Shutterfly Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shutterfly Reviews

Updated 14 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 504 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Shutterfly CEO Ryan OHara
Ryan OHara
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance: Option to work from home sometimes; PTO- as needed(in 64 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, competitive pay and good benefits(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Modern place Free food Go on brake on Will Free drinks Ventilation air conditioning Paid for brakes High overtime pay

    Cons

    Unflexible hours Short brakes Little opportunities to work overtime Industrial area far away 10 miles from the closest city No transport connection (only by car)

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up your doing great I wish I could help up more and I wish you guys all the best take care.

    Shutterfly2017-10-08
  2. "Have loved my time here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been a Shutterfly for over 5 years and it is a great place to work! It has continued to feel very inclusive and has a great company culture. You can tell your coworkers enjoy where they come to work every day and feel valued. I would highly recommend Shutterfly as a great place to work, as I have loved my years here!

    Cons

    There have been changes over time, of course, but the management does a good job of keeping teams up to speed and feeling confident.

    Shutterfly2019-09-12
  3. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, overall package excellent!

    Cons

    high turnover with full time and part time employees

    Shutterfly2019-09-11
  4. "Intern exp."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    Fun place to work for a starter.

    Cons

    I personally prefer east coast.

    Shutterfly2019-09-09

    Shutterfly Response

    September 9, 2019Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review. I'm glad that you are having a positive intern experience here at Shutterfly!

  5. "Growing Pains, Difficult To Move Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    DTO, Friendly Co-Workers, Snacks, 401K match, fun company events and parties (eg: holiday party, summer company picnic)

    Cons

    New senior leadership does not seem to care about employees. Hard workers continually get taken advantage of and pay is on the lower end of spectrum. Values seem to be lost.

    Advice to Management

    Employees have expressed their concerns repeatedly and asked for transparency from leaders. It would be better if leaders took action instead of talking about what they would like to do and fix the problems that exist within. Hold employees accountable for actions.

    Shutterfly2019-09-15
  6. "management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time

    Pros

    good to work here for fresher

    Cons

    need to improve the management system

    Advice to Management

    great

    Shutterfly2019-09-09
  7. "Shutterfly Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall Good work life balance

    Cons

    Need to improve on benefits

    Shutterfly2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Management, Dying Culture..But Very Relaxed Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extremely flexible, people come in around 10 and leave at 4. Very relaxed Small company since many left after the recent acquisition , which creates an intimate environment for employees. Great employees. The people at Shutterfly are very nice.

    Cons

    Poor Management - managers are not very engaged. Most have been at the company for over 6 years+ and have called it in. Don't expect to learn too much from them. Minimal Backfill - They haven't been backfilling all those that have left the company. Pay & Promotion - Shutterfly pays lower compared to other companies and it's very difficult to get promoted. The increase of pay after promotion is low. Favoritism -... management has favorites. Plays out in meetings and promotions. New acquisition - nobody know what the outcome will be. Private equity firm purchased Shutterfly and there could potentially be layoffs, as is common for these types of situations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Apollo, the company that acquired Shutterfly, needs to hold in person interviews with employees to get real feedback about the management issues. Take feedback seriously.

    Shutterfly2019-08-05
  9. "Gifting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and employees

    Cons

    Don’t really pay you as much.

    Shutterfly2019-07-29
  10. "Friendly culture somehow layback"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are nice and friendly in general products are good

    Cons

    lack of technology improvements slow-growing

    Shutterfly2019-08-09
Found 504 reviews