Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 19 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Jonathan Gardner
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very good hours and wage, chances to progress and plenty of opportunities, staff discount good(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company discount is good and can be used with offers in Boots stores(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredibly friendly. Customers are at the forefront of the buisness."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contact Lens Optician in Exeter, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Salary is good. Colleagues are amazing. Systems are easy the use. Great choice of own brand and branded frames and lenses. Good management team. Good discount and benefits. All expenses and fees paid for.

    Cons

    Still on paper records which can be hard to interpret

    Advice to Management

    Keep going! You doing everything right!

    Boots Opticians2019-06-16
  2. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Egham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing support from Area manager.

    Cons

    No Christmas bonus if your a store manager.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-17
  3. "Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount and great access to products

    Cons

    Late hours, weekends and bank holidays

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate staff

    Boots Opticians2019-06-05
  4. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

      I worked at Boots Opticians full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Easy job when you get the hang of it Good pay (£8.50 per hour) Talk to customers/patients on a daily basis Good phone experience and customer service experience

      Cons

      Can get fast paced No real training (learn on the job) Management can be awful

      Boots Opticians2019-06-19
    • "A shadow of it's former self"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Fantastic work force in every store, every day is different, less sales driven than other competitors, good trainee program.

      Cons

      Walgreens took over halfway through this period and they've turned what was a health based company that focused on promoting it's own staff, to a understaffed, overworked hell hole, that employs managers externally who are unfit for the role. Overworking/understaffing means no time to train newcomers, high staff turnover, not enough people per customer, horendous, border-line illegal paper based filing system, opticians...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Start promoting internally again, people who actually know how Boots is run and it's core values, or at least what were it's values.

      Boots Opticians2019-06-16
    • "Used to be FANTASTIC, now the leadership has disintigrated."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Practice Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Excellent pay for experienced people including clinicians. Good holiday times and allowance. A passion for customer service in a lot of people.

      Cons

      I was no longer invited to management interviews whilst pregnant. I was strongly discouraged to return to a management role when I returned from maternity. I had worked my way into management over many many years, yet as soon as I took time away for maternity I was treated appallingly.

      Advice to Management

      Focus on speaking directly to your PM's, not just listen to the RM's and what they want you to see. Spend time in your stores, listen and watch what your customers and staff actually want.

      Boots Opticians2019-06-13
    • "Medium to dreadful"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Uxbridge, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Regular hours, 5 days working week, Sunday was a day-off, good team members, training provided, staff discounts.

      Cons

      Incompetent management, harassment, no salary rise, no bonuses, once people started resigning - no help or support provided.

      Advice to Management

      Start hiring competent people, who do not only think of profit figures.

      Boots Opticians2019-06-12
    • "Good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Discount (if you wear glasses)

        Cons

        Some Head office call centre staff can be poor

        Boots Opticians2019-05-20

        Boots Opticians Response

        May 29, 2019Digital Attraction Assistant Manager

        Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us. Wishing you the best of luck for your future.

      • "They will lie to you"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Optical Consultant in Leeds, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The team you're with are usually good. Shop floor staff are generally friendly and easy to get along with. Pay is ok.

        Cons

        Management. They are very untrustworthy. They refused to put up my pay after completing my course and being signed off on everything. They then cited a conversation that never happened and said I was quite happy with that. Be prepared to be sent to other stores with no notice. Don't complain though, you'll be threatened with losing your job. All in all, management are toxic, ruthless and will do anything to hit budget....

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Stop being so evil

        Boots Opticians2019-05-28
      • "Very reluctant to provide training"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant in Watford, East of England, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Boots Opticians part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Staff Discounts are very good.

        Cons

        Very reluctant to provide training ( I received none despite asking multiple times) Everything is done on paper, which makes finding record cards and organising clinics a nightmare. No organisation within the company, head office is incredibly slow at sorting any issues regarding pay or references.

        Advice to Management

        Provide staff with adequate training.

        Boots Opticians2019-06-18
      Found 157 reviews