Capita Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Capita CEO Jon Lewis
Jon Lewis
1,046 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, excellent staff and great place for them who want to gain some quality experience in BPM field(in 168 reviews)

  • "very nice organization, with nice work environment(in 163 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior Management often detached from junior staff(in 106 reviews)

  • "No direct career progression or support(in 89 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Company led by purpose and values with good career opportunites

      20 May 2020 - Senior Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Purpose led organisation with strong exceutive leadership

      Cons

      Change fatigue in the organisation as a result of ongoing transformation

      4 people found this review helpful

      Capita Response

      Employer Brand Manager

      Hi, many thanks for taking the time to leave the review. Really pleased you've picked up on the purpose-led aspect of what we are trying to achieve. It's really important that is recognised. Thanks again! Matt.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great company

      8 Apr 2021 - Principal Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great team to work with, procurement consulting management team good support and learning opportunities

      Cons

      too fast pace sometimes, too quick change of clients, depends on individual expectations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Demanding, frenetic pace - but unparalleled resources and genuine professional satisfaction

      24 Mar 2021 - Technical Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent model that is very candidate friendly, offering top tier client placement, career progression, and annual bonus incentives. Attracting and retaining talent becomes much easier when you can deliver on both their immediate and longer term career goals, which in turn inspires confidence within client base of consistent delivery of quality candidates within a short timeframe. Tools and resources to identifying, attracting, and contacting talent is also unparalleled across any previous organisation I have worked under (which include a number of market leaders in both 360 Recruitment and RPO), with no expense spared to enable the Recruitment teams to thrive, and provide consistent delivery across a range of public and private sector clients, from junior to senior levels, and a plethora of talent skillsets and knowledge.

      Cons

      Communication chain from the Resourcing frontline to decision making stakeholders on client side can become convoluted on occasion, though improves substantially as client familiarity with the model increases over repeated campaigns

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job and a way to develop certain skills

      11 May 2021 - Banking Advisor in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at capita was a great experience and gave me a chance to develop my interpersonal skills with a wide range of customers.

      Cons

      One of the downsides was having to isolate yourself for long hours and a have your soul slowly drained from your body.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Please avoid

      30 Mar 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      made great friends who shared equal frustrations with the company

      Cons

      They forced our group to sign a statement that changed our contract after we had already signed it, asking us to agree to a lower salary after taking the job with the salary stated in the contract. They like to solve issues through personal texts and calling so we can’t log anything they say to cover our own backs - Management are very manipulative. 19 people left out of the 21 people in my training group within 6 weeks. If you have not experienced anxiety before, trust me you will every day of your shifts. They avoided sending contracts for a while, they lied about working hours. I was told I would be given an early shift but to then find out FOUR weeks of working for the company they gave us all 2pm - 10pm FYI they are struggling to fill those slots so if you do receive an offer you will get those hours or similar. They will mention a wish list.... it’d called a wish list for a reason. They did so many things wrong and unprofessional but I hopefully i’ve said enough to persuade you to avoid this job. honestly, you are absolutely disgusting and I wish I had taken other jobs I was offered at the time. Complete waste of time, I’m still trying to solve an issue from weeks ago that they avoid addressing unless over texts or a private phone call. disgustingly unprofessional and dodgy.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Positive change but still a long way to go!

      13 May 2021 - 71, 500 in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good teamwork ethic and good employee benefits.

      Cons

      The change John Lewis is making is having a positive affect but it is missing the reality on the ground.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall a good experience

      11 May 2021 - Software Specialist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Reasonable workload, good people, plenty of opportunity if you look for it

      Cons

      Can be regimented in approach, no scope to go off process

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company

      9 May 2021 - Sales Agent in Bury, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good facilities as well as a canteen. Free secure parking and local shops too.

      Cons

      While I was there, they expected more and more constantly changing their vision of what we should be doing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyed it for the most part, so glad I moved on though.

      3 Mar 2021 - Recruiter in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most people are great, all suffering together which forms comraderie(main reason I stayed for so long). I quite liked the way Capita Desktop was organised for payslips, holiday booking etc. Generally speaking, people I know who have left Capita have all thrived in their next roles so I guess you could say Capita gives you a base to start your career from...

      Cons

      Being put "at risk" of redundancy 4 times in 3 years Awful systems and technology - really really bad! ZERO opportunities for progression for 99% of people, but seemingly tonnes of opportunities for people who suck up Most management are nice people(a little incompetent), a small minority are unpleasant and borderline bullies. Terrible salary(admin circa 16-18k/Recruiter roles - £21-23k/TL roles - £26-30k - to the best of my knowledge).

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent

      11 May 2021 - Bid Support Administrator in Hednesford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home (laptop supplied)

      Cons

      Pretty niche job hard to grasp at first

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,876 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Capita Job Seekers

    Disability Assessor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Capita? Share Your Experiences

    Capita logo
    or