Hiscox Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hiscox Reviews

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Hiscox CEO Bronislaw Edmund Masojada
Bronislaw Edmund Masojada
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance is perfect as well(in 41 reviews)

  • "The work environment and employees engagement are always on the top list as also as our growth(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "there are no cons for me right now, others may have a different view(in 7 reviews)

  • "They train really good underwriters but struggle retaining them(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Still good but watch the culture as the company grows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hiscox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, low level of politics, good opportunities to succeed

    Cons

    Becoming more like other companies as Hiscox grows

    Hiscox2019-11-28
  2. "Great place to work, figuring out how to become a large organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People focused and supportive - Teams work hard for each other - Innovative and brave - Want the best to be the best

    Cons

    - A lot of change currently (and more required)

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the tough decisions and driving company forward, it will be worth it

    Hiscox2020-01-03
  3. "Interesting and Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Change Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly interesting changing rapidly entrepreneurial

    Cons

    Fire fighting siloed growing rapidly

    Hiscox2019-12-16
  4. "Wonderfull company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good conditions; good balance between work and personal live

    Cons

    Nothing to apoin in this subject

    Hiscox2019-12-13
  5. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Care about hiring the best. Excellent art work

    Cons

    Too London centric for a global company

    Hiscox2019-12-03
  6. "Very good company but could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture Flexible working Investing in future Good medium to long term business outlook

    Cons

    Below average pay Multiple change projects increasing workload

    Advice to Management

    Manage large change better

    Hiscox2019-12-16
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Company went wrong."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Birmingham, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hiscox full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Quality business. Good products. Nice offices

    Cons

    Staff pressurised. Confusing leadership. Too much change.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the values of Robert Hiscox. Avoid becoming a large corporation culturally. Coach rather than punish errors. Acknowledge the many changes to the UK business didn’t work. Take responsibility at senior levels rather than cascading it down.

    Hiscox2019-11-13
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunities for progression and learning

    Cons

    Pay is not the best compared to the work you put in

    Hiscox2019-11-13
  9. Helpful (5)

    "A place to start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Underwriter 

    I worked at Hiscox full-time

    Pros

    -Chance to take on a lot of work that will help develop your competency when working in another company.

    Cons

    -Classism: A few token working-class people have climbed from years ago. Yet, this ladder has been pulled up by them. -Nepotism is rife. Chances are given to those who have family members that do business with Hiscox. -You can be competent and complete the highest workload. Yet, your caste will decide your value in the company. Are you attractive? Connected? And so on...

    Hiscox2019-11-24
  10. "Interview and a new starter experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Group Technical Accountant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview process was quick and pleasant, the communication was excellent and I received my offer within a week of starting the recruitment process. The interviewers were very approachable and made the whole experience as relaxed as possible. The new starter processes work well and are designed to ease off the adaptation stages. The culture is very welcoming, supporting and inclusive and everyone is helpful and friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    None found so far in my 5 months of employment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work in empowering, encouraging and praising the employees, as these are the best motivators.

    Hiscox2019-10-21
Found 366 reviews