Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
32%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians Managing Director James Arrow  (no image)
James Arrow
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount and great access to products(in 18 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    Great Workplace. good benefits. rewarding job

    Cons

    None, as i enjoyed all aspects of the job. Suppose the only thing was progression within was difficult.

    Boots Opticians2020-02-19
  2. "Excellent staff training and team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy training programme and room to progress in dispensing.

    Cons

    Limited ability for management positions and head office roles.

    Boots Opticians2020-02-08
  3. "Optical Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Optical Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boots Opticians

    Pros

    1.Work colleges! If you get a store with lovely people 2.Some customers you build up a good relationship with 3. Easy once you know what you are doing 4. Was close to where I lived 5. My second store I ended up was more flexible than my previous store if I needed a doctors appointment etc 6. Management did help when it came trying to move up the ladder a bit more and were supportive when I needed to have interviews carried out 7. Did help me gain valuable skills that I need in any work place and generally has rounded me a as person and because I am young I think it was a good place to start to mould be into a good worker/college - will always be thankful for that. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the job.

    Cons

    1.Very underpaid for the job you have to do and the responsibility you have 2. Little to no progression at all 3.One rule for you but different rules for others regarding sickness absences etc 4. Can be extremely stressful when busy due to being understaffed constantly 5. the system you use is very slow and makes it difficult to actually do your job 6. Won’t protect you but would push you out if anything happened such as long term sick or a mistake 7. Some staff were very lazy and nothing was ever done even when experiencing my concern numerous times 8. Some customers can seriously be extremely rude more so in this job than any other I have had 9. Management seem to ‘disappear’ and sit in the office when you need them the most 10. Seem to try and undercut you on pay sometimes when working bank holidays and Sundays 11. Sometimes difficult to put in holidays if you don’t get in earlier enough 12. Make you feel guilty for having a sick day when you are genuinely ill 13. Management ‘forgot’ to process my expenses 14. Perks/benefits are gradually getting worse 15. Sometimes management would seem to try and pull the wool over customers eyes but I couldn’t do anything about it 16. Very money focused, daily targets and weekly targets which I totally Understand but for something you think would be clinical it’s very very money driven 17. Don’t generally get any thanks for doing something extra or any recognition at all yet very quick to pull you up on little mistakes and you feel bad for it 18. Constant staff surveys on how we feel which is good BUT nothing gets done ever about the feedback they receive. 19 I personally didn’t like the uniform. 20. Need more support for career progression from the get go. And general support for mental health. 21. Will ask you to go to others stores that are more than an hours drive away if they need extra staff, of course you can decline but I had to eventually go and do my bit

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-02-09
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Optical Consultant 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    Part time contracts, flexible

    Cons

    Need of trained personnel

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2020-02-05
  5. "An interesting experience ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optometrist in Barnsley, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great marketing, fantastic team training

    Cons

    High pressure sales tactics. The job didn’t live up to the job offer - tried to underpay me, cheat me out of holidays, get me to work unpaid overtime. When I pointed out the contract they relented after a lot of discussion!

    Boots Opticians2020-01-30
  6. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Sometimes can be busy, sometimes it’s dead

    Boots Opticians2020-01-08
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, lots of hours available

    Cons

    High turn over of staff

    Boots Opticians2020-01-03
  8. "It's Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optician Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good customers was the best part of my day

    Cons

    Very hard to get instructions for daily work Had to ask for training constantly as put into roles with little to no experience

    Boots Opticians2020-01-03
  9. "Good job but very underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Bedford, England

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent environment, easy job.

    Cons

    Hourly pay less than supermarket workers. Progression is there but very scarce

    Boots Opticians2019-12-07
  10. "Lovely people, but pay is always wrong and management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optician in Exeter, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally lovely people to work with. A good laugh and makes the day go quick.

    Cons

    Salary paid always seems to be wrong each month as well as expenses taking over a month to be paid! Recent change in management structure means lots of store staff got demoted and loss of confidence in being able to progress within the company.

    Continue reading
    Boots Opticians2019-12-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 189 reviews