Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Software Applications Engineer

Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated 31 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Workday CEO, Co-Founder & Chairman Aneel Bhusri
Aneel Bhusri
24 Ratings
  1. "Perfect place for working moms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-application-ii in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good place to work. Excellent work-life balance

    Cons

    Commute if you stay in south bay

    Workday2020-03-24
  2. "Slow interviews, poor handeling of coronavirus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Applications Engineer Intern in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, great office location.

    Cons

    The interview process took five months. I began to think they were ghosting me. I did finally get and accept an offer, only to learn a month later that all interns were being canceled as a result of the coronavirus.

    Continue reading
    Workday2020-03-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, plenty of opportunities to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer I in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture at Workday is incredibly friendly, supportive, and social. Lots of opportunities to engage with other employees, even ones outside of your team. Everyone I have encountered on my team has been willing to help and many will often drop what they are doing to help right there and then.

    Cons

    On Application Development, a lot of the tech is proprietary and has a really steep learning curve. XpressO is not an easy language to learn and I have felt unproductive and dependent on help even now almost 8 months into the job. Other tech is a little outdated, but we are catching up.

    Workday2020-03-07
  4. "Amazing people, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with are people you would even want to spend time with outside of work.

    Cons

    Pleasanton, CA is kind of out in the boonies

    Workday2020-01-10
  5. "Great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Applications Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office, decent sized teams, good management, good atmosphere, fun company events. Getting to intern at Workday was a blast, couldn't ask for a better place in my opinion.

    Cons

    As a Software Application Engineer, you use Workday's proprietary programming language. It's pretty highly abstracted from a conventional programming language, so even though it's enjoyable to write code in, it can seem like you're not doing 'real programming'. There are other 'real' programming roles in Workday however, such as working on a tools team.

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-11-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Experience here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Greatest people I've ever worked with -I've found my best friends here -Great work life balance -Nice compensation package

    Cons

    -Promotions are very inconsistent across organizations

    Workday2019-11-15
  7. "Supportive and Healthy Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good management Intern and College Grad programs are amazing

    Cons

    Pleasanton is a very suburban area, although it has great restaurants

    Workday2019-10-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Unlimited PTO Friendly people Nice benefits

    Cons

    Low salaries Proprietary language is bad Lots of bureaucracy

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-07-22
  9. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with friendly people, comfortable work/life balance and nice technology.

    Cons

    Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths.

    Workday2019-05-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came to Workday as a new graduate, and I couldn't be happier with my choice. In addition to great salary, benefits, employee programs, etc., the characteristic that really sets Workday apart is the people. The whole company really feels like one huge team, which I think is pretty rare, especially in contrast to other companies. There's a ton of trust, and the management structure is super supportive while totally avoiding micromanagement.

    Cons

    It would be awesome if there were a few more options for subsidized meals on the Pleasanton campus, but the snack program is totally free + provides almost anything you need.

    Workday2019-04-08
Found 29 reviews