Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Reviews

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2267 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours but can be rewarding(in 418 reviews)

  • "Only con is that it can sometimes be long working hours however you find that you are so busy you need them(in 125 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Recruitment Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Initial and on-going training, access to the best resources, investment in people and technology, clear and set promotion targets

    Cons

    I have worked here for 5 years and other than the normal pressures of working recruitment this is by far the best agency I have worked for.

    Hays2019-07-15
  2. "Fantastic culture and numerous career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Human Resources Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with Hays for 5 years having started as a trainee with no recruitment experience. Upon joining I experienced industry leading training to help develop my recruitment skills to become one of the top performing Associates in the region. Everyone wants you to succeed and are always on hand to advise and coach. Since joining I've had 5 promotions which shows how quickly you can advance your career.

    Cons

    A role in recruitment is challenging however because of this it is extremely rewarding. Hours often are long however you get out what you put in.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain the high performance culture as I believe this is what sets Hays apart from our competitors.

    Hays2019-07-15
  3. "Challenging and Varied Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    No day is the same. If you are a target driven, people person this is a great place to work. Constantly challenged and encouraged to improve. Career focused and can keen to develop people. Varied career paths to choose from. Able to change direction and work on new projects.

    Cons

    Basic salaries are low and you need to make a lot in commission to maintain a standard lifestyle. Some months can be tight and this can cause stress and anxiety. Success is not always celebrated equally.

    Hays2019-07-15
  4. "Collaborative, respectful and diverse place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Operations Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Career development is well supported. Great collaboration, not only amongst peers but within all levels. Strong communication on business objectives. Flexible working opportunities. Diverse workforce across all areas of the busiess. Opportunity to maximise on career aspirations, not just locally, but Globally.

    Cons

    Benefits, although they have improved over the years, they are still not as competitive as similar organisations. Working hard can be taken for granted and not always naturally recognised.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the operational staff, specfically those that have day to day interaction with our clients.

    Hays2019-07-15
  5. "Good people, great culture, clear and defined career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Focused and entrepreneurial environment with a really good management team. Targets are clear and the career progression is road mapped well. Great earning potential also.

    Cons

    Big business so some decisions can be slow.

    Hays2019-07-12
  6. "Great culture, learnt a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and development

    Cons

    Low salary to survive on in London

    Hays2019-07-09
  7. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have recently started working for Hays and in the short time here everything has been fantastic. I have been made very welcome by everyone and the way the staff are treated is second to none. The training also is first class they really do invest a lot of time into training and it is one of the reasons Hays is no.1 specialist recruiter.

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Hays2019-07-08
  8. "Rewarding Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are looking for a rewarding career and willing to work hard then consider Hays. There is opportunity to make a lot of money through the uncapped commission scheme. There are a lot of incentives, awards, trips, parties so if you are a sociable person then you would fit in really well. The training is very thorough and really helps you through your associate journey. There are a lot of opportunities for progression...

    Show More

    Cons

    It can be quite overwhelming at first, and there is pressure to reach call targets etc so if you don't like working towards targets then you would probably struggle in this role. The hours can be long

    Advice to Management

    Support associates as much as possible through their induction

    Hays2019-07-03
  9. "Fantastic and dedicated training program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very customer focussed. They treat staff members with respect and you feel like family when you join. Very flexible and really do live up to their reputation.

    Cons

    Can be stressful work at time but, that's generally across recruitment

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing

    Hays2019-07-02
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employer, full of opportunities. It is up to you how your carrier develops and how far you go. There is endless support to guide you and help you on the way as well.

    Cons

    It is a large corporate so if you are one for a small boutique environment it might not be for you.

    Hays2019-07-01
Found 2267 reviews