Arm Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Arm Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 838 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Arm CEO Simon Segars
Simon Segars
521 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "HQ is at Cambridge so for some this may be a downside compared to living in London for example as it is much smaller(in 60 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance might be tricky in some positions although may not be a problem if you enjoy what you are doing(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Arm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great multicultural team - wizards of engineering, care to share

    Cons

    no cons so far .

    Arm2019-09-18
  2. "Great work life balance, challenging at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - working in cutting edge technology - working on something that ships in MOST mobile devices in the world - great work life balance - a cluster of really passionate and experienced people

    Cons

    - base salary could be improved (the bonuses make it SO MUCH better) - location: Cambridge (this can be a pro or a con. It's a beautiful town but having an office in London might add so many possibilities for the company, human resource wise) - sometimes projects might get a bit stalled (boring), that totally depends on where and with whom you work.

    Advice to Management

    - focus on compensation, retention and challenging projects

    Arm2019-09-13
  3. "Good package, challenging place at times to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great package Flexible working and autonomy but this differs where you work in the organisation

    Cons

    Poor integration for new staff with a lack of training Poor communication Inefficient processes leading to people doing the same thing

    Advice to Management

    Be clearer on decision making rights, encourage company wide efficient processes

    Arm2019-09-07
  4. "Overall good workplace culture but thing are sliding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Applications Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with, decent salary.

    Cons

    Some short sighted policies wrt working environment. Stick between being a small company and a big one.

    Arm2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Enough freedom to work on areas you like. Has relatively good salaries (in UK). Arm has great culture and good work life balance. Lots of initiates to make work place better.

    Cons

    Sometimes you feel the politics is taking over.

    Advice to Management

    Salaries in UK needs to increased to retain talent pool, specially when competition has finally come in Cambridge/London and is offering better pay.

    Arm2019-07-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Arm has a great culture, good salary and benefits. Cambridge is really lovely if you like small towns. Everything is in a cycling distance so it is really easy to commute.

    Cons

    The culture and values tend to get diluted as the company grows.

    Advice to Management

    Try to build upon transparency and communication.

    Arm2019-07-30

    Arm Response

    August 21, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for leaving a review, we hear your thoughts on the 'values' and we are doing some work around this at the moment. As it seems you've been with the business a little while, I'd be keen to pick up with you if you would be interested in joining the project? Aylin.Halil@arm.com

  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most colleagues are pleasant Some interesting problems to work on

    Cons

    The standard of software engineering is very low here, with little testing and poor build/deployment tooling. There's little sign of strategic decision making, we are expected to help whichever customer is shouting loudest today. Getting hardware takes an extremely long time, and internal customers will scream at you for problems that are out of your hands. There is very little coordination of work, with... multiple teams doing the same thing for no good reason and very little trust between teams. Despite warm words, there is little chance of having a good work life balance while keeping a good bonus. Career progression is slow and mysterious Senior management live in a bubble and talk in impenetrable jargon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You say the right things, but nothing seems to change. Break out of your bubble and engage with the staff doing the actual work.

    Arm2019-07-10

    Arm Response

    July 12, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Arm is a complex business and whilst we recognize it can be difficult to navigate, we do try to support you with the adjustment to the independent working culture. We are passionate about empowering our teams and encourage free-thinking that supports innovation. Our ideation and direction ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (3)

    "That's Ok, but could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer OSS Group in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for flexibility. Easy to change teams to some extend. Access to some training.

    Cons

    Lots of process and hierarchy, management is slow. OSS group does not innovate. Depending on the team, you have no career opportunity. Food canteen is not great. Training are not always available. Communication between team and management.

    Arm2019-07-09
  9. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Developer in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work culture, collaboration and team work

    Cons

    Rapid expansion might dilute the positive culture

    Arm2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits and reward but less room for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Arm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits overall. The longer you stay, the better you get

    Cons

    Difficult to move around if you are not a graduate, which has rotation opportunities. Very limited secondment choices.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about people's personal development.

    Arm2019-06-26
Found 838 reviews
</>Embed