New Look Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

New Look Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
New Look Executive Chairman Alistair McGeorge (no image)
Alistair McGeorge
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good staff discount provided after passing probation period (usually about 8 weeks)(in 122 reviews)

  • "Pros: 50% discount on all new look clothing(in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • "Literally said that rotas were final and that health issues are not an acceptable reason to alter them(in 39 reviews)

  • "long hours that were inconvenient(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Fab place to work!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Look full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Colleagues - One of the first things I noticed about working at New Look is how great the people are who work here. When I was interviewing my recruiter and new manager were just so nice and fun that I kept thinking that if they're the kind of people that work at New Look then I want to be a part of that. When I started I hoped everyone would live up to this expectation and they really have. Great Perks - Staff discount is 40% which just means I shop nowhere else but New Look. Huge bundles of clothes go with me to the tills and then I'm always shocked at the bargain price I'm getting it all for. Then on top of that there are loads of additional benefits and discounts that we can get elsewhere. Plus little cute initiatives here and there that make me feel really valued. Great Atmosphere - this company really lives up to it's ambition of 'Fun in the Now' and it really feels like good vibes only in the office. Career Opportunities - There is so much opportunity to progress here, New Look really tries to support internal talent, and is great at offering things like secondments to employees.

    Cons

    Hmmm, this is a hard one. Occasionally certain processes are quite complicated, however you can see lots of internal initiatives to innovate and simplify which is really encouraging.

    New Look2019-04-02
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Leeds, England

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good staff training, managers are approachable, sufficient pay

    Cons

    Expect more hours than you are contracted

    New Look2020-02-16
  3. "Part time review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Leeds, England
    Recommends

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly working environment, good hours and good pay for part time.

    Cons

    Always in competition with teams on who can get the most new look card sales which added a lot of pressure for just a part time worker.

    New Look2020-02-17
  4. "X"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at New Look part-time

    Pros

    The pay and the discount

    Cons

    Can be very stressful working

    New Look2020-02-17
  5. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New Look full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    4 on 4 off rota system

    Cons

    12hrs standing on your feet

    New Look2020-02-16
  6. "Just another retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young staff crowd so if you're 16-25, you should fit in quite well. 40% staff discount after 3 months with an increase to 50% on "special" occasions.

    Cons

    Minimal pay. Overworked. No long term incentive to stay or progress with the company. Constantly feeling under surveillance (dependent on manager/supervisor)

    New Look2020-02-14
  7. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    40% discount friendly colleagues flexible and short shifts

    Cons

    management can be rude and tend to take advantage and overwork staff. Ask for availability and go against it. putting pressure on staff to meet unrealistic targets

    Continue reading
    New Look2020-02-13
  8. "ok company management not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Lincoln, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    ok environment, no uniform requirement, good discount.

    Cons

    bad hours, wasn't allowed to go to the toilet, bad pay.

    New Look2020-02-12
  9. "Great for part time student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time

    Pros

    Loads of hours leading up to Christmas/sales period Fast training Plenty of tasks to do Nice colleagues

    Cons

    As soon as Christmas was over my hours were literally halved into the new year with not many shifts Had standby shifts so you had to keep days free in case they needed you but wouldn’t tell you until the morning of the shift

    Continue reading
    New Look2020-01-28
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Bristol, England

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great communication and other staff were lovely

    Cons

    -long hours, rude customers at times

    New Look2020-02-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 715 reviews