BGL Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

BGL Group Reviews

Updated 18 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
BGL Group CEO Matthew Donaldson
Matthew Donaldson
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic 5 weeks training, free at desk massages, great benefits like life insuranc, loads of perks etc etc free fruit(in 21 reviews)

  • "Care about employees, great benefits(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is even a floor at head office reserved solely for senior management and specially invited guests(in 17 reviews)

  • "This is mainly seen in their Peterborough HQ where there is a hierarchical presence and a worrying lack of diversity(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Excellent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, can make a difference, excellent working environment

    Cons

    Full on and not for the faint hearted

    BGL Group2019-07-18
  2. "Offering a different perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Over recent years BGL has changed considerably and continues to do so. Some of the things listed as negatives on here, such as a floor reserved for executives and so on, simply don't exist any more. I was moved to write a review having read a recent review about 'management' not being sympathetic to illness. I don't think I've ever seen an organisation care more when people are in trouble. I speak from personal... experience. Around three years ago I suffered a breakdown and was supported throughout and on my return by my direct line manager and the wider organisation, including the CEO. Before this becomes a status thing, I wasn't a director then! I was supported back and have come a long way in the last few years. I've also seen many examples of the organisation pulling out the stops when it comes to helping people through difficult times. Of course, everyone's story is different but I felt strongly enough to offer some balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not necessarily a 'con' but the organisation is very fast paced and you need to be comfortable with that to work here. But if you are, the opportunities for development and progression are significant

    BGL Group2019-09-02
  3. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible helpful managers Free breakfast Great environment

    Cons

    Adherence system increase shift allowance for weekend

    BGL Group2019-10-18
  4. "Great atmosphere with ambitious plans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, always looking to improve the ways of working and investing in technology and people

    Cons

    Depending on what department you work for, the work and atmosphere can change drastically so be wary when applying to understand exactly what department you are applying to and probe their ways of working. If you work in the Comparethemarket.com arm of the business, you will experience the best of the BGL group

    Advice to Management

    You've proven that taking risk with tech works in comparethemarket.com, use that confidence and take the right risks with the other departments to move away from the legacy applications to move the business forwards.

    BGL Group2019-10-04
  5. "Good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time

    Pros

    Good place to start your career

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for advancement

    BGL Group2019-10-16
  6. "stricter than capita"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Wakefield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free fruit and tea and coffee decent chairs

    Cons

    worked for this place for 9 months and well this place is stressful manager are awful look at you in bad way and its even stricter than capita

    Advice to Management

    stop being miserable and depressed smile more at work

    BGL Group2019-10-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Hours okay free breakfast on a weekend

    Cons

    Puts the customer first before the staff, no benefits or discounts. If your face doesn't fit you'll NOT go far in this place

    Advice to Management

    Get on the phones and see what the advisor/s have to deal with on a daily basis.

    BGL Group2019-10-07
  8. "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, good office environment, relatively modern tech stack

    Cons

    Too political, bad middle management, not clear career paths, slow adoption of new technologies

    BGL Group2019-09-07
  9. "Web Dev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free fruit - Yealy family event

    Cons

    - Progressing people who do not have the skills

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on employee

    BGL Group2019-09-07
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGL Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of career progression and fab reward and benefits

    Cons

    none to mention I enjoyed my time there

    BGL Group2019-07-22
Found 184 reviews