Hiscox Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 610 of over 705 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Hiscox Group CEOs Bronislaw Edmund Masojada and Aki Hussain
Bronislaw Edmund Masojada and Aki Hussain
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "I was very proud to work for Hiscox(in 83 reviews)

  • "Excellent Trainings, good work life balance(in 56 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing and I've been working for Hiscox for 2 years(in 50 reviews)

  • "senior management do not live the values(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Best insurance company I’ve worked for. A place I feel I could stay for many years

      Jun 16, 2022 - Claims Operations in York, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Hiscox 7 months ago and am really enjoying it. The culture is one that is friendly and accepting. While lots is expected I don’t feel excessive pressure from management. Hybrid working - set by the teams giving.lots of flexibility. I feel Hiscox has got the balance right given us all ownership of our own time. I go into the office 2 days a week meaning I can balance childcare commitment. There has been a lot of work on benefits since joining I have been given two Hiscox days to add to my 25 days AL and also shares in the company. I thought the benefits were good prior to this. You get a Christmas hamper each year, which I am looking forward to getting. York office is an inspiring place to work and has a brilliant cafe (only £3.50 for a main)

      Cons

      No major downsides that I wouldn’t expect at a company of similar sizes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A company that values humans while striving to excellent

      Jun 20, 2022 - Compliance Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smaller size allows for greater impact of your role and direct access to top management. You have the opportunity to be involved in many different projects. Agile company with faster decision making and more transparent processes than bigger houses. International footprint with a multi cultural workforce. You are an individual with a name, as opposed to an employee with an id number. It is a great place for a young professional as there are numerous opportunities to learn.

      Cons

      Smaller company means also less resources and not sophisticated tools, systems and processes. We are very much dependent on individuals and in the absence or departure of individuals continuity is not always easy. Multi-tasking and blurring the lines (1st and 2nd) cannot be avoided, hence creating a sense of informality and lack of good governance. Annual leave benefits are not sufficient to maintain a healthy balance and allow for workforce to take some legal time out to recharge and return stronger. Mutli-tasking, insufficient resources (human and tools) leads to burn out or excess stress.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for.

      Jun 16, 2022 - Solutions Architect in York, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good working environment, full of enthusiastic and capable people. - Competitive salary package and a new CEO who is keen to improve things further. - Excellent work-life balance. - Generous training opportunities.

      Cons

      - A little lean on resources in certain areas of the business.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great benefits package

      Jun 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sabbatical for every 5 yrs service Good balance of hybrid working Treated like an individual

      Cons

      Salary scale for the same role

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing culture and work-life balance

      May 30, 2022 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - flexibility, -benefits, - autonomy, - direct impact in the business - international projection

      Cons

      - workload - turnover - a lot of work for 35h schedule

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great opportunities

      May 24, 2022 - Senior Insight Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities to grow, move around. Relaxed team

      Cons

      Difficult to shift to new roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      May 24, 2022 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great training Good product Good proposition Staff

      Cons

      Not much room for progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good People, Poor Senior Management

      May 18, 2022 - Senior Pricing Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are lovely, hard working and bright

      Cons

      Talent constantly leaves because the senior management is too slow / too complacent to react.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      PI underwriter

      May 14, 2022 - Commercial Lines Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture and progression plans

      Cons

      In my experience I haven’t faced any yet

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Hiscox

      Jun 9, 2022 - Insurance Expert 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company will try anything to catch you out, calls will be marked fail for ridiculous reasons, stay

      Cons

      Company will try anything to catch you out, calls will be marked fail for ridiculous reasons, stay away. All referrals will be declined, customers are often rude and management will use company mechanisms to provide blind threats.

      1 person found this review helpful