Hays Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hays Reviews

Updated 15 January 2019
1,986 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,081 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours but is industry standard" (in 386 reviews)

  • "Work life balance , but thats more the industry you have to work hard but get rewarded for it" (in 111 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great level of exposure for a placement year

    Cons

    Not paid any commission despite responsibilities being those of a full fee billing recruitment consultant

    Advice to Management

    Try to understand the reasons as to why consultants billings are low

    Hays Response

    15 Jan 2019 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your review!


  2. "A big global company that it actually going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Global company with lots of opportunities around the world
    Talented leadership team that are willing to listen and change- very inspiring
    Best in the industry for training, and this isn't limited to operations

    Cons

    The main business incentives, training, career structure, career opportunities and support is so good support working in support you can feel like wow I want that and it's not quite there yet- but that is changing.
    The hours are long... and not consistent. Some of us work the long hours the business do and others do not, would be interesting to know if there is a pay difference between those in support that work the core hours and those that don't.

    Advice to Management

    You've made a great start but keep investing in the flexible working and support teams- our brand deserves to be THE name in what we do.

    Hays Response

    15 Jan 2019 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review!

  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Control Team Leader in New Malden, England
    Current Employee - Credit Control Team Leader in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Social atmosphere, great people

    Cons

    Very target driven and pressured

    Hays Response

    15 Jan 2019 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your review.


  4. "Hays review - London Cheapside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Rec Con in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Rec Con in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great career progression
    Good culture amongst teams - very social and always something going on
    Best training you can get within recruitment

    Cons

    Its not an easy job - more about recruitment than Hays
    Work life balance , but thats more the industry you have to work hard but get rewarded for it.


  5. "Good job, but archaic approach fo work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter
    Current Employee - Recruiter
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent training, supportive staff, really good environment to start in. Good leadership and I would say that this could be a lifelong career for myself.

    Cons

    Working hours are industry standard, but that does not mean industry standard is the right way to go. All associates seem to experience burn out at some point and there is little support or willingness to combat this problem. The hours discourage efficiency and make work harder than it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Review your working hours and productivity, its 2019. However, everything else is fantastic.

    Hays Response

    14 Jan 2019 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your insight.


  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    very good company to work

    Cons

    n/a for this company now


  7. "Life at Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Size of firm, range of roles, defined career paths, defined promotion criteria

    Cons

    Fixed routine/way of working, quality of working environment

  8. "Recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Great place to work overall

    Cons

    Long Hours but is industry standard

    Hays Response

    20 Dec 2018 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your review.


  9. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Training, on-going development, progression, career, rewarding, exciting, every day is different, part of the family

    Cons

    None, absolutely superb company to be working for!

    Hays Response

    20 Dec 2018 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Brilliant Company with a Heavy Sales Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I started a little over a year ago, with one of the highest performing teams in the UK, working with some really impressive consultants and managers. During my time here; I have been promoted twice, and been put on the Rising Stars programme, aimed at future leaders. All of this has really enabled my growth both personally and professionally.

    I am starting to take on more leadership within the business, as I am being encouraged to help the 2 new starters into the team, from a supervisory perspective. Knowing my manager is there to be the ultimate go-to for everything takes some of the pressure off, so I can still focus on billing whilst gradually getting more exposure to management.

    Cons

    There is a strong sales culture, which is good as it drives performance, but can sometimes get on top of you - and in these situations it is then difficult to utilise the management structure to discuss these difficulties, so very much not for the feint-hearted.

    Advice to Management

    Make mental health and well being pathways more clearly signposted, ideally away from direct management to have a 3rd party to speak with.

    Hays Response

    20 Dec 2018 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5 star review it is great to hear that you are having a fantastic career at Hays. With regard to mental health we have a direct line you can call with free advice and guidance I... More