Yelp Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,434 of over 3,580 reviews

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yelp Co-Founder & CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,715 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fun culture, free food, good money(in 277 reviews)

  • "Amazing culture and great people(in 199 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Uphill battle having to constantly convince business owners that Yelp is not this corrupt monster of a company(in 248 reviews)

  • "All cold calls, lots of burnout(in 80 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Yelp

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    24d

    works at 

    Yelp

    At Yelp we have “quarterlies” where we align with our manager on our growth over the quarter and if there is a “misalignment” in where we think I am then we chat about it to try and come to a mutual understanding. In my last two quarterlies I’ve felt like we’ve misaligned in multiple areas and I spent a ton of time explaining things that my manager didn’t know I did. So my question is… have you experienced something similar and what did you do to fix it. How can I gain visibility?

    8

    5 Comments

    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing

      Sep 18, 2021 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Schedule Salary Fun Coworkers Benefits

      Cons

      nothing to complain about it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Work Culture

      Jun 8, 2021 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will get to have free food

      Cons

      Work life can be off-balance sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yelp Response

      Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear that you enjoyed the culture at Yelp as well as having access to fully-stocked kitchens. We're sorry to hear that work/life balance could have been better during your time with us, Yelp encourages employees to take time off from work to refresh and recharge when needed. Thank you for your time with us, and wish you the best of luck in your next role!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture and company to work for!

      May 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, good team members, you feel welcomed and supported. A big focus is on development and teamwork.Diversity and inclusion is also a very big highlight.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of as oof yet.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 27, 2021 - Recruiting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, culture, career opportunities

      Cons

      Compensation, benefits, diversity, inclusion, belonging

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yelp Response

      Thank you for your five-star feedback! It's great to hear that you've found a healthy work life balance and finding plenty of room for growth. We appreciate your input and will be sure to share it with our leadership team. Keep up the great work, we're glad you're here!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Genuinely cares about employees

      May 11, 2021 - Site Reliability Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Throughout the pandemic, Yelp's leadership has been making sure that employees have the resources they need to work at home. Both in terms of office supplies but also time off to get vaccinated, check in on your mental health & recover. Teams get to choose their own destiny, within reason, and there's a huge amount of flexibility.

      Cons

      Historically the flexibility & freedom that teams have has lead to myriad different implementations of the same thing. Recently this has started to become less of an issue with standardised platforms that make it easy for folks to do the right thing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Racist Managers

      Oct 9, 2020 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pro’s whatsoever working at this company.

      Cons

      Constant overt racism from senior management

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Yelp Response

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It sounds like your time with us didn't go as planned, and the things you mentioned are not representative of the culture at Yelp. We do not tolerate racism our organization, and we ask employees to come forward when they see this any form of this behavior. We encourage you to please share more details about your experience at employeefeedback@yelp.com so that we can look into this further. On our end, we are committed to supporting our employees so that they can come to work every day and feel a sense of belonging. From creating a diversity task force at the executive level that includes our CEO, COO, and CFO, to creating a new employee resource group called BlackBurst that is expressly focused on the Black community at Yelp. We also reevaluated our diversity training program, and concluded there was more to do. It is one thing to train on anti-racist policies, another to show how these policies come up in the workplace, and yet another to provide more education about the historical context for why these policies matter in the first place. To the last point, we introduced mandatory, company-wide training on systemic racism and institutional bias. We know that there are more challenges opportunities ahead, and we are working on each of these initiatives with great urgency. We're thankful for your feedback, and will continue to listen to the needs of our employees so that we can keep making Yelp a great place to work. Your contributions to Yelp are appreciated, and we wish you the very best of luck in your next role.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company Review

      Jan 8, 2020 - People Business Partner in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and great people

      Cons

      None so far, just a great work place

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Yelp Response

      Thank you for your five-star feedback! Glad to hear that you're seeing the value of your work and enjoying your teammates. Can't wait to see how much more we will accomplish in 2020!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Culture

      Sep 7, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everybody is extremely helpful and the culture is awesome

      Cons

      Slow moving compared to other technology companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing Talent, Great Culture

      Jul 31, 2019 - Enterprise AE 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative Work Environment, Amazing Talent, Great Culture

      Cons

      Salary and caliber of accounts

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Software Engineer @ Yelp

      Jun 16, 2019 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super friendly and easy-going work environment, flexible hours, great people and very nice office spaces.

      Cons

      I have not really found any until now.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,434 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Yelp Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Yelp? Share Your Experiences

    or