hVIVO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

hVIVO Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
26%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
hVIVO CEO Kym Denny
Kym Denny
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some really good people to work with(in 7 reviews)

  • "We are lucky that we have an opportunity to make a difference to the world with what we do" (in 4 reviews)(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor senior management - no clear business strategy or direction for staff(in 15 reviews)

  • "About every 6 months there is a restructure(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Don't believe the negative nonsense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clinical in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hVIVO

    Pros

    Pioneering and passionate in pursuit of new breakthroughs to cure asthma flu and Zika Teams working really hard and recent efforts to Improve communication good. Pizza day last week was a nice thank you touch Some good new leaders joining Hpurs good

    Cons

    The Exec are working hard to communicate I work in hsite and My department head and the managers need to do more to communicate and update the team and create some fun alongside the hard work

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers. Carry on with recent changes in communication More and better communication updates from my manager and leader

    hVIVO2016-09-14
  2. "Needs massive improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lack of leadership in all areas

    Cons

    London site, easy to get to

    hVIVO2019-11-15
  3. "My opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSS in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hVIVO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    None that know of

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your staff and rewards excellent service

    hVIVO2019-10-13
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Group Financial Controller 

    I have been working at hVIVO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people across the group

    Cons

    Poor management and unclear direction

    hVIVO2019-07-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "a sham within a shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There used to be some. Like the people you worked with. But that has changed over the years as more and more people leave or get made redundant.

    Cons

    Despite the change in management, its still the same mess. There are too many people are are playing games and not focusing on what is good for the business. There are people who have roles in the company who seem untouchable - despite no one knowing what some of them do. Its a bit of a boys clubs, where if you are big and loud enough you'll get left alone to do whatever you like. People abuse working from home... because no one checks on what they do (they really should just check social media) The place is a shambles and there are people who are abusing their position and putting the people and teams who rely on them at risk by not doing the basics.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your offices and sit amongst it. see for yourselves. Stop listening to consultants and managers who are just hiding the truth or having to fight tooth and nail to stay afloat and be hands on and see how bad it really is. Ask where people are and where they go and what they do, make working from home something that is no longer an option until people prove they can be trusted.

    hVIVO2019-07-10
  6. "company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Whitechapel, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some really good people to work with Pioneering and passionate in pursuit of new breakthroughs to cure asthma flu and Zika Teams working really hard and recent efforts to" (in 4 reviews) "We are lucky that we have an opportunity to make a difference to the world with what we do" (in 4 reviews)

    Cons

    Poor management, no career progression, greedy executives who show no remorse when laying off multiple people whilst recieving enormous bonuses

    hVIVO2019-06-06
  7. "Glassdoor out of date - Kym Denny was left the Company suddenly 2 years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues to work but slowly dwinding. Location of office is convenient.

    Cons

    Poor senior management - no clear business strategy or direction for staff

    hVIVO2019-05-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Pioneering company in search of sustainable and long-term planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in London, England

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pioneering culture, people skills, valuable research, company mission

    Cons

    Egos of line managers, long-term planning, unclear decision making at board level

    hVIVO2019-04-02
  9. "Great people, hopefully more focused now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time

    Pros

    The people working at hVIVO are it's greatest asset. Friendly, very helpful and have a lot of knowledge. The challenge model it runs is extremely interesting to work on, there's some interesting science going on. New direction of the company and changes over the past year seem to be for the better and hopefully the company finds it's feet.

    Cons

    Miss-management in the past meant constant changes in direction that hindered any real progress. Management were not listening to people doing the work. Hopefully this will be better under new management (seemed positive before I left). The company would do better with more permanent staff rather than using bank staff - not enough experience retained at junior levels.

    hVIVO2019-02-11
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Handing in my over due resignation.

    Cons

    Pretty much everything. You can come in and do your job, work hard and bend over backwards, but you will still not be enough.

    hVIVO2018-08-11
Found 76 reviews