Softcat Reviews

Updated 29 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
66 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours if you want to succeed, first 6 months is hell(in 17 reviews)

  • "Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to build a career at"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Softcat for over 10 years and have loved every minute of it. Management are engaged and keen to improve wherever they can and open to constructive criticism. Lots of opportunities to progress within management as well, and incredible earning potential in Sales.

    Cons

    Sales is always a tough job and a lot is asked of you, however this is made clear from the start.

    Softcat Response

    July 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review for us, and we thank you for the contribution you've made over the last 10 years, that's great to see you've enjoyed it so much. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  2. "Has it's benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Culture - Lots of parties to show the company cares - Lots of benefits - Lots of events for different matters (LGBTQ, BLM, British Army etc.)

    Cons

    - Salary is low across the board in services division, extremely hard to try and get a raise. - Too much work for small teams with team members knowing more about the products than managers - Teams hire people who aren't fit for the job.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    July 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review with us and that you are enjoying our culture and the networking groups we have formed to support our employees. On the point of the interview process, we are actually in the middle of reviewing how we interview, ensuring the practices are up to date and relevant for the skills we're assessing. There does seem to be some concerns you've raised however around salary and workload so I would suggest reaching out to your line manager to have that conversation and raise any issues. I am also happy to speak if you'd like to reach out to us and talk in more detail, my email is rachelco@softcat.com Thanks Rachel Cowell

  3. "Everything I wanted"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Exposure to front line sales and accountability from day 1. * Evidence of commitment to development throughout the business with a number of directors and managers having progressed having joined through the graduate program * Fantastic culture and having fun is actively encouraged * flexible working * fantastic earnings

    Cons

    * can feel like the nature of the business is restrictive at times. Some people struggle with accounts etc. but the brightest talent always finds a way * for the size of the company it can feel like they're winging it at times. I personally find this quite genuine and it creates an openness towards improvement throughout the business

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    June 15, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your views, we really appreciate it and so great to hear that you have been with us for a long time and continue to be successful. We're always looking at ways to be more agile as we grow and will take on board the feedback you've provided. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  4. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding, challenging, valued as an employee, self controlled

    Cons

    Low basic salary, and systems are out dated

    Softcat Response

    June 25, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we really appreciate it. Softcat are focused on ensuring our employees have the right tools to do their job, and are currently spearheading a technology transformation project on some of our core IT systems, so we hope to be in a great place with these over the near future Thanks Rachel Cowell

  5. "Good uni stepping stone, but very little long term career prospects"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual atmosphere, generally good perks the C level management i think really want to push the company in the right direction particularly after Graeme Watt coming in.

    Cons

    All the sales are based on how much profit you can add on to software so lots of the account managers fizz out after a 2-3 years when they get caught having to up their margins to meet their targets by customers who take their business elsewhere.

    Softcat Response

    June 8, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review with us, we really appreciate the time taken in providing this. We are disappointed that you have referenced not recommending us as an employer, and appreciate there are always things a company can do to improve so we'd really welcome your feedback. Do get in touch with me directly on rachelco@softcat.com if you'd like to discuss this further, and see if we can address any of these concerns Thanks Rachel Cowell

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    The people The general office vibe The freedom and confidence given to you by Managers/Team Leader Feel good factor as the company continues to strive and progress

    Cons

    The Manchester office is a little outside the centre, but they do shuttle buses from the train station anyway.

    Softcat Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us and that you're enjoying working for Softcat. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  7. "Softcat Family"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Licensing Specialist in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - great management team who aim to grow your career and give plenty of new opportunities - everyone is happy to support you growing within your role, you are never left to fend for yourself - opportunity to move across different roles to suit your personality & needs - big emphasis on 'building your own career' at Softcat - great buzz around the office, every day there is something exciting going on - extra benefits such as health insurance, travel to work scheme, perklife - flexible working from home options

    Cons

    - you need to ask for pay rises and push for these, which can be done by going above your job role and proving what you can do. - requires a good bit of travelling to and from meetings and to other offices depending on your role which some may not like, i see this as a positive to get out of the office but can be tiring.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    June 1, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for taking the time to give your review, we're so happy that you're having such a positive experience with us, that's what we always aim for! Thanks Rachel Cowell

  8. "Not great"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None to think of as they’re sugar coated

    Cons

    No one wants to be there - management aren’t the cleverest bunch but on a power trip

    Softcat Response

    June 16, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, it is disappointing to hear you feel this way as this is definitely not the experience we want our employees to have. We're really proud of the culture. If you would be open to it, I would be interested to understand a little more about your experience so we can address the concerns raised. My email is rachelco@softcat.com

  9. "Brilliant place to start a career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity for personal growth and success is seemingly boundless. The culture and people are brilliant, so even on hard days you will enjoy where you work. Within a sales-based role, the job gives you immense experience within the first few years, both internally & externally through exposure to other UK businesses e.g. your customers. Getting to work closely with outside organisations through the role gives great insight into how other companies work, so is great exposure for personal development. Also the longer you go on the bigger and more complex the organisations you work with become, and therefore this type of experience can really set you up for success in your career. There is a lot of opportunity for progression such as management, up until a certain stage. Company on the whole is also going from strength to strength so it's gone from a brilliant place to work, to also one of the best and biggest partners in the market.

    Cons

    Base salary is low in sales, particularly for management positions, however you know this going on due to the opportunity within the role.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    May 5, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review, we appreciate your comments. We're so proud of our culture and the teams that make up Softcat and wish you continued success with us. Thanks again Rachel Cowell

  10. "Great place to start your career"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    - Good commission structure - Fantastic culture, and mostly young people too - Great job our of uni to get you used to working life

    Cons

    - Highly competitive role so longer hours required to succeed long term

    Softcat Response

    April 27, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking time to leave a review, we really value your thoughts! We're really proud of our culture and that we have a strong work ethic throughout the business, all driven to achieve great things! Thanks Rachel Cowell

Found 163 reviews