Investigo Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Investigo Reviews

Updated 5 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Investigo CEO Nick Baxter (no image)
Nick Baxter
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Senior management are very approachable for all types of day to day recruitment advice(in 17 reviews)

  • "Excellent commission scheme - Probably the best in the London market(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Still the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My last 2 years at Investigo has been an absolute blast - the company has provided good learning opportunities, the teams are all very good at what they do and overall employee wellbeing by introducing agile working policy has increasingly become the focus for the company. Via initiatives such as wellbeing days, diversity and inclusion and supporting charities such as the Centre for Mental Health, Investigo... continues to grow and learn each year. Excellent leaders at the helm of Investigo have ensured we have consistently been recognised via the numerous awards we continually win. Last but not the least, this is a company that listens to feedback and actions it where reasonable. To summarise, I am very proud to work for Investigo and am excited to be a part of its future.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing in particular, however a rethink of the current core working hours could be considered especially since other recruitment firms have done so and have continued their successful reign.

    Advice to Management

    Fantastic company, culture and vision - I strongly believe this is top-down driven therefore, please continue your amazing work!

    Investigo2018-10-23

    Investigo Response

    November 12, 2018Senior Marketing Executive

    Great to see the mention of feedback been given and more important being listened to in your review. We have seen it coming up in a couple of reviews and it is really rewarding to know that efforts to better our employee communication and engagement is having an affect across the ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great company that's really going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good brand in the market, very senior relationships with a number of well known brands. Love the culture and feel of the organisation, grown-up but fun.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but perhaps more of a heads up to people thinking of joining here. Realistically you've got to be billing over £200,000 to make the commission structure work, but that's what they only hire strong recruiters and put them in good markets. if you're not prepared to work hard to make it, don't bother coming here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    Investigo2019-07-29
  3. "Better than a lot of recruitment agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Investigo full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - big enough to make an impact, but small enough to be agile - you're given freedom to do most things the way you want but they do have to conform to Investigo standards (so this is a positive and negative as you can't be too radical in the way you want to manage your desk) - if you are a top performer, you will be looked after and the most ambitious have full control over their career - a lot of the people... are very good (at what they do and as people) - ambitious company that has grown, and continues to do so (they are profitable, give people a chance to settle in before billing and can offer career progression - for some, but not everyone) New parts of the business show real innovation.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with a lot of recruitment agencies, internal promotion seems to be dictated by billing numbers. So some of the seniors in the business don't actually make great managers / ADs / Directors / even board members, but have managed to get to those positions because success is seen as billing a lot Working hours are 8:30-6pm with very little actual flexibility. I hardly heard of people using the flexi hours.... Pay reviews and career reviews were handled well by some leaders but were non-existent in other areas (not even a pay increase inline with inflation!). Some parts of the culture were toxic so you better have thick-skin and know how to run your own desk. Training for grads / 1st jobbers was poor. You are expected to self-manage on the whole, so if you are green and need a lot of professional development, you'd be better off going to one of the larger agencies first, then considering Investigo after a few years. The perks are poor. If you bill over £200k, you will do fine but if you don't there is very little in the way of additional benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve the culture at the top. Identify management that needs more thorough management training. Improve benefits and consider changing work hours.

    Investigo2019-09-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Annual Summer Conference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - The Investigo diary is full on great events from Charity days, through to family days and many more, but The Grove is definitely one of the highlights throughout the year! - The day time was very fun with sports day style games including sumo wrestling suits which provided lots of laughs - Great to get involved with the regions and meet other people in the business by having them on your team - We had the pool... area booked out with a DJ playing for the rest of the afternoon making it feel like an Ibiza style event - We are generally very lucky to be able to stay overnight at a venue like The Grove and make full use of the spa the next day for free!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Often the excitement throughout the day means that people don't stay on their table for the 3 course dinner, so it might be nice to have a more relaxed dinner scenario No Cons though - this is a fantastic day and night

    Investigo2019-07-10
  5. "7 weeks in, thoughts so far..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is brilliant, everyone is treated with respect regardless of seniority. Employees best interests genuinely seem to be at the heart of most decisions. Summer conference was unbelievable, a fantastic perk and also a big motivator to do well and achieve great things with this company.

    Cons

    Induction day felt a little disjointed but that feedback has been given internally already.

    Advice to Management

    Naturally focus on retaining your culture as the business continues to exceed all growth targets

    Investigo2019-07-09
  6. "Great company to work for. Best summer conference ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultnant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Investigo is a great place to work, with a very high bar on talent. Compared to other agencies I have worked for, the quality of the people here is exceptional. There is also a genuinely fantastic culture, full of really nice, hard working individuals who clearly love working here. As well as quarterly high-achievers trips, Investigo treats all its employees to an annual Summer Conference at the Grove. The day... includes team building activities (which are actually loads of fun), 5* accommodation, breakfast, all you can eat lunch (honestly the best lunch you could ever imagine with the most amazing food of all different cuisines), drinks and a 3 course dinner and magician. This year we also had a pool party, with exclusive access to the pool and even unicorn inflatables :-) Then dancing into the early hours with a DJ and photobooth. The Grove is an absolutely amazing venue, it is so luxurious and you can use the Spa whilst you are there too. Honestly it is pretty amazing that Investigo pay for everyone to enjoy it every year. As well as seeing how well Investigo is doing as a business, it was great to hear from the charity we support, Ability People. It's great to be part of a business that is giving back. Personally as a returning mum I have found Investigo really supportive this year. They are pretty flexible and you are given a lot of autonomy. It's an exciting time to join, with phenomenal growth including expanding internationally, but also being small enough where you can really own your certain market. Investigo have an experienced hire model, but they do also recruit people looking for a career change, and trainee consultants (around 80/20). I would definitely recommend working here. Thank you Investigo :)

    Show More

    Cons

    To be honest none really

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and keep communications open

    Investigo2019-07-09
  7. "Great business, drive, ambition and clarity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Surrounded by top performers, strong focus on charity, good at developing peoples careers. Strong leadership.

    Cons

    I don't feel there are any significant negatives about this business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving forwards whilst also ensuring clear and concise communication to the wider business.

    Investigo2019-07-08
  8. "Great experience over 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Investigo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Clear and transparent financial targets and rewards - High quality non-financial rewards including 5* international trips - High quality CEO - Arguably the best offices of any recruitment firm in London

    Cons

    - Could have moved quicker / been more nimble for a mid-size firm - decisions were sometimes overly slow - Increased focus on KPIs - Usual challenges of any small-mid size business with aggressive growth targets and external ownership -

    Advice to Management

    As the company continues to grow quickly in terms of headcount and revenue, management must take care to maintain the high-performance culture and reward for talent which has brought it its strong success to date.

    Investigo2019-06-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My thoughts so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have spent the last 3 years in recruitment, working for a classic "boiler room" rec firm and I was internally referred by an ex colleague. What attracted me to Investigo firstly was the interview process. The questioning was professional and really tailored around my motivations and career goals. We worked out together how Investigo would be able to develop me as a recruiter and so far the support they've given... me is excellent. I met with 3 senior members initially, which was then followed by a social to meet the wider group and a tour of the sales floor. For me this was a great initial indication of their commitment to hiring the best consultants. Also no other company I interviewed with did this, it's a nice touch. It is a totally grown up environment, you are treated like business owners just guided and advised rather than micromanaged. I've been invited to 5 training classes along with 3 team events all within the initial 4 weeks. The Directors and managers I work with are complete experts in their field. In the first week I learnt more from my manager than I did in 3 years at my old firm. So far it's the best career move I've ever made.

    Show More

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of one.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing more of the same thing.

    Investigo2019-04-12

    Investigo Response

    June 3, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Fantastic to hear that your move to Investigo has been successful. It sounds a lot like you have found a place from which to grow and develop your career and we hope you do so with us. Always great to get an insight into the interview process from an interviewees point of view and ...

    Show More
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Joining Investigo has been the best career decision that I have made. The company offers huge amount of progression and learning opportunities at all levels, their business minded and entrepreneurial approach enables you to build and hire strong internal consultants to continue the growth of the business. The culture is great, offering a number of different incentives, wellbeing days and support to smaller... charities. The access to the management team that have come from varied backgrounds gives you a balanced approach and opportunity for personal growth. Would recommend the company to any recruiter.

    Show More

    Cons

    There isn't any particular cons, if there is an issue and you raise it with the leadership team, it gets actioned within reason!

    Investigo2019-04-10

    Investigo Response

    June 5, 2019Senior Marketing Executive

    Always a good day when we see a five star review.! Thank you for taking the time to leave us the reasons why Investigo is working for you. We appreciate it and it is especially good to know that you feel if there is an issue the leadership team would address it. It sounds like you ...

    Show More
Found 131 reviews