VMware Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

VMware Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
VMware CEO Pat Gelsinger
Pat Gelsinger
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome management, culture and products. A recipe for success. The easiest most productive on boarding I've experienced during my career.

    Cons

    Nothing! I'm literally stuck to find any cons.

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-01-23
  2. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Account Manager in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People and management are great

    Cons

    Yearly head count cuts, and no career progression

    Continue reading
    VMware2020-02-09
  3. "Great place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team Supportive place to work Opportunities to develop

    Cons

    Annual changes - each year the focus shifts

    VMware2019-12-04
  4. "Fun global company, great job prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Coordinator in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel opportunities, good pay for entry level role, internships lead to permanent roles.

    Cons

    Sometimes expected to work outside of 9-5.

    VMware2019-11-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent company, but not as good as it could and wants to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly culture, strong Diversity and Inclusion & Mental Health focus (not much success though, see cons). Excellent technology, customers trust the brand. Good salary, above-average benefits. Ethical business conduct every step of the way and at all levels.

    Cons

    For all the effort on D&I and Mental Health... the results are not great. Seeking help is not easy, and pressure is still high no matter what you are going through and what are your challenges (dyslexia, depression,...). The technical teams remain a white-middle-aged men environment, and it feels like women are only there to fulfil a quota. No female SEMs, almost no women in senior technical roles, men driven mentality. Same as other tech companies. There is the hope of change but I have not witnessed real results so far (in 2 years). There also seems to be a gender pay gap issue as well (comparing the same role). These realities make it hard to persevere as a female in tech, which exacerbates the problem. On more general terms, little appreciation for technical skills. I have seen lots of accolades for sales success but no rewards, visibility or recognition for pure technical role accomplishments.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-10-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Refreshing Culture, What an opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having recently joined from a less mature organisation, the culture is truly refreshing - lots of respect for the individual, great work to break down silos of operations and simply one of the most relevant customer conversations to be having at this time

    Cons

    I'm not sure they understand the size of the opportunity in the field - don't be an engineering company with a hidden message. It's now a value sale, not a widget you just need - the solution portfolio is amazing, it needs to tell the customers and not stay in product silo's

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-07-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales - EUC in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VMware full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership team, pay, benefits, products and people.

    Cons

    No future career for me within the company that I have visability of

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mor Pros than COns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Staines, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The People, The Culture, The Technology, Opportunity to develop, Drive for Equality in all areas of the business, Work / Life balance

    Cons

    Beginning to have issues that beset organisations once they get to a certain size. Growth and Margin requirements driving behaviours against EPIC2 values. Increasing Processes and measurements becoming detrimental to focus on customers.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-06-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best company I have worked for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful focus on diversity, inclusion and the wider community. Great leadership. Acquire great companies to join the VMware family. Opportunity to be at a company that has a technology edge on the competition and help companies use any cloud, for any application on any device.

    Cons

    Sometimes political (which company isn't?), processes, procedures, and systems are improving, but need more work.

    Continue reading
    VMware2019-06-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at VMware full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    EPIC values CEO Strategy and products Enablement opportunity

    Cons

    Work life balance Challenging growth targets

    VMware2019-06-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 106 reviews