Direct Line Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Direct Line Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 435 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Direct Line Group CEO Paul Geddes
Paul Geddes
278 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family(in 45 reviews)

  • "The best reasons to work for DLG is the opportunities or development ladder you could possibly take(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some of the areas of the business have no clear progression and senior roles tend to be Bromley or Leeds centric which limits development opportunities(in 20 reviews)

  • "The cons to working for DLG is that there needs to be more recognition during peak times to drive the morale(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (10)

    "Love working for a big household name!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I really like working here. Love being part of a company who is so driven to move forward, and the sense of being part of something exciting. There is always something going on. This is my first time working for a large company and the range of roles and opportunities is really interesting. I have found them to be a really flexible employer that appreciates work life balance and employees wellbeing

    Cons

    I would struggle to think of anything that stands out

    Direct Line Group2018-10-18

    Direct Line Group Response

    December 19, 2018Recruitment Marketing Consultant

    Hiya, thank you for leaving us a great review! Great to hear about your experiences of DLG over the last 5 years. :)

  2. "Excellent employer with good benefits and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Quality Assurance in Glasgow, Scotland

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Good employer, salary, flexible working and good benefits

      Cons

      Risk of redundancy due to restructure

      Direct Line Group2019-05-10
    • "Effort not met by reward"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Finance Systems Analyst in Bromlow, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Flexible working and reasonable holiday package + pension.

      Cons

      Typical bonuses of around 1.5% if you perform well.. which is poor compared to the competition.. If working in the head office in Bromley, the salaries are based on UK average despite being in Zone 5 (only 10 miles) from central London.. So salaries don't match the competition. Bonus is delayed 4 months (performance is measured for the year Jan - Dec, bonus not paid until April of following year)

      Advice to Management

      Start matching the competition in terms of salary otherwise employees will continue to use DLG as a stepping stone to gain skills and move to london based roles..

      Direct Line Group2019-05-15
    • "Great department but limited opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time

      Pros

      It’s a really friendly department with a good culture

      Cons

      The internal opportunities to be promoted are limited

      Direct Line Group2019-05-14
    • "Fantastic Place to work! highly recommended"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Travel Sales Consultant in Doncaster, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Staff are truly valued as individuals. Support network is fantastic Atmosphere is great Wages are reviewed periodically, and are at a good standard Career progression is encouraged and nurtured Management, Sr Management and Senior staff are all approachable and friendly, and treat everyone with respect. Regular training refreshers keep staff up to date with company changes Company values customers and staff. Customer...

      Show More

      Cons

      Can honestly not think of any Cons.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to support staff in the way you are.

      Direct Line Group2019-04-29

      Direct Line Group Response

      May 20, 2019Recruitment Consultant

      Isn't this lovely! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us now what you think makes DLG a great place to work.

    • "Direct Line group experience sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Agent in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Direct Line Group full-time

      Pros

      Team atmosphere Nice office building Canteen

      Cons

      Typical call centre churn Cliques KPIs

      Advice to Management

      Focus more on the people, not call times

      Direct Line Group2019-05-13
    • "Senior Motor Pricing Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Pricing Analyst in Bromley, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      *Pays well when starting. *Friendly workplace *Great Benefits. *Generally good atmosphere

      Cons

      *Not very well organised data. *Lack of Space for developing. *Pay increase very low every year.

      Direct Line Group2019-05-07
    • "Great career development and opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Social Media Manager in Bromley, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Work life balance and understanding outside commitments to family. Career training and development within company and externally. Inclusive company with down to earth employees who are all experts in their field, who are very collaborative. Benefit of working within our award winning PR and Marketing teams.

      Cons

      Our IT systems need upgrading.

      Direct Line Group2019-04-17

      Direct Line Group Response

      May 20, 2019Recruitment Consultant

      Thank you for such a great review. We're really proud of our My Life policy and it's fantastic to hear that you and your family are benefitting from it. You're right, we really do have the best people working here! You'll be pleased to hear we're constantly looking to make improvements ...

      Show More
    • "Excellent company with brilliant benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Trainer in Manchester City Centre, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Fantastic people who work here

      Cons

      no cons that I can think of

      Direct Line Group2019-04-17

      Direct Line Group Response

      May 20, 2019Recruitment Consultant

      Thank you for your review :) you're one of those fantastic people that make DLG such a great place to work!

    • "Motor claims handler"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Motor Claims Handler in Leeds, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Direct Line Group full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      relaxed working conditions - not targeted on calls.

      Cons

      Very hard to progress, education budget has recently been shifted to apprenticeship scheme.

      Advice to Management

      Wage does not reflect the work an is about mid market leading to the department losing knowledgeable staff to other companies.

      Direct Line Group2019-04-30
    Found 435 reviews