for!

    Cons

    The company moves very, very fast which to get things done is a great thing. Deductions are made to keep projects moving along. I see action being taken quickly though without time to really pause and think if it’s necessary.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-26

    Thumbtack Response

    February 28, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate your thoughts here! You've pointed out some great pros and provided us with some fantastic feedback on diversity. This is something we strive for at Thumbtack and want to thank you for being transparent with us. Thanks again for your thoughts! We're grateful to have people like you on the Team. :)

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, a lot of talent employees, delicious food all day.

    Cons

    too far away from South Bay

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-14

    Thumbtack Response

    February 17, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    Some great call-outs about things we love around the office! The culture means a lot to us, and we're glad it's so obvious to our employees. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience. :)

    Continue reading
  7. "Best place I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Career Opportunities/ Professional Development, Autonomy, Work-Life Balance. Plus they serve 3 meals a day! Amazing culinary staff and great food. You can really adjust your work hours to match the personal lifestyle that best suits your needs.

    Cons

    Could be more diverse, not as many URMs as other companies.

    Thumbtack2020-02-05

    Thumbtack Response

    February 6, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    What a great list of pros! These are some great call-outs about our company and its culture. We're lucky to have employees like you, and we're grateful for your honest feedback about the diversity, This is something we'll always be working at, and we appreciate you pointing it out and keeping it in mind. :)

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer New Grad in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've really loved working at Thumbtack. The culture is very playful, and I spend a lot of time laughing and enjoying the company of my coworkers. In terms of work, I've been trusted to work on interesting, high impact projects, despite being a new grad and only having worked here for a couple months. I've learned a lot and enjoy the work. Also the food is great, and good snacks!

    Cons

    New grad onboarding wasn't very structured - it was kind of overwhelming at the beginning, and it would've been nice if there had been some sort of new grad social event to meet other people my age.

    Thumbtack2020-02-06

    Thumbtack Response

    February 6, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate your comments. It's agreed that Thumbtack is an amazing place to work, but we love your great ideas on how we can improve. Thanks for being a valued team member. :)

    Continue reading
  9. "Decent job, weird culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Draper, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Thumbtack full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    The culture is almost cult like. Everyone thinks and acts the same and if you disagree you are basically ostracized.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-02-20

    Thumbtack Response

    February 20, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    We really appreciate you leaving your thoughts with us. We agree that we're lucky to have some great benefits, but we're always accepting solid feedback as well. Our culture is very important to us and we always want to make sure that employees feel welcomed and comfortable to speak up if needed. Thanks again for your thoughts, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. "Amazing mission, team, opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Thumbtack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Thumbtack has an incredible group of smart, kind people who are focused on helping small business owners all across the country grow. At the same time, our team is working to make hiring a plumber, electrician, photographer, and so many more talented professionals fast and easy. The market is enormous, the team is ambitious, and the mission is meaningful.

    Cons

    Serving hundreds of professions across every county creates challenges from a product experience perspective.

    Continue reading
    Thumbtack2020-01-21

    Thumbtack Response

    January 27, 2020Social Media Support Manager

    LOVE! Thanks for sharing your kind words about Thumbtack and your experience as an employee. We agree wholeheartedly with your pros and are grateful to hear your feedback in the con section. We're lucky to have you on the team. :)

    Continue reading
Found 262 reviews