Peninsula Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,049 of over 1,065 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
666 Ratings
Pros
  • "HR Documentation Consultant is a brilliant job for a graduate looking to make their first teams in the Employment Law business(in 51 reviews)

  • "pay system promotes hard work and commission opportunities are exciting(in 48 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Fast paced so need always need to keep up to date across all industries but thats what makes the role interesting(in 43 reviews)

  • "Unless you're the sort of person who doesn't want to work hard (but you will reap the rewards from your hard work)(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    1y

    works at 

    Deloitte

    Harshest feedback you’ve ever received?

    7,080

    606 Comments

    Consulting

    261.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Peninsula~746949
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Employer

      Nov 25, 2021 - Health and Safety Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Working with great colleagues and professionals - Feel supported - Variety of clients

      Cons

      - Busy role with high targets

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Client Experience Co-ordinator

      Thank you for the 5 star review, we appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased that you are enjoying your role and feel supported!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Nov 24, 2021 - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love working here, I think it's a fantastic place to work. The training program is second to none, it's absolutely brilliant. Everyone is really supportive, a company that truly invests in its employees not just with initial training but ongoing training and support. It's great to be a part of such an amazing team, everyone is genuinely lovely and approachable. Everything Peninsula does just makes sense, it's really well thought out and very productive. There are so many opportunities within the business too, a company you can really work you're way up in. Big thumbs up from me!

      Cons

      Really can't fault the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Client Experience Co-ordinator

      Thank you for taking time to leave this review, it is fantastic to read that you are enjoying your role and have progressed within the business. It is great to have such positivity in the company it demonstrates that our people really feel part of the supportive culture we work so hard to uphold.

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Roller coaster of emotions

      Nov 16, 2021 - Business Development Executive in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great potential to make good money if you can survive the cut throat office environment and get into the field out in the field its great

      Cons

      They trick you by saying speak freely of your concerns when you do they sack you the next day

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Client Experience Co-ordinator

      We are sorry to hear that you feel your concerns were not taken seriously. Feedback is always appreciated and taken onboard, this aids us in upholding the culture of care and support that has been created for all of our colleagues. Our sales team is well established and all of the management have the skills and experience required to perform their roles effectively. We would appreciate your time if you could get in touch so that we can discuss this further. We can hopefully dispel any negative perceptions you have and give you the opportunity to talk through your concerns.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Work Experience

      Oct 19, 2021 - Health & Safety Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work hard, earn big very diverse clients

      Cons

      No Cons in my experience

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Thank you so much for positive review, we're glad to have you as part of the team!

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Only statutory minimums for maternity pay and sick pay!!!

      Oct 23, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work and projects Great people who are open to new ideas…

      Cons

      Only offers statutory maternity pay, does not top up at all beyond legal minimum... this shows they simply do not care about gender equality and the women in their workforce. Same goes for sick pay, apparently do not care about supporting their staff who may face a health issue. This is across the group (including croner, croner-i)

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Whilst we’re happy to hear that you enjoy your work and colleagues, some of your comments are concerning. We take equality very seriously at Peninsula and offer both Maternity and Paternity pay, as well as Parental/Shared Parental leave, time off for dependents and SSP, all in accordance with statutory provisions and regardless of gender. There are numerous resources on our internal network with advice around speaking with your line manager, medical appointments, risk assessments and reporting adverse incidents during pregnancy. We take all necessary steps to support employees during pregnancy and always compensate in accordance with the law, as well as offering a wide range of benefits and incentive schemes across departments within the wider group. If you’d like to clarify any of the above, I encourage you to speak with your line manager. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, we take any concerns from employees seriously and appreciate having the chance to address them.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company Ethos = Profit before People

      Oct 20, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Just one which is working with great team mates.

      Cons

      Management only knows one approach which is command and control. This means zero trust and autonomy. The place is run like a third world, "sweat shop" in which people are yelled at and belittled throughout the day. What’s worse is that sales staff are forced to stand on their feet all day long. Yes, you did read that last sentence correctly! As an employment law and Health & Safety company, I'd be interested in knowing if this inhumane rule is in their policy handbook? During my time, I have seen several colleagues off work from stress, anxiety and depression caused by the horrendous work conditions. They had the audacity to publish an article on LinkedIn during world mental health day which spoke about encouraging staff to take short breaks and get some fresh air during their lunch hour. This is hypocrisy personified as they only give staff a 30-minute lunch break and do not like them to leave the building for scheduled breaks. All in all, it’s like some terrible boiler room operation from 1985. Think wolf of Wall Street and times that by a hundred. No respect for its staff and senior management pride themselves in telling new starters that more than half of them won’t make it! What kind of company takes pride in its high churn rate and low staff retention? A company who simply doesn’t care is the answer. Although I am earning reasonable money, I have taken the decision to seek alternative employment and am looking for an organisation which has a culture of valuing their staff. I write this as I don’t want anyone to go through the immense stress I go through on a day to day basis....it's just not worth it.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Good morning, I'd like to start by saying that though we hope you choose to stay with the business, we respect your decision around a career move and we'd like to thank you for over 2 years of service and hard work. Though we're disappointed to read your opinion of the company, we foster a culture of care for our colleagues; we’re glad to hear that you were satisfied with your compensation, and we appreciate your support of the company over the years. Our management teams work closely with all our colleagues to help towards achieving KPIs and ensuring everyone has the resources they need to fulfil their role effectively. This is as well as running incentives across different departments and teams within the company. Regarding your comments about treatment of colleagues, this is simply not an experience that we recognise. All colleagues can, and are encouraged to discuss their work environment with their line manager. In addition to this, we regularly hold business-wide forums for colleagues to ask management open, anonymous questions and voice any concerns they might have. Linking into your comments around mental health and wellbeing – this is something we acknowledge is incredibly important in supporting our colleagues. The article posted to LinkedIn was an additional measure to support our colleagues and the wider community via the LinkedIn network. All colleagues are entitled to break and dinner time appropriate to the length of their shift. During the height of the pandemic, colleagues were encouraged to minimise excessive foot traffic through the building– but this was health and safety guidance to protect our colleagues. Colleagues can absolutely go offsite for breaks and lunch, and as cited in the article, even encouraged to as it can be beneficial for mental health and wellbeing. Regarding your statement around retention, we have a history of celebrating long-serving colleagues across the business. In addition, we run incentives and benefits for staff across different teams and departments for several years of service to the company. We celebrate only the success of our colleagues. If you could please get in touch with us, we can further discuss any of the comments you’ve made in your review further so we can dispel any misconceptions you may have about the company and our practices. Again – though we’re disappointed to read your opinion – we hope you’re successful in whatever you decide to do next, and we wish you all the best.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Awful and stressful place to work

      Oct 21, 2021 - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Colleagues and the holidays are the best part of the job.

      Cons

      I have worked at Peninsula for a considerable amount of years. However as time went on it became apparent the company is absolutely about profit and doesn’t care for it’s employees wellbeing. A colleague had gone off sick due to mental health and had been given a letter of concern. You have to either come in early or stay late to finish tasks so you can keep up with your workload. It is very hard to progress your career unless your managements favourite. The workplace has reduced many colleagues to tears and many staff to leave. Hence a poor retention rate. We were even asked to write reviews so management can cover up how awful the working place is here.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Good morning, Though we're pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your holidays and colleagues, we're disappointed to read some of the other comments in your review. Regarding your comments around working conditions for colleagues and our culture, this is simply not an experience that we recognise or stand for. We have a culture of support and care for our colleagues - mental health and wellbeing is something we acknowledge is incredibly important in supporting our colleagues. Additionally, we never encourage colleagues to take their home work with them. All colleagues can, and are encouraged to discuss their work environment with their line manager. In addition to this, we regularly hold business-wide forums for colleagues to ask management open, anonymous questions and voice any concerns they might have. Finally, we do encourage staff to post reviews giving their honest opinion - this is so we're constantly checking the pulse of colleague opinion and satisfaction with the business - a proactive step to ensure job satisfaction and mental health support on a wider scale. If you could please get in touch with us, we can further discuss any of the comments you’ve made in your review further so we can dispel any misconceptions you may have about the company and our practices. Again – though we’re disappointed to read your opinion – we wish you all the best in the future.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best Decision for my career

      Sep 8, 2021 - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent team ethos and team managers always support me with my work. I have been supported throughout my development and time here, I have worked for organisations for more years and not had as much development. It is an excellent working environment and I would have no hesitation recommending to others as I have done already. Regular reviews and good benefits.

      Cons

      There are no cons that I have had within my time here. Need to carry on as is.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Thank you so much for your brilliant review! We're really pleased to hear that you've always felt supported and that you've been able to develop your skills and knowledge with us, this is the ethos that we live by as a company and we're glad to hear you've benefited as part of that.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Peninsula

      Sep 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very friendly and fast paced environment

      Cons

      There are not many cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Thanks for your great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy working for us, we appreciate the feedback and honesty!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Abundance of Opportunity and Support

      Sep 8, 2021 - Training Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff are supported by their team leader and management from day one of joining our Debut team in Employment Advice through highly rated career pathway programmes and, management development. There are so many benefits to working here, including working with such fantastic and hard working people who want to do their best to support our clients.

      Cons

      Some may say its hard work, but that's because the company want you to be the best you can be and support you with that. I cannot see any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Peninsula Response

      Thanks so much for the feedback and glad to hear that you're enjoying the benefits of working for us. Our culture can indeed at times be a bit fast paced at times, thanks for your honesty there and for your help in shaping and maintaining our culture of care for our colleagues at Peninsula.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,049 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Peninsula Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Peninsula? Share Your Experiences

    or