Direct Line Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Direct Line Group Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family(in 52 reviews)

  • "Really good company with a lot of room for progression with really good benefits(in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "Head Office is located in Bromley which is ot ideal for some but great for others(in 27 reviews)

  • "DLG Salary < Central London Salary(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Really good place to work, plenty of opportunity and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Product Manager in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people - it is a really relaxed place to work (don't confuse this with lazy), the people are friendly and really make it a good place to work. Certain areas of the business are contact centres and thus come with their own restrictions so if you're applying for roles there then be aware of that. I started in the contact centre and now work in the Digital team (having done many different jobs in between) and really enjoy my work, so if you want to progress there are lots of different avenues to explore. Environment - Based in Bromley and living locally it is ideal. Next door to Bromley South station so is easy for commutes Work / Life balance - There is the opportunity to work from home if I need to and people treat you like a grown-up so if you get your work done then hours can be flexible. The work is challenging, varied and interesting and at times can be totally hectic requiring long hours. There is good recognition of people's achievements and commitment and a good social atmosphere. Benefits - half price insurance (car and house), free travel and breakdown cover, good pension plan and options for medical, dental, etc. Certainly one of the best packages I've seen I would really recommend this as a place to work.

    Cons

    Recruitment of management can be based on the wrong skill set at times Can be slow to update systems, but am aware that this is in the process of changing

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2019-11-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    November 12, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to share your journey with us and what makes you happy to recommend working for DLG. Great to see how your career has developed.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work - no cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pricing 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible and friendly and reasonable pay

    Cons

    No cons and no cons

    Direct Line Group2020-01-08
  3. "Credit hire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Hire Claims Handler in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are nice/ hours of work / good work life balance

    Cons

    Pay is too low

    Direct Line Group2020-02-19

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 19, 2020Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, thank you for leaving your review. Great to hear that you love the culture here.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group part-time

    Pros

    Great benefits with this company

    Cons

    Not a lot of exposure to career opportunities

    Direct Line Group2020-02-16

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 17, 2020Recruitment Consultant

    Thanks for your review. Glad you agree the benefits at DLG are great :)

    Continue reading
  5. "Great culture, great people a bit slow to implement change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and open to new ideas

    Cons

    Slow to implement change initiatives

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2020-02-15

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 17, 2020Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your review. We're always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Amazing culture Team morale Benefits Amazing leadership team Drive to do better

    Cons

    No bonus for PAs More apprenticeship recognition to be as big as the graduate programme

    Direct Line Group2020-02-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hello! Thank you for your review and lovely to see you enjoy our culture. Make sure you take a look at our social media channels during National apprenticeship week as we are loving showcasing our apprentices and some of the amazing journeys they have been on. We always loving sharing more about our team, so do get in touch with the recruitment team! :)

    Continue reading
  7. "Passion for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people that work here make the company. He company wants to change its priorities and behaviour at enterprise level

    Cons

    Not Living thier beliefs. Politics especially amongst senior people

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2020-02-13

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 17, 2020Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your honest review. We'd encourage you to speak to your manager about your experiences, if feel as though you're unable to do this please reach out to the HR team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakdown cover and half price car insurance

    Cons

    Long hours And the management don’t keep things a secret

    Direct Line Group2020-01-29

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

    Continue reading
  9. "GREAT PLACE TO WORK AT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, and pay. Great team to work with and managers are always there is you need them.

    Cons

    non i can think of

    Direct Line Group2020-01-27

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Lovely little review and great to see you enjoy working for DLG.

    Continue reading
  10. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    benefits people and culture - lots of investment made in employee well being and mental health

    Cons

    limited scope for progression outside of immediate team or role.

    Continue reading
    Direct Line Group2020-01-27

    Direct Line Group Response

    February 5, 2020Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, thank you for you review, great to see you enjoyed your time working at DLG! :)

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 533 reviews