Direct Line Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Direct Line Group Reviews

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Penny James
Penny James
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family(in 51 reviews)

  • "Really good company with a lot of room for progression with really good benefits(in 37 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bromley is a bit tough to get to(in 23 reviews)

  • "DLG Salary < Central London Salary(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "4 weeks in, and so far, so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, working from home, relaxed dress code, paid 18th of the month.

    Cons

    IT system a bit slow on occasion, but this will be fixed as part of IT Transformation program of work.

    Advice to Management

    Nice touch with the on-boarding text from CEO, new employee gift, and welcome event.

    Direct Line Group2019-09-04

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Consultant

    Thanks for your review, great that you're enjoying your new role at DLG! We are constantly working to make improvements to our systems so be assured that these will get better. All the best in your career here at DLG :)

  2. "Fab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Processor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You must enter at least five words for Pros

    Cons

    Your downsides to working for this employer cannot be the same as your good reasons

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Direct Line Group2019-09-30

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 1, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you for leaving your review and feeling so positive about working at DLG.

  3. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are the best part, supportive colleagues and managers are excellent when it comes to any personal issues you may be having

    Cons

    There is a lot of micro managing which becomes tiring after a while. Difficult to progress if your not based at certain sites.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your staff to make the right decisions

    Direct Line Group2019-10-14
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Great Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of friendly and talented people

    Cons

    A little bureaucratic and difficult to get things done

    Advice to Management

    Empower more

    Direct Line Group2019-10-08

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Fab little review. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts! :)

  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Quality Assurance Reviewer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and great benefits

    Cons

    Rely on online learning too much. Very little career prospects in Bristol.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people for qualifications available to everyone as I was never given the option.

    Direct Line Group2019-10-02

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

  6. "Good bunch of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Manager 

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

    Pros

    not adequately lined up to the business

    Cons

    too little tech knowledge at the heart of things, too much politics

    Advice to Management

    sack some middle management and advance technicians

    Direct Line Group2019-10-16
  7. "Good place to grow and get stuck in but there are major some major problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities and very fast paced, if you join one of their growing brands.

    Cons

    Unorganised and high turn over of staff, not much job security. Ancient processes and always playing catch-up rather than leading.

    Direct Line Group2019-10-11

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and it is great to hear about your experiences with progression and development. We do review all feedback left and it is shared with the wider business. Thank you

  8. "Pretty good overall though some room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Property Underwriter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are excellent, all the company offices have a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere and the vast majority of people are friendly and helpful. My immediate line manager is good for the most part and a very reasonable / fair person and trusts their staff completely, which is important to me and a significant plus. Most senior level staff very approachable and straight talking. Honest conversations are... encouraged for the most part. Salaries are reasonable in London, not the best in the market but certainly not the worst either. Some nice little perks in the office, free pizza and drinks once a month, free fruit and some fun social events. Office politics not too bad, I've worked in far worse places for this! I'd have given 3.5 stars had it been possible!

    Show More

    Cons

    Training opportunities and CII exam sponsorship (or lack of) is quite poor for such a big company. You get the impression the commercial arm of DLG gets forgotten about compared to the larger personal lines brands / businesses. Senior management rely too heavily on service / work counting reports which are not accurate and don't show anywhere near all the work an underwriter actually does. Internal box ticking... is seen to be more important than giving a good service to clients. High middle to senior level management structures seem to change every couple of months. There are clear signs of cost cutting with redundancies for long standing, knowledgeable and widely respected staff. Communication (or lack of) from senior management can be really quite poor at times. Countless different systems (some 30+ years old!) required for various tasks. Significant IT investment needed. Offshore IT helpdesk is pot luck, some people are brilliant others you can't even understand and are hopeless!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop messing about with the structure and let us focus on doing a good job. Consult / Engage with the frontline staff more before bringing in significant changes. Improve the communication. Invest in systems development (but test it properly before releasing).

    Direct Line Group2019-10-11

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 15, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, thank you for your review and we'll ensure your comments and feedback are shared with the relevant business area. It is great to hear how much you love the culture and the benefits. Thank you :)

  9. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Doncaster, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, Great team of people, Excellent training and support. Excellent staff parties.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Direct Line Group2019-09-24

    Direct Line Group Response

    October 1, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Thank you so much for your lovely review, it's fantastic to hear that you have such positive things to say about working for DLG in Doncaster.

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture with varied opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Finance Business Partner in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working culture, reward, opportunity to mid management

    Cons

    Cost cutting will limit future opportunities, UK only market with diminishing margins will reduce reward levels. Staff stay in the same positions for years meaning little chance of learning.

    Advice to Management

    Break staff out of siloed working. It's not good to have such stayed employees.

    Direct Line Group2019-09-16

    Direct Line Group Response

    September 24, 2019Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always looking for ways to improve the business, how we can make insurance easier for our customers and our team. Investing in the future is a huge focus for us and looking at new ways we can improve the business for years to come. :)

    Show Less
Found 492 reviews