Hiscox Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Hiscox Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 351 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hiscox CEO Bronislaw Edmund Masojada
Bronislaw Edmund Masojada
120 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "there are no cons for me right now, others may have a different view(in 7 reviews)

  • "They train really good underwriters but struggle retaining them(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "I'm genuinely proud to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Insurance Expert in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great culture with an enjoyable environment. -Fantastic staff and training plan. -Fantastic building, modern with great amenities. -Staff and customer focused ethos. I'm only 5 weeks into my employment here and have been refraining from reviewing Hiscox due to my limited experience so far. I do feel a bit better placed now to offer some honest feedback. This is arguably the best place to work in the UK, it ticks every box including boxes you didn't even know needed ticking. The recruitment process is brilliant and not daunting, there are fantastic opportunities to progress as long as you put some effort in and don't expect the world to present opportunities to you. The staff are brilliant, the work itself although challenging (particularly within business insurance) is so much more interesting than what i ever thought before. I simply cannot praise the place enough and if you are reading this unhappy in your job then apply. Even if you are not successful the process will give you a taste of what working for a decent company feels like and hopefully set you on the right path to being happy at work. If you are successful then I will see you at the pool table for a different kind of lesson.

    Cons

    If there are any I haven't found them yet.

    Continue reading
    Hiscox2018-12-09
  2. "Start-up feel with umlimited potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of team, helping and supporting each other is very strong at this company. The transparency of how we operate from the most senior level, there truly are no topics off limits... it's a breath of fresh air.

    Cons

    This company has very much a start-up feel, it can be difficult if you're unable to roll with the punches. This place is not for everyone, but those that have a drive, desire, and will to push themselves outside their comfort zone, there is truly unlimited potential here.

    Continue reading
    Hiscox2019-10-03
  3. "Terrific company, strong strategy for attracting top business and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Counsel in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Ambitious, talented colleagues - Prestigious client base - Innovation and personal development genuinely valued - Respected in the Insurance market - Strong perks and incentives package

    Cons

    - Ineligible for Christmas Hamper unless you start by 1 June

    Hiscox2019-10-02
  4. "Amazing!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cyber Claims Underwritr in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Working from home once a week Great managers and work ethic Café Free bread, jam, butter, bread, coffee, tea and dilute codial

    Cons

    None that I have come across

    Continue reading
    Hiscox2019-10-01
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good brand, happy to make changes

    Cons

    Starting to become a bigger company, struggling with change

    Hiscox2019-09-29
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work hard and they will reward with progression

    Cons

    Losing some of what made it special

    Hiscox2019-09-26
  7. "Great development opportunities in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time

    Pros

    - You’ll be challenged to take personal responsibility and given the support to achieve great things. - CIO and IT Leadership are leading from the front - great to see their human side, openness to new ideas, and admit when they don’t know the answer. - Good team spirit, muck in and get it done!

    Cons

    - Lots of work on - many big programmes all at once. - Autonomy and personal responsibility not for those who want an easy ride.

    Hiscox2019-10-08
  8. "Good people, good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - At Hiscox you are surrounded by good people - Leading company in insurance - Decent social side - Many office locations globally so (depending on the role) good travel opportunities - Good work/life balance

    Cons

    - IT systems not the quickest

    Hiscox2019-10-08
  9. "Graduate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Actuarial Graduate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, friendly staff, welcoming environment

    Cons

    none yet, early in my career

    Hiscox2019-09-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people poor systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hiscox full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people here are great

    Cons

    Overall too many system changes

    Hiscox2019-09-10
Found 351 reviews