Direct Line Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Find your next job here

Direct Line Group Reviews

Updated 17 January 2018
231 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Paul Geddes
Paul Geddes
126 Ratings

231 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Too much inconsistency within management/team leaders (in 9 reviews)

  • High staff turnover which is inevitable for a firm this size but they need to work at retaining newly qualified staff (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Pricing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Pricing Analyst in Bromley, England
    Current Employee - Principal Pricing Analyst in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great collaborative and team culture, with good benefits

    Cons

    Took a while to receive my contract etc

    Direct Line Group Response

    18 Jan 2018 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Direct Line Group, your comments are greatly appreciated.


  2. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, innovative company, staff ideas valued and encouraged. good work life balance ( depending on role)

    Cons

    Some of the areas of the business have no clear progression and senior roles tend to be Bromley or Leeds centric which limits development opportunities

    Direct Line Group Response

    10 Jan 2018 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Direct Line Group, your comments are greatly appreciated!


  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Clear group strategy. Good employee benefits scheme.

    Cons

    Speed of change could be better

    Direct Line Group Response

    5 Jan 2018 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your fantastic review, it’s great to hear that you love working here! If there is anything we can do to support you and make your experience even better, then please don’t hesitate to... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Location and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    -Centre based, close to shops and other places of interests
    -Customer facing staff are down to earth, sense of comradery/brotherhood

    Cons

    -Large gap between staff and management in terms of involvement
    -Very strict adherence in terms of compliance, quality monitoring and incentive allocation

    Advice to Management

    Line managers strive to keep those who actually bring value to the workplace.

    Direct Line Group Response

    20 Dec 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for the taking time to write a review about Direct Line Group, your comments are greatly appreciated.


  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible approach to work life balance

    Cons

    I feel for my role there is limited opportunities to progress and now I face moving elsewhere

    Advice to Management

    Open the pathway to promote and keep employees who you feel are talented.

    Direct Line Group Response

    4 Dec 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We do take all comments on board as it is really important to us. We will pass your review on to HR colleagues.


  7. "Pay could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits provided by the company. 50% of motor and home insurance. Free breakdown and travel insurance.

    Cons

    Development of staff is not ideal, not enough time given by management on that.

    Advice to Management

    Employees should feel more valued and pay should be more in line with competitors.

    Direct Line Group Response

    18 Dec 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We do take all comments on board as it is really important to us. We will pass your review on to HR colleagues.


  8. "Being new here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The support you receive here is outstanding from the very start, for all different kinds of situations. The development programs at Direct Line, are always running within the year so there's always thing for you to do if you wish to develop your skills.

    Cons

    I feel like the food here is stuck on the same 4 week rotation but the range is full, to suit everyone and the flavours are wonderful.

    Direct Line Group Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your fantastic review, it’s great to hear that you love working here! If there is anything we can do to support you and make your experience even better, then please don’t hesitate to... More


  9. "Graduate Scheme 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Graduate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    •Excellent benefits
    •Recognition and reward
    •Good work/ life balance
    •Strong brand values
    •Investment in people
    •Friendly and relaxed working culture

    Cons

    •long recruitment process
    •Job location revealed near the start date so felt disorganised.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support graduates on the beginning of their graduate scheme. Maybe provide them with their location earlier so they can plan accommodation.

    Direct Line Group Response

    1 Dec 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Direct Line Group, we really appreciate it.


  10. "DLG Graduate Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Graduate in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great induction week
    - Excellent benefits and salary
    - Great development opportunities
    - Friendly colleagues
    - Good work/life balance
    - Varied placements
    - Nice office environments

    Cons

    - Drawn-out recruitment process
    - Very short period between job offer and start date made relocating slightly chaotic

    Advice to Management

    Generally, keep up the good work! You can tell that the management really want to make DLG a better place to work and they are always trying to innovate. The negatives I just listed were largely a product of the graduate programme being extended and me applying for it relatively late, so I doubt everyone would have the same experience.

    Direct Line Group Response

    28 Nov 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you for your great review, your comments really matter to us.


  11. "Graduate 2017"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GRADS in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - GRADS in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Direct Line Group is a great company to work for if you are willing to put in the work to progress up the corporate ladder, there is great scope for progression across the whole of the business. The culture is friendly and fun, encouraging employees to be themselves and bring all themselves to work!

    The company benefits are fab and employees achievements are celebrated. Great that the company recognises good work and ideas with various rewards including big cash bonuses.

    Advise to applicants of Grad scheme - PREPARE for the assessment centre, know the company inside and out. Be confident and stand out, be yourself. Assessment centre is not extremely difficult if you are well prepared.

    Cons

    Grad scheme - A little disorganised, grads found out about placements very last minute which is difficult if you have to relocate. Grads expected to relocate to different cities with minimal assistance (could be financially straining e.g. if you have to move to Bromley). Challenging to fit in a placement you have no prior experience or knowledge about, may be better if grads are given a choice of certain roles before placed.

    Advice to Management

    Give grads enough exposure to the whole of the business/ more interaction with Senior Leaders.

    Direct Line Group Response

    28 Nov 2017 – Specialist Recruitment Consultant

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Direct Line Group, we really appreciate it.


Showing 231 of 243 reviews
Reset Filters