Yelp Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Yelp Reviews

Updated 25 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2117 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Yelp CEO Jeremy Stoppelman
Jeremy Stoppelman
1199 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frequent Offsites - Free food and drinks is always a bonus(in 205 reviews)

  • "Great culture, free beverages and fully stocked kitchen(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "Managers are constantly pushing you to sell even if the business owners have already told you no(in 162 reviews)

  • "80 - 100 Cold calls per day, it sounds easy but its not(in 66 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Software Engineer @ Yelp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super friendly and easy-going work environment, flexible hours, great people and very nice office spaces.

    Cons

    I have not really found any until now.

    Yelp2019-06-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "What's it like to work at Yelp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SRE in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Change and progress are primarily driven by Engineers. If you have ideas and the drive to make them happen, you'll be happy here. It's remarkable how much, despite Yelp's size (engineering org is several hundred people), you can move the needle yourself. * The managing structure is light, managers don't get in your way and are sufficiently hands on to understand what you're working on. * The product itself is "ethically...

    Show More

    Cons

    * The European branches (London, Hamburg) are fairly small, most of engineering works off San Francisco. Some people feel limited in the impact they can have in such a setting. Some people might have issues starting a bit late in the morning just so they can have late meetings with San Francisco in the evening. Other people might actually enjoy both things.

    Yelp2018-06-18
  3. "Good place to start in sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Yelp full-time

      Pros

      Friendly, passionate with potential to grow and develop in your skill. Space for ambitious workers, but at the same time company invests a lot on making sure everyone is having a good time, getting along with others etc.

      Cons

      Don't have any real cons for the company

      Yelp2017-09-22
    • "Hire and fire fast culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Yelp full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some half decent benefits, nice office

      Cons

      US company, felt like secondary citizens, not listened to, expected to ramp up sales similar to US despite it being a different market, hard targets around metrics e.g. cold calls

      Yelp2017-09-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Not a great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Does a good job of hiring fun people - Free snacks are nice

      Cons

      I worked in the London office and the product was just not a good fit for Europe (Yelp have since shut down the European Sales operation so I feel vindicated). Selling a product that you know was not good was very demoralising, and I was frequently told to lie to my prospects, 'tell him he's probably getting 50% of business from Yelp already" - thats not a statement anyone at Yelp could stand by. Add to this the high...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I'd say leave Europe as the product is not a good fit (no shame in that, everything can't work everywhere), but they have already done this.

      Yelp2017-09-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not a nice place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Yelp for more than a year

      Pros

      Meet some nice people Free food

      Cons

      HR abysmal very standof fish doesn't engage with staff very cold Lots of nepotism

      Advice to Management

      When targets are not being madeveloped go over and beyond so people won't fail

      Yelp2016-11-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "Account executive"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Super energy in the offices, great people, constant attention to staff, attention to employee acomplishments.

      Cons

      Super salesy, commission and salaries not great as compared to their competitors. Slow progression within the organisation.

      Advice to Management

      I think if the management was to sit down and decide on increasing the salaries generally for the sales staff, it would definitely attract more talented people.

      Yelp2016-10-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "office admin"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommends

      I have been working at Yelp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very good eay to work with

      Cons

      none so far. very good

      Yelp2015-05-30
    • "A good first job, but not many prospects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Junior Account Executive in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Yelp full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Gain valuable experience being trained by incredible sales people. Can make it what you want, as long as you have a positive attitude.

      Cons

      Only bring in new business. Office was so unprofessional that it seemed like you were in school. No autonomy whatsoever in day to day. High turnover due to lack of opportunities within the company. Focus on hitting daily metrics.

      Advice to Management

      Be more transparent.

      Yelp2015-01-26
    • "Tough gig selling a service when many dont know the brand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Yelp

      Pros

      Great bunch of people including managment Great training and intro to telesales... if you make sales here you can probably make sales most places

      Cons

      Not many hitting targets Expect to make 80 calls a day to busy small business owners

      Advice to Management

      Spend money on advertising Yelp itself so people will know about it!

      Yelp2014-12-19
    Found 2117 reviews