Softcat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 128 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Average basic salary, but the un-capped commission makes up for this(in 13 reviews)

  • "No other way to put it, but it can be tough, long hours, challenging targets and competitive colleagues(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Internal account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social life and support

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of cold calling

    Softcat2019-09-09

    Softcat Response

    September 10, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it's appreciated. With the hours and cold calling, that is an element of the role as it's about how we build business with our clients, and this can sometimes mean working the hours that suits the customer and getting the opportunity to speak ...

    Show More
  2. "Internal IT Support Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal IT Support in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Softcat is full of incredible people and great opportunities. The Softcat culture is to work hard while enjoying your job and where you work. The company is growing and you can grow with it.

    Cons

    There are not any real downfalls to working at Softcat.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Softcat2019-09-05

    Softcat Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback and we're really glad your still enjoying it here, that's what we hope for! Thanks Rachel Cowell

  3. "Recent starter at Softcat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in Manchester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel well support by team leader and wider department, lots of scope for learning and development & an enthusiastic culture

    Cons

    Lots of people/teams to keep track of, so it can be difficult to know who to ask for assistance (within the wider company) when it's required

    Softcat2019-09-05

    Softcat Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review your experience working at Softcat, we really value your opinion. We're really glad that you're experiencing good learning and development opportunities, and we do encourage employees where possible to take ownership of driving their ...

    Show More
  4. "Good 'COMFORTABLE' place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work life balance, very friendly teams/staff. so far so good

    Cons

    None yet - im sure it cant be worse than most companies.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Softcat2019-09-04

    Softcat Response

    September 4, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we hope you enjoy your time here :) Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  5. "Incredible company, highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Great people, great package, autonomy, exceptional career growth potential, fun, highly inclusive, exciting, successful.

    Cons

    Softcat AMs have a very tough job, especially in the first couple of years. Cold calling to gain your account base can be very challenging and draining. That said, you’re supported all the time by management and are in a peer group with an “in it together” attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing :-)

    Softcat2019-09-04

    Softcat Response

    September 9, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks so much for such a bright and positive review, it's lovely to read. We're so glad, even having left the company that you have taken away some great memories and enjoyed your time here. Thanks Rachel Cowell

  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - great working atmosphere with friendly staff across the entire business - autonomy - progression - flexible working

    Cons

    I have no complaints about the company!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job :)

    Softcat2019-09-03

    Softcat Response

    September 4, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for spending the time to leave a review, your views are really important to us! We're really glad you're enjoying your time here and that you've been here for 3 years already! Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great Team Culture. Hard work and results is recognised and rewarded. Opportunity to learn so much about the IT industry,

    Cons

    Highly competitive role so long hours are required

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Softcat2019-09-11

    Softcat Response

    September 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it! We're really glad that you enjoyed your time here, and we're keen that you get as much out of the job as possible, and offer those learning opportunities to understand all the new tech. Good luck with future roles! ...

    Show More
  8. "Softcat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and support for your personal and professional growth

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to the same role/responsibilities at other companies

    Advice to Management

    Please give people the freedom to employees that other companies do.

    Softcat2019-09-04

    Softcat Response

    September 4, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for writing your review, good to hear that you're enjoying it here. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  9. Helpful (1)

    "HR incompetent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of staff events - Some great people - Free breakfast

    Cons

    - Management is top heavy - The HR team are completely incompetent, have no idea how to treat people and lack in any empathetic soft skills required for the role - Huge disparity between the way the Support and Sales teams are treated/rewarded. Sales are always the most important. - Fake "family" atmosphere when actually it is more like Big Brother - The company only cares about employees on a superficial... level - Expected to work long and arduous hours If I could leave a minus rating then I would!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like robots that are fueled by alcohol! Hire a new HR team if you haven't already!

    Softcat2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Underpaid, underappreciated, overworked - but don't worry, there's yoga on Tuesdays!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Team in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Yoga on Tuesdays - Free breakfast items if you're office based - Opportunity to learn from others - Can be flexible with working hours and location - If you're an account manager, you have a small possibility of becoming quite wealthy after 3 years of stress - Smaller offices are rich in culture and can be a fun place to work - Healthcare and dental if you've been there 2 years - Other benefits

    Cons

    - Mass exodus of technical staff from the organisation is leaving a gaping whole - Pay is significantly low compared to industry standards, despite the profitability of the company - Cash cow for board - Mostly commission based - Calibre of culture and staff massively diminished since float - Calibre of the overall package reduced massively alongside other competitors - used to win Best Place to Work; now... barely on the listings - Benefits are hard to claim; not articulated well - Expenses app breaks regularly; have to pay for own hotels which is felt especially when underpaid - Massively Profit focused -almost cult like worship!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Instead of getting Linda from Stoke in to conduct a £7 facial to reduce stress; why not hire more people and increase the basic so you don't have people burning out/breaking down? - There's a lot of rhetoric and propaganda about mental health; if it's genuinely something the organisation takes seriously, why are most of the non-remuneration rewards drinking sessions in London? Why are certain teams consistently... worked or not invested in until breaking point? - A lot of Softcat's success orientates around a few good and brilliant people's masochistic tendency to say "yes" and dogged determination to help. These people are either in the process of leaving, have left to competitors or vendors, or are so burnout that they're essentially zombies - Would strongly argue that upper management haven't got a clue about the day to day workload or struggle of the boots on the ground. This needs to change if issues felt within the business are to be rectified

    Show More
    Softcat2019-08-01

    Softcat Response

    August 7, 2019Director-HR

    I am disappointed to read your review. If you would like to have a confidential discussion please do contact me. We want our employees to have a positive experience at work and therefore I would like to understand your perspective further. We seek to listen to all our employees ...

    Show More
Found 128 reviews