New Look Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

New Look Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
New Look Executive Chairman Alistair McGeorge (no image)
Alistair McGeorge
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff discount provided after passing probation period (usually about 8 weeks)(in 119 reviews)

  • "Pros: 50% discount on all new look clothing(in 78 reviews)

Cons
  • "unreliable hours, last minute changes to rotas(in 37 reviews)

  • "Long hours standing on your feet(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fab place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Look full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Colleagues - One of the first things I noticed about working at New Look is how great the people are who work here. When I was interviewing my recruiter and new manager were just so nice and fun that I kept thinking that if they're the kind of people that work at New Look then I want to be a part of that. When I started I hoped everyone would live up to this expectation and they really have. Great Perks... - Staff discount is 40% which just means I shop nowhere else but New Look. Huge bundles of clothes go with me to the tills and then I'm always shocked at the bargain price I'm getting it all for. Then on top of that there are loads of additional benefits and discounts that we can get elsewhere. Plus little cute initiatives here and there that make me feel really valued. Great Atmosphere - this company really lives up to it's ambition of 'Fun in the Now' and it really feels like good vibes only in the office. Career Opportunities - There is so much opportunity to progress here, New Look really tries to support internal talent, and is great at offering things like secondments to employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hmmm, this is a hard one. Occasionally certain processes are quite complicated, however you can see lots of internal initiatives to innovate and simplify which is really encouraging.

    New Look2019-04-02
  2. "New look supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Supervisor 

    I have been working at New Look part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Training Discount Environment Holidays

    Cons

    Workload Time management Expectations Clothing quality Size ratio

    New Look2019-12-02
  3. "Nice place to work if you get on with other people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Chester, England
    Recommends

    I worked at New Look part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, good management, training, shift work, room to grow for those interested

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours (sale), difficult if you work with people who can't be bothered

    New Look2019-12-09
  4. "Not bad for a part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get your breaks, 50% discount on clothes

    Cons

    Younger staff underpaid, repetitive work

    New Look2019-12-11
  5. "Easy and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy job to do, can move around and do variety of tasks

    Cons

    Minimum wage, not many hours

    New Look2019-11-25
  6. "Good for part time only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Made loads of friends Staff discount Could leave work and have a life too

    Cons

    Managers inconsistent Talked down to alot People take sock tidying far too seriously

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you treat the staff kindly as they are the ones on the front line.....

    New Look2019-11-20
  7. "Working at new look"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Look full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Early finish on Friday -Sample sales -Staff discount

    Cons

    -Not ideal for career progression -Underpaid

    New Look2019-12-02
  8. "new look sales assistant job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    staff discount was great and team was nice

    Cons

    shifts and social life balance is quite a con

    New Look2019-12-01
  9. "Company is definitely going downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked alongside a good team, that’s about it

    Cons

    Always understaffed and given ridiculous amounts of tasks to get done with hardly any help. Pay was not worth the stress.

    New Look2019-11-20
  10. "Good place for your first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, everything is learnt easily. Management are chill and you're able to bounce around kind of freely. Everyone's really lovely , get trained on a lot of modules

    Cons

    Not enough staff in becomes overwhelmed. Hours can get cut randomly so the pay and hours aren't consistent

    New Look2019-11-04
Found 680 reviews