R3 Reviews

Updated 6 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
R3 CEO David Rutter (no image)
David Rutter
19 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Very engaging and supportive place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer Evangelist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - There is a lot of growth and career development opportunity. Management and co-workers are always eager to help you learn and improve. - Exciting changes and developments are common place. Whether it's new platform releases, or corporate expansions, there is always something interesting and engaging going on. - Ability to make positive contributions in areas you feel passionate about. You are able empowered to take initiative. - Lots of room for interaction with other teams and lateral movement. Due to the rapid rate of company growth, it's easy to collaborate with other teams and some employees choose to change teams during their employment. - Very friendly resource and support staff. The office is very well run so that employees can get work done. Whether it be logistics for a work event, IT requisitions, or common supplies; you always have what you need.

    Cons

    - As expected from a Fintech firm, sometimes the desks and office decor come across as bland (personal preference) on the bright side, there are themed quiet rooms you can escape to. - Expensing is reimbursed so you have to actively file reports if you travel a lot. - As a global company sometimes you have to coordinate across time-zones.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    April 3, 2020Head of People

    Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and you sound so positive about R3. I'm so pleased you are enjoying it here. Kim Watkins - Head of People, R3

  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some very smart colleagues from which you can learn a lot. - An innovative product that can really change how things work in several industries. - Challenging and rewarding work. - Flexibility to easily switch between teams. There are many different teams, so it's easy to find something of interest. - Nice perks & environment: breakfast options & a lot of snacks available, nice office with quiet room, fully stocked bar (bar3) where occasional after-work drinks take place. The company provided some allowance to assist people working from home to buy the necessary equipment, which was a very nice gesture. - A nice CSR program, where the company has made several donations to charities and has also invited employees to do so matching their donations.

    Cons

    - Quite steep learning curve in some cases, since as a new joiner you might have to learn a lot of new things before you start being productive. Of course, this is not necessarily a con depending on your personality. - Limited space for vertical career growth, when compared to larger companies.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    July 6, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate hearing your feedback!

  3. "Don't believe the hype, R3 spends a small fortune on PR and Marketing."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at R3 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some very smart people, you'll learn a lot. Great offices, swanky parties, good PR, great reputation.

    Cons

    Unfortunately what you'll learn about the most is how to create an illusion of a successful company without any compelling products. R3's only product is its brand and they are continuing to squeeze every last drop out of it. After working their way through tier 1 and 2 banks, they are now busy selling memberships to obscure banks in the middle east and Africa. It is nothing more than a member's club and only after they join do the members realize they are the product. Some never do.

    Continue reading
  4. "Don't go there"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at R3 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - They use Kotlin - Good social enviroment, for like Friday drinks

    Cons

    - Bad management, I very rarely spoke with mine (once a month or so). - Poor engineering practices, diffuclt to navigate codebase, making small changes requires touching ~100 files. Tests are flaky, - Lack of strategy, the company entirely lives on the hype of blockchain - Cients of the product often don't really understand it.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    June 30, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and I’m sorry your experience here at R3 hasn’t been such a positive one. I’ve spent some time discussing this internally, as much of your feedback was specifically about one team and I want our Leadership team to be aware of these reviews and people’s views, and continue to drive towards a positive culture throughout our business. We encourage all managers and employees to have (at least) a check-in every 2 weeks, and will continue to promote this, as communication and feedback is really important. We do encourage that anyone who feels they need additional time with their manager can always ask for it. All software and engineering practices evolve – at R3 we’re no different. We have invested heavily in testing, adding additional efforts in our Engineering teams, and have a separate QA team to make this more robust. P.S. Glad you enjoyed the social events and culture – we work hard at creating a positive environment our employees can enjoy while at work. Thanks. Kim Watkins Head of People Team @ R3

  5. COVID-19

    "Great company and got better during a crisis"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Assistance for employees during the COVID crisis has been great. The communication and financial assistance to help us work from home has been a nice gesture - and I'm from a much larger tech Co who would never have done this for me. Really sets us apart from Companies who don't care and get it wrong. On top of this, we have a great product, amazing offices and smart helpful colleagues I'm learning a lot from. All makes for a great culture.

    Cons

    A bit of uncertainty at times (but its a cutting-edge software Co), but I wouldn't say it felt very start-up-y anymore, more like a bigger Company at times. I like it but don't join expecting a small start-up anymore.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    July 6, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your review and feedback - we're so glad you feel supported through these difficult and uncertain times!

  6. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots to do. Can actually contribute to product direction.

    Cons

    The culture could be better. It's certainly not toxic, but people (engineers) just aren't really outwardly friendly. If you're introverted, and quiet, don't expect people to try to include you, because they won't.

    R3 Response

    July 6, 2020Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate hearing your feedback especially regarding our culture; please reach out to anyone on the People team if you would like to discuss further, as we are always open to incorporating our employees ideas on culture and inclusion

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, pity about the salaries"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, you'll learn a lot. Some of the best and brightest work at R3, and recent reorganisation has made a world of difference to how things get done. Some teething issues, but overall I feel that the company is going places.

    Cons

    Expect to be underpaid relative to your market worth. Perhaps you'll get a good offer when you join, but don't expect raises to keep pace with your market worth. I got a great performance review last year, but it galls me that I could get an extra 10% or more if I moved companies right now. One of my former colleagues, younger and less experienced than me, earns more than me because he left. I put in the hours and got a great performance review so I'm a little miffed that this is the thanks I get. Despite that, I stay because it is otherwise a good place to work for and it suits my career goals for now. No doubt the response to this will be about how salaries are benchmarked etc etc but I can tell you I could earn a lot more if I left, and it irritates me because its otherwise a good company. If they don't fix this I'd expect churn to increase.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    April 3, 2020Head of People

    Thank you for taking the time to give your view of R3. Unfortunately, 10% pay increases every year are not feasible based on our view of the industry we're in, but I am pleased to hear how highly you rate our culture and people - we think they are great too! Kim Watkins - Head of People, R3

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Loads of smart people but severe lack of direction"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at R3 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely smart and hard working colleagues with the potential to make an impact

    Cons

    Management lacks direction, compensation isn't tied to performance, stock option plan is weak compared to industry standards, and extremely high burn rate has the company headed for bankruptcy in 2020

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Creating a new product category"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a fantastic environment - great people, great customers and great technology. R3 has evolved a number of times over the years and continues to become more focused on customers and responding to a rapidly maturing 'blockchain' market. A strong cultural core focused on people, learning, customers and engineering.

    Cons

    If you are not comfortable operating with uncertainty or in a leading edge (sometimes sharp edge!) enterprise software company we may not be for you. Embracing uncertainty and the desire to 'help us build the business is a must.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    September 17, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for the time to give us a review - and some constructive feedback. Really appreciated. Kim Watkins - Head of HR, R3

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work and good culture."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at R3 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many smart, talented people who are willing to share their experiences. Very customer focused. Great technical team. Amazing offices, friendly atmosphere and a really approachable CEO.

    Cons

    Everyone works so hard so not for the faint-hearted.

    Continue reading

    R3 Response

    September 17, 2019Head of HR

    Thank you for the time you took to write a review. So glad to hear you enjoy it here. Many thanks Kim Watkins, Head of HR, R3

Found 23 reviews
</>Embed