deVere Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

deVere Group Reviews

Updated 4 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 451 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
deVere Group CEO Nigel Green
Nigel Green
328 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours during training, much more flexible in field(in 47 reviews)

  • "EXTREMELY intense training programme in Malta - in place to prepare you for hard work in the field(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruter 

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Motivated environment great company to work for

    Cons

    There is nothing bad I can say

    deVere Group2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Enjoy working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible times and friendly staff

    Cons

    On call shifts only default things to plan

    deVere Group2019-07-23
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The biggest regret was ever stepping foot in the door."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group

    Pros

    You learn little by about the financial markets and sales.

    Cons

    All negative reviews on here are true. When I looked at them before, I honestly thought that I should really give this company a chance. I left a good paying job for it and it was the biggest mistake ever. They lie to you all the way...you burn through your savings with absolutely no support from the company. I was told that accommodation will at first be provided and I would receive support for the visa. None of... this was true. When in the office, nobody even said hello. It's like, if you pass the 6 month mark you will get acknowledgement.

    Show More
    deVere Group2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Scam, scam, they'll have your pants down mam."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Other than the knowledge you gain of how to scam people, no pros.

    Cons

    The whole company is a lie. Money grabbers. If you are silly enough to work that hard and not get paid, fair play to you. Fill you with promises, delivery about 10% of them.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect.

    deVere Group2019-08-06
  5. "F&B zero hour waiter in restaurant and bar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, average age of staff is 16-25 and discount off other hotels.

    Cons

    Poor management, ruder clientele, late hours regardless of underage and high stress kitchen environment

    deVere Group2019-07-03
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    No pros, only one may be close to home

    Cons

    Senior management from another planet. No concern for employees. Lots of lies, promises unkept, leaving soon.

    deVere Group2019-06-19
  7. Helpful (28)

    "PLEASE DO NOT FALL FOR IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    No pros - This is a SCAM

    Cons

    They sell you a dream - send fake contracts and offer letters that are signed by the director - the webinar you watch is pre recorded - they run the 6 week training courses all year round and use them to lead generate for the permanent members of staff - data mining - cold calls - they make you feel like if you don't like it that YOU have failed this is not the case - staff turnover average of 3 months - terrible... how they have gotten away with it for so long

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Well done for being the best con men about

    deVere Group2019-05-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Fine for a part time role but nothing more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff/Hospitality in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at deVere Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, confidence building, friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Long hours, poor organisation when organising pay, big variation on competency from manager to manager

    Advice to Management

    A better system needs to be in place for organising pay; myself and many others had issues with being underpaid. The venue I worked at could not decide if it wanted to be a 3* hotel or a 5* hotel and failed at both as a result.

    deVere Group2019-03-18
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Graduate Scheme is not as they sell it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to make amazing money. They are the best and biggest financial advisory firm. Hard work is rewarded! This job really is not for the faint hearted, you will be expected to work long hours a day but the money I have seen people make is huge!

    Cons

    The graduate role is essentially sales. It was sold to me as a finance role but it really is not. For the first two years you will be cold calling and data mining all day. If you want to do sales this is a fantastic opportunity - it's tax free uncapped commission! But for myself personally I was so disheartened as I wanted to pursuit a career in finance, not sales. Furthermore, as it is in Dubai there are quite a... few things that happen that just would not happen in the UK due to legal reasons. So it's a bit dogey in that regard. The retainer system - you do not have a proper salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just be honest about what the graduate job is! So so many people who joined when I did left, as they were mis-sold. People are moving half way across the world, it is only fair to be honest. There will be some great motivated sales-orientated young people out there that want this job and both grads and your time won't be wasted if you get the right people in. Furthermore, the retainer system is really just... unacceptable. More people would stay if you provided a wage and then commission on top. I find the retainer system so disheartening and un-motivating. Lastly, there is no need for the people running the training course to speak to the trainees like dogs during the training period. We are successful graduates who want to do well, not criminals! There is a big different between being strict and being rude/nasty.

    Show More
    deVere Group2019-01-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "BDM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at deVere Group full-time

    Pros

    Pay opportunity is very attractive

    Cons

    Retainer limits how much you can earn at the start

    deVere Group2019-01-17
Found 451 reviews