Softcat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
49 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission(in 14 reviews)

  • "No other way to put it, but it can be tough, long hours, challenging targets and competitive colleagues(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely focussed on employee engagement Great people, no prima donnas Fast growing so opportunities to develop and grow

    Cons

    Non so to speak off. Things move fast and it’s hard work so don’t work here if you want to coast but if you want dynamic and exciting it’s great!

    Softcat2019-12-13
  2. "Really good perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Manager in London, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, flexi time, really lovely managers, amazing company culture

    Cons

    A lot of cold calling, huge targets

    Softcat2020-01-09
  3. "L&D Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Softcat is a vibrant and exciting place to work with lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is not always ideal owing to travel and work events on weekends and week days

    Advice to Management

    Work alongside L&D more to help close gaps in knowledge

    Softcat2019-12-23
  4. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, pay, opportunities, training, progression

    Cons

    Flexibility, internal politics, none, none,

    Advice to Management

    Be more flexible

    Softcat2019-11-23
  5. "Awesome Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tier II Engineer in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantasic atmosphere, the best people

    Cons

    Not ease to move around the business

    Softcat2019-11-21
  6. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lots and lots of pro's! everyone works really hard and feel you are a valued member of the team

    Cons

    nothing in particular. mostly get this info from the employee sat survey

    Softcat2019-11-28
  7. "New Recruit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I felt supported throughout the recruitment process, and any enquires I had, prior to starting, were answered with speed and patience from the recruiters and the staff hiring me. Since starting I have felt supported by the team, and emphasis has been placed that no question should feel embarrassing to ask! Taking initiative is encouraged and praised. The culture at Softcat has been accommodating, friendly and fun - I am excited to continue on my journey at Softcat and see what is in store!

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I have is being addressed as the creation of Non-Sale inductions & workshops is now being put in place!

    Softcat2019-11-07
  8. "Thoroughly enjoy working at Softcat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity to grow and develop. Ideas get listened to and taken on. I get to work with passionate, nice, clever, helpful, pro-active, knowledgeable people with a can-do attitude.

    Cons

    You need to be ok with a bit of ambiguity. We accomplish great things in this company and a lot of the time it's not set in stone and we might be asked to deliver the moon on a stick. But we're acutally very good at delivering moons on sticks ;)

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Softcat2019-11-04
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fun work place with a good atmosphere - Learn from experienced colleagues who have earned their place in the company - Breakfast and corporate perks - Flexible working hours with the option to work from home if necessary

    Cons

    - Not the most effective type of support if you are not hitting targets - Relatively low basic pay

    Softcat2019-11-16
  10. "Outstanding recruitment procedures & experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Microsoft Solution Architect in Marlow, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a new joiner at SoftCat and had gone through series of interviews and met with few wonderful people too. On board recruiters’ approach, attitude and their outstanding communication strategy aligned with their business processes makes them very diverse from rest of world. What touched me is the ‘sense’ of enabling the fundamental concepts of ‘diversity & equal opportunities’ by creating a ‘common pool’ of ‘strategic realization’ for all candidates to ‘understand & realize’ the potential values and how it reflects in creating some business value. We can easily comprehend their culture propelled with ‘very professional approach’ which is unquestionably eminent in this competitive world.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing as such but I will revisit after few months time.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Softcat2019-10-14
Found 140 reviews