deVere Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

deVere Group Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
deVere Group CEO Nigel Green
Nigel Green
365 Ratings
Pros
  • "The earning potential is second to none(in 36 reviews)

  • "It is very easy to see that hard work at deVere leads to rewards(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Need to work long hours in order to be successful(in 61 reviews)

  • "The training done in Malta might not be fully applicable to where you end up working, due to different exam boards etc(in 38 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "All hotel jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Ewloe, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Reliable, caring, calm, understanding, hard working, fair

    Cons

    Tiredness, unseen situation, complicate situations, unhelpful people around, bad maintenance of place

    deVere Group2020-03-18
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Catering Manager 

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work full time

    Cons

    Poor middle management becomes a problem

    deVere Group2020-03-01
  3. "Unqualified Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wealth Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good earning potential, some decent products / structured notes

    Cons

    Sole focus on sales and not necessarily client outcome. Unqualified managers & generally grossly under qualified advisors which in some instances borders on dangerous.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-02-20
  4. "It's a sales role disguised as "business development""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Few nice and welcoming employees at the London offices, but otherwise, it's not a nice place to work.

    Cons

    The BDA promises “huge money opportunity”: insane earnings growth after 12 month-ish, but at the expense of soul-crushing hamster wheel of doing same thing every day yet not having freedom to try new things (limited creativity). Role is tough in the beginning yet you are not expected or even encouraged to stay after 12 months on BDA position. The BDA (Business development associate) role is the hardest role they have and is all about KPIs and doing Cii exams for R01-R06. Most people at the company hate this role . I had an impression that this is sales role with nothing but cold calling and emailing. Manager said “we don't do cold calling any more” but ex-employees as well as employees sitting right in the office said that they indeed do cold calls. After the first day it was clear that the role is quite boring and is “on-the-rails”, i.e. you do as they say as creativity or doings differently is essentially not encouraged at all. I am assuming some people got bored after a while, tried some other approach to their tasks and company did not like that, as all they care about is KPIs and “stick to what works and don’k questions” mentality. It's very number-based, if you cannot do what they ask in first 3 months, you are out. Just do simple googling and you will find tons of news stories about devere and after decide if you want to join them. I would not recommend.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-02-25
  5. "Average sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Scope to advance quickly

    Cons

    Lied too about salary

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-01-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't deny that you do develop a lot as a person working for the company, although a lot of that is "character building". The experience of being able to work abroad is incredible, and I did learn a lot about myself within the short time I was working in the company. Staff are extremely helpful and are usually more than willing to assist you if needed.

    Cons

    The wages are so incredibly low, its a struggle to live on. Not only that, but you are put on a retainer (meaning that the money you receive as "salary" will be subtracted from your commission once you step up to being a consultant). I was not shown my contract until after the training course, therefore I was unaware of this until arriving at my "assigned destination". The success rate of the company is extremely low, and If you haven't got "what it takes", then you will be destined to fail. Hard work isn't valued, as the company is a meritocracy. The office I worked in thrived off of drama, and new gossip/rumours about staff circulated the office on a daily basis. There were also an abundance of sexist and homophobic comments made to staff and trainees during the training course and in the office I was assigned to. The environment was toxic.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-02-08
  7. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant in Cirencester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed the working with there other waitresses as they were all nice girls, some managers were really chatty and friendly and the food at the end of shifts was a nice benefit. I got to choose when I wanted to work which was nice.

    Cons

    Working non stop from 4-11 pm made all servers very tired , the new manager was not likeable, and ending up throwing stuff and swearing at staff. Too many guests walked out and complained about the low food standards and waitresses were blamed for this. Poor management in the kitchen lead to food coming out very slowly, and chefs could become aggressive. some staff were very cliquey.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-01-15
  8. "AVERAGE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - FCO 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Salary is ok for a grad

    Cons

    cold calling all day with no leads

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2020-01-11
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Helpful, attentive, positive, great, excellent

    Cons

    bad, poor, unclear, strict, hard

    deVere Group2019-11-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Don't be another silly graduate,It's a scam - you've been warned!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is potential to earn money but at the same time you could win a million by purchasing one lotto ticket, they the rations we were talking about. Good sales training

    Cons

    > Never get paid on time or correctly > Long hours > Cut throat environment - literally cannot trust nobody it's scary! > Boiler room type office in both offices I've been in, not sure about the rest.

    Continue reading
    deVere Group2019-11-18
Found 503 reviews