Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yelp Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Yelp CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1,254 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food, excellent team culture(in 219 reviews)

  • "You also never have to worry about breakfast or lunch with a fully stocked kitchen(in 164 reviews)

Cons
  • "Repetitve; you call business owners all day everyday(in 190 reviews)

  • "Sales are drive through cold calls, you'll need to have a growth mindset(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody is extremely helpful and the culture is awesome

    Cons

    Slow moving compared to other technology companies

    Yelp2019-09-07
  2. "Amazing Talent, Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise AE 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative Work Environment, Amazing Talent, Great Culture

    Cons

    Salary and caliber of accounts

    Yelp2019-08-01
  3. "Software Engineer @ Yelp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super friendly and easy-going work environment, flexible hours, great people and very nice office spaces.

    Cons

    I have not really found any until now.

    Yelp2019-06-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "What's it like to work at Yelp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRE in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Change and progress are primarily driven by Engineers. If you have ideas and the drive to make them happen, you'll be happy here. It's remarkable how much, despite Yelp's size (engineering org is several hundred people), you can move the needle yourself. * The managing structure is light, managers don't get in your way and are sufficiently hands on to understand what you're working on. * The product itself is... "ethically harmless". While I'd have qualms to work for certain tech companies, I feel generally safe at Yelp. Everybody is constantly reminded that users should be protected and their data is sacrosanct.

    Show More

    Cons

    * The European branches (London, Hamburg) are fairly small, most of engineering works off San Francisco. Some people feel limited in the impact they can have in such a setting. Some people might have issues starting a bit late in the morning just so they can have late meetings with San Francisco in the evening. Other people might actually enjoy both things.

    Yelp2018-06-18
  5. "Good place to start in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, passionate with potential to grow and develop in your skill. Space for ambitious workers, but at the same time company invests a lot on making sure everyone is having a good time, getting along with others etc.

    Cons

    Don't have any real cons for the company

    Yelp2017-09-22
  6. "Hire and fire fast culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some half decent benefits, nice office

    Cons

    US company, felt like secondary citizens, not listened to, expected to ramp up sales similar to US despite it being a different market, hard targets around metrics e.g. cold calls

    Yelp2017-09-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Not a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Does a good job of hiring fun people - Free snacks are nice

    Cons

    I worked in the London office and the product was just not a good fit for Europe (Yelp have since shut down the European Sales operation so I feel vindicated). Selling a product that you know was not good was very demoralising, and I was frequently told to lie to my prospects, 'tell him he's probably getting 50% of business from Yelp already" - thats not a statement anyone at Yelp could stand by. Add to this the... high targets and relentless micro-management and the whole place just leaves you morally bankrupt and depressed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'd say leave Europe as the product is not a good fit (no shame in that, everything can't work everywhere), but they have already done this.

    Yelp2017-09-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Yelp for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet some nice people Free food

    Cons

    HR abysmal very standof fish doesn't engage with staff very cold Lots of nepotism

    Advice to Management

    When targets are not being madeveloped go over and beyond so people won't fail

    Yelp2016-11-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super energy in the offices, great people, constant attention to staff, attention to employee acomplishments.

    Cons

    Super salesy, commission and salaries not great as compared to their competitors. Slow progression within the organisation.

    Advice to Management

    I think if the management was to sit down and decide on increasing the salaries generally for the sales staff, it would definitely attract more talented people.

    Yelp2016-10-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "office admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good eay to work with

    Cons

    none so far. very good

    Yelp2015-05-30
Found 2256 reviews
</>Embed