Softcat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
92%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
52 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, lots of cold calling(in 15 reviews)

  • "Average basic salary, but the un-capped commission makes up for this(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Account Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -sociable hours - good work-life balance - great people - vendors paying for lunches - excellent prizes

    Cons

    It's a very stressful job

    Softcat2020-02-04
  2. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Good social perks

    Cons

    there is little management progression

    Softcat2020-02-03
  3. "Great place for first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Breakfast, nice people, games, progression if you can stick it out.

    Cons

    Cold calling, high targets, tough for first 2 years.

    Softcat2020-02-17
  4. "Best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent people, great work ethic and fantastic fun. They really care about the employees at all levels.

    Cons

    Some of the staff benefits have been a bit behind industry standards, but they are improving.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2020-01-29
  5. "World Class"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Softcat truly cares for it’s customers & staff. Opportunities to develop are everywhere you look. Everyone is passionate about customer service and enthusiastic about supporting each other and developing.

    Cons

    It’s a fast paced environment & never seems to slow down or reflect on its recent achievements.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2020-01-26

    Softcat Response

    January 27, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for giving us your review, we're really happy that you have given your feedback. We're really conscious to keep the culture core to who we are and will definitely keep considering ways to keep to our values as we grow and expand. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  6. "Great opportunity and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn lots Progression Good atmosphere Autonomy

    Cons

    Only the best survive Inflexible.

    Softcat2020-02-09
  7. "Really good perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Manager in London, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, flexi time, really lovely managers, amazing company culture

    Cons

    A lot of cold calling, huge targets

    Softcat2020-01-09

    Softcat Response

    January 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are really happy that you are taking advantage of our fab benefits and that the culture shines through. We appreciate Sales can be demanding in relation to the cold calling side, with us looking to establish ourselves in the market and on-board new customers. With some hard work and determination we've had some fantastic successes in the business and that's why we have grown year on year and we really hope you do too! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  8. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely focussed on employee engagement Great people, no prima donnas Fast growing so opportunities to develop and grow

    Cons

    Non so to speak off. Things move fast and it’s hard work so don’t work here if you want to coast but if you want dynamic and exciting it’s great!

    Softcat2019-12-13

    Softcat Response

    January 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it! Great to see that you can see how important we take employee engagement and that people are key to our success and our culture as it's very much the core of our strategy. Thanks and we really hope you continue to enjoy it here! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  9. "L&D Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Specialist in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Softcat is a vibrant and exciting place to work with lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is not always ideal owing to travel and work events on weekends and week days

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-12-23

    Softcat Response

    January 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for joining the Softcat family and for leaving a review on your time here. We're conscious of the need for collaboration across the business and have a working group as part of our Senior Management team initiatives so hopefully some of the outputs of that will help drive the overall collaboration and team work across departments as well as within departments. Thanks for all your hard work and for the time you've given to Softcat, it's fab to see you've been with us for the time you have. Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  10. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, pay, opportunities, training, progression

    Cons

    Flexibility, internal politics, none, none,

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-11-23

    Softcat Response

    November 29, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback, we really appreciate it. We are also really glad that you called out culture, opportunities and progression as we're working really hard to ensure that our employees enjoy working here, feel like they are part of a family of other Softcatters and also that they see future opportunity and stay with us. Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 146 reviews