hVIVO Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

hVIVO Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
hVIVO CEO Kym Denny
Kym Denny
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some really good people to work with(in 6 reviews)

  • "The people - Hard working intelligent, experienced staff(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor senior management - no clear business strategy or direction for staff(in 17 reviews)

  • "About every 6 months there is a restructure(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Don't believe the negative nonsense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at hVIVO

    Pros

    Pioneering and passionate in pursuit of new breakthroughs to cure asthma flu and Zika Teams working really hard and recent efforts to Improve communication good. Pizza day last week was a nice thank you touch Some good new leaders joining Hpurs good

    Cons

    The Exec are working hard to communicate I work in hsite and My department head and the managers need to do more to communicate and update the team and create some fun alongside the hard work

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers. Carry on with recent changes in communication More and better communication updates from my manager and leader

    hVIVO2016-09-14

    hVIVO Response

    February 7, 2017Director of Marketing, Communication and Public Relations

    Thanks for your comments. It is a vibrant and energetic working environment in the main, and of course exciting when working on pioneering new breakthroughs for global disease threats. Appreciate that you have noticed our efforts to increase and improve communications, and glad you ...

    Show More
  2. "company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Whitechapel, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at hVIVO full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some really good people to work with Pioneering and passionate in pursuit of new breakthroughs to cure asthma flu and Zika Teams working really hard and recent efforts to" (in 4 reviews) "We are lucky that we have an opportunity to make a difference to the world with what we do" (in 4 reviews)

    Cons

    Poor management, no career progression, greedy executives who show no remorse when laying off multiple people whilst recieving enormous bonuses

    hVIVO2019-06-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pioneering company in search of sustainable and long-term planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in London, England

      I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pioneering culture, people skills, valuable research, company mission

      Cons

      Egos of line managers, long-term planning, unclear decision making at board level

      hVIVO2019-04-02
    • "Glassdoor out of date - Kym Denny was left the Company suddenly 2 years ago"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Good colleagues to work but slowly dwinding. Location of office is convenient.

      Cons

      Poor senior management - no clear business strategy or direction for staff

      hVIVO2019-05-04
    • "Great people, hopefully more focused now"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at hVIVO full-time

      Pros

      The people working at hVIVO are it's greatest asset. Friendly, very helpful and have a lot of knowledge. The challenge model it runs is extremely interesting to work on, there's some interesting science going on. New direction of the company and changes over the past year seem to be for the better and hopefully the company finds it's feet.

      Cons

      Miss-management in the past meant constant changes in direction that hindered any real progress. Management were not listening to people doing the work. Hopefully this will be better under new management (seemed positive before I left). The company would do better with more permanent staff rather than using bank staff - not enough experience retained at junior levels.

      hVIVO2019-02-11
    • Helpful (9)

      "Avoid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Handing in my over due resignation.

      Cons

      Pretty much everything. You can come in and do your job, work hard and bend over backwards, but you will still not be enough.

      hVIVO2018-08-11
    • "Lab Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at hVIVO

      Pros

      Innovative, Research, client service, laboratories

      Cons

      No much inner research, but treatment of samples for external clients

      hVIVO2017-12-20
    • Helpful (14)

      "AVOID AVOID AVOID"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Grafter in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at hVIVO full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relatively near a big Sainsbury's so useful for shopping.

      Cons

      I hope there isn't a word count for this. Where to start? I was sold on the innovative, friendly, pioneering company that was described to me in my interview 2 years prior to me leaving what can only be described as a sinking ship. I was lucky enough to work with some really excellent individuals, some of whom actually knew what they were doing. The vast majority of staff arrived at work in the morning wondering what...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      STOP LYING!!!!

      hVIVO2017-11-13
    • Helpful (8)

      "A croc of s##t"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at hVIVO full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        None, unless you got a catered meeting.

        Cons

        A hole of hell, no senior manager has the balls to say what's wrong. Redundancy after redundancy, then use bank staff to make up the numbers. Any company that is brave enough to place a clinical trial here needs to instal their QA on site for the whole trial, corners cut everywhere. How they get through MHRA inspections is beyond me.

        Advice to Management

        Give up, you are crap

        hVIVO2017-11-15
      • Helpful (5)

        "Plain bad"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at hVIVO

        Pros

        Central, free coffee, nice offices

        Cons

        Bad management, no career progression

        Advice to Management

        Resign

        hVIVO2017-11-17
      Found 72 reviews