Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Unilever Reviews

Updated 14 August 2017
2,572 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

2,572 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global IT Director in Bengaluru (India)
    Current Employee - Global IT Director in Bengaluru (India)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent organisation in terms of people policies, best in industry compensation and brilliant talent pool. It has wonderful blend of business with purpose and care for people (employee and consumers) ITs IT operations and innovations are world class and cutting edge and have been key competitive advantage as compared to peers .

    Cons

    Can be more efficient with its process and can be more centralized

    Advice to Management

    keep the good work on

    Unilever Response

    22 May 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including our people policies, our... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Start to Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Leatherhead, England
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Leatherhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Started in the company young in my first full time employment. The opportunity for professional development is strongly offered and supported through a number of programs. The career development issues that were rife especially in finance when I started in the company seem to have dissipated although that doesn't seem to have stopped the flow of resignations at the lower work levels. The culture is relaxed but everyone is aware of times when a push is needed meaning the work hours and location are flexible.

    Cons

    There way of working, although flexible can lead to extreme overwork when covering other employees or due to recent structural changes causing multiple roles to be downgraded or combined. The company is poor at making quick decisions and only seems to make quick decisions for the purpose of trying to publicize that they can make those quick decisions and implement them. There is still a fairly strong flow of people leaving the business due to a number of reasons, mostly due to progression, development and pay. The pay is below market rate and although it used to be made up for purely by the benefits package, they have been eroded meaning that in some cases the flexible work and slightly more relaxed culture is the reason for many to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Either address the pay gap to the market, stop eroding the benefits package or stop combining roles that produce extreme overwork for employees. The bias for action within the company especially at higher work levels needs to be addressed. Sometimes making a decision without all the data/variables and taking the risk produces better business results.

    Unilever Response

    3 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including development opportunities... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Open, honest and great company to work for.

    Cons

    Career Opportunities less and less over the years. Company tries to be innovative but stays behind vs competitors. Speed to market is a big fail.

    Unilever Response

    3 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review. It's good to see that you highlight our open and honest culture as a particular positive. We wish you continued success and all the best.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Quick Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Former Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good company to work for, nice people, agile working

    Cons

    Too much process slows things down

    Unilever Response

    14 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  6. "Perfect company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Demand Planner in London, England
    Current Employee - Category Demand Planner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great work and life balance, agile working, Great culture, Great people, Great development & education, Discounted products, Great reputation, Advanced systems/tools,

    Cons

    No progression (need to be geographically mobile), Limited/low salary compared to the market/industry, graduates are prioritised over other employees. .

    Advice to Management

    Equality between grads and employees, provide more progression opportunities

    Unilever Response

    27 Jul 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review and feedback. It's great to see you mention a number of positives of your time here, including work life balance, agile working, and development opportunities. We'll... More


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Unilever full-time

    Pros

    Good communication skills and used to working on own initiative

    Cons

    Not sure I want to set out cons

    Unilever Response

    11 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  8. "Groovy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Director in London, England
    Former Employee - Finance Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Business with integrity, tries to do the right thing

    Cons

    Bias for action is a constant challenge

    Unilever Response

    26 Jul 2017 – The Talent Team

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and we'll ensure they are passed on to the team.


  9. "Socially Responsible Consumer Goods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Port Sunlight, England
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Port Sunlight, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible working, reasonable pension. Good social responsibility mission based around improving lives of the poor and the environmental footprint of the companies products.

    Cons

    Very large company, decisions often take a long time, not very agile or dynamic, quite process focussed in reality. Promotion between job levels difficult to achieve.

    Unilever Response

    24 Jul 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including flexible working, our... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste a secon of your life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in London, England
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work from home on fridays. You get some small discounts on some products and you get free ice cream every day.

    Cons

    Too much work, tons of hours with no gratitude or extra pay. Really bad management team. Lots of stress. Everyone is leaving the company so time to move on.

    Advice to Management

    Well start treating people like people not like numbers and spend more time focusing on your employees rather than trying to sell how awesome your culture is

    Unilever Response

    3 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you for your review – we appreciate the feedback, both positive and constructive. It’s pleasing to see that you mention flexible working and benefits as particular positives of your... More


  11. "Fantastic business vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Its a proud feeling to be associated with such an ethical company with high values. Fantastic work life balance, wellbeing programs and clear business vision.

    Cons

    At time a lot of negative competitiveness and politics leads to hampering employees career growth. Not much transparency and guidance is provided by HR either.

    Advice to Management

    Please relook at the UK salary structure, we are way behind the industry. This has been raised multiple times by all but nothing has been done yet.

    Unilever Response

    2 Aug 2017 – The Talent Team

    Hi. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your current role with us. It’s really pleasing to see that you highlight a number of positives, including our ethical vision, work... More


Showing 2,572 of 2,979 reviews
Reset Filters