deVere Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

deVere Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 407 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
deVere Group CEO Nigel Green
Nigel Green
295 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learn a lot in a very short period(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hard work and results get rewarded(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not recommended for anyone who is not 100% committed and does not want to work long hours(in 47 reviews)

  • "No work life balance (12 hour days) and the job has little variety(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Hardwork but good if you can stick with it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    offering lots of training and support to help you get qualifcations both for UK and international. work with likeminded people in a good environment have meals out with colleagues and the opportunity to work in a completly different country without being fully fluent in the language.

    Cons

    longer than a typical nine to five job however the longer you work the more you earn. job has a farily high turnover a lot higher in other locations.

    deVere Group2018-08-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fine for a part time role but nothing more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Hospitality in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, confidence building, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Long hours, poor organisation when organising pay, big variation on competency from manager to manager

    Advice to Management

    A better system needs to be in place for organising pay; myself and many others had issues with being underpaid. The venue I worked at could not decide if it wanted to be a 3* hotel or a 5* hotel and failed at both as a result.

    deVere Group2019-03-18
  3. "BDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      Pay opportunity is very attractive

      Cons

      Retainer limits how much you can earn at the start

      deVere Group2019-01-17
    • "Working at Devere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      Intense graduate course very insightful into sales role

      Cons

      Long hours. Little to no help with working visa

      deVere Group2019-02-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Terrible"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      potential for high earnings if willing to stick out the mind numbing days as a BDM

      Cons

      Lies at the interview, all you do is cold call.

      deVere Group2019-02-06
    • Helpful (6)

      "Graduate Scheme is not as they sell it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      Opportunity to make amazing money. They are the best and biggest financial advisory firm. Hard work is rewarded! This job really is not for the faint hearted, you will be expected to work long hours a day but the money I have seen people make is huge!

      Cons

      The graduate role is essentially sales. It was sold to me as a finance role but it really is not. For the first two years you will be cold calling and data mining all day. If you want to do sales this is a fantastic opportunity - it's tax free uncapped commission! But for myself personally I was so disheartened as I wanted to pursuit a career in finance, not sales. Furthermore, as it is in Dubai there are quite a few...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Just be honest about what the graduate job is! So so many people who joined when I did left, as they were mis-sold. People are moving half way across the world, it is only fair to be honest. There will be some great motivated sales-orientated young people out there that want this job and both grads and your time won't be wasted if you get the right people in. Furthermore, the retainer system is really just unacceptable....

      Show More
      deVere Group2019-01-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Trainee Wealth Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      Work hard, play hard environment. The potential for uncapped earnings.

      Cons

      Long hours and the work can be monotonous and unchallenging.

      deVere Group2018-11-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "Amazing job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      working conditions, a lot of money, easy to climb the hierarchy

      Cons

      long hours, no work life balance, unethical somethimes

      Advice to Management

      keep hard working

      deVere Group2018-09-06
    • "Wealth management consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at deVere Group full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Hard work but worth it

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work

      deVere Group2018-07-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "My Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at deVere Group full-time

        Pros

        Travel is a good thing

        Cons

        Salary is quite poor to be honest

        deVere Group2018-08-28
      Found 407 reviews