Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Boots Opticians CEO Jonathan Gardner (no image)
Jonathan Gardner
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Staff discount and great access to products(in 18 reviews)

  • "good pay, good maternity leave time(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "You don’t even get a minute to breathe you’re that rushed off your feet because of being short staffed(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Boots opticians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    very informative, excellent opportunity to work on interpersonal skills, organisation and sales.

    Cons

    limited opportunity for upward growth.

    Boots Opticians2019-05-11

    Boots Opticians Response

    May 29, 2019Digital Attraction Assistant Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us. Wishing you the best of luck for your future.

  2. "Good training opportunities and good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    • good salary • thorough training

    Cons

    • varying shifts • no set days

    Boots Opticians2019-10-09
  3. "Haksn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time

    Pros

    The team i worked with

    Cons

    management never had time for team

    Boots Opticians2019-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispensing Optician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to study and progress

    Cons

    Bad upper management, treat staff as statistics and will move people about to what ever suits them

    Boots Opticians2019-09-18
  5. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Semi flexible hours, good variety of lenses to sell

    Cons

    Management is resistant to change.

    Boots Opticians2019-09-18
  6. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good perks, no work pressure

    Cons

    Salary, bonus, uniform, flexibility, no incentive

    Boots Opticians2019-09-08
  7. "good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    lovely staff great communication and support

    Cons

    a lot of information to learn

    Boots Opticians2019-09-06
  8. "If you fit in with BOL you will love working here, if you don't then you may not stay for long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Dispensing Optician in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company discounts are strong. Accommodating with hours if required. Family feeling within the store.

    Cons

    Dated systems. Feels behind the times compared with other high street opticians. If you do not work at fitting in with the company you may feel like an outsider.

    Advice to Management

    Regular feedback with constructive criticism is good to have, this is not done enough. If we had a paperless system the amount of staff required to fill paper records would be free to serve patients. Although there are plans in place to change this they are moving too slowly and we have fallen behind our competitors. The idea of building our own computerised database is good but in my opinion it has not worked and... we should outsource this to an existing provider with a proven system. There is a feel of if you do not think like BOL then you will not progress, no matter how good your ideas are to improve the store or company. There are good people who work here but I have stopped believing in the companies values.

    Show More
    Boots Opticians2019-09-06
  9. "The worst job I have ever had...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is not too bad, free uniform

    Cons

    Short staffed, lack of communication within management, lack of respect in the workplace

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, check in on your current staff from time to time and listen to what they have to say. Communicate with other managers in store to ensure staff are being given clear messages. Don't tell staff who are sick that they need to come in to work because you are short, it is not acceptable.

    Boots Opticians2019-10-10
  10. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues Clean environment Easy access

    Cons

    There was nothing negative about working here

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Boots Opticians2019-08-05
Found 170 reviews