Unilever Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Unilever Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Unilever CEO Alan Jope
Alan Jope
369 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (9)

    "Purpose driven oganisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's vision and values are excellent, I felt proud to work for Unilever and everything in stands for. It is not one of those companies who says one thing to it's consumers but then acts differently internally. The agile working is great, as is the free ice cream (site specific) and staff shop!

    Cons

    Not the highest salaries in the market - people stay because they love the company, not the package. When you do leave you will find it hard to work for just anyone, because you become used to being treated in a certain way and now have the need to find a company that matches your values

    Advice to Management

    As you strive for greater employee experience, remember those employees who provide that service internally, they are employees too!

    Unilever2019-04-25
  2. "Great People to Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow. Agile working. Great People and culture

    Cons

    Talk bigger than action. Constant restructuring.

    Unilever2019-12-02
  3. "Great to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great People, Great Brands, Great Location

    Cons

    Boring Projects and a lot of Brand Managers

    Unilever2020-01-19
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computation Analyst in Leatherhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unilever is great for providing training opportunities and have a really good work culture for employee where they promote agile working and working from home.

    Cons

    Pay isn’t great and it’s a very competitive work environment.

    Unilever2020-01-19
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Global Mobility Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible workplace Nice environment to work in

    Cons

    Little career progression and development opportunities Pay is less than market

    Unilever2020-01-15
  6. "The best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Placement Student in Port Sunlight, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So giving and so forward thinking. Treated me so well and gave me so much responsibility with support but also so much variety to maximise my learning. Absolutely great experience.

    Cons

    There weren’t that many young people in my team, it was hard to meet other young people in the company.

    Unilever2020-01-12
  7. "Workload the biggest downside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great teams - interesting projects - some travel opportunities

    Cons

    - workload - lack of training budget

    Unilever2019-12-30
  8. "Marketing Team Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing team to work with No Hierarchical model, everyone works in common areas Very friendly organizational culture Free company lunches and events Employee discount on Unilever products

    Cons

    Too much work overload Little career progression/promotions

    Unilever2019-12-27
  9. "Brilliant development and training programmes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Brand Manager 

    I worked at Unilever full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and people, good focus on personal development

    Cons

    Can feel slow paced, and process driven

    Unilever2019-12-18
  10. "Great place for working parents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global ECommerce Director - Beauty and Personal Care in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Unilever full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, global opportunities, sustainability focus

    Cons

    Not enough opportunities for those that haven’t been at Unilever their whole working life

    Unilever2019-12-16
Found 5393 reviews