Softcat Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 264 of over 383 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Culture and office working environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great earning potential if you put the hard work in(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Sales Engineer

    Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

    687

    227 Comments

    Tech

    84K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Softcat~214722
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Incredible company to work for!

      Nov 22, 2021 - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working, career progress opportunities, fun environment.

      Cons

      1st year as an account manager can be tough until you accumulate the right accounts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experiences, we really appreciate it. Thanks Rachel

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Current Employee

      Nov 19, 2021 - Microsoft Team Lead in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softcat has an amazing culture and hybrid work structure. A healthy work life balance is encouraged which a really value as an employee. The networks such as Supporting women in Business and Pride gives employees the opportunity to evoke change for the better, have our voices heard and feel part of a community.

      Cons

      Basic salaries could be improved.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you and we're really happy to hear you mention the communities we have here as we're really proud of how much they bring the business together and to celebrate difference. Thanks Rachel

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Role Review

      Nov 20, 2021 - Account Manager in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities The role is what you make of it - Can do as well as you want if you're willing to put the work in.

      Cons

      Long hours in early years building account base

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your feedback, it's appreciated Thanks Rachel

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Career

      Nov 9, 2021 - Account Manager in Poole, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Heavily relies on its people and so it has good culture

      Cons

      If you don't like the culture, you probably wont like the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for leaving your review, we really appreciate it. Thanks Rachel

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Deserves all the praise

      Oct 8, 2021 - End User Support Specialist in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked at Softcat for over 10 years, I've seen the company grow and change a lot in that time. Softcat has always been a fun and dynamic place to work, but throughout the 2010's, and particularly after Graeme Watt became CEO, the company started moving away from its "laddish" roots at pace, and is now a really diverse, professional and welcoming company to work for. It feels like the company is constantly redoubling its efforts to improve employee satisfaction and engender more opportunity for career progression for everyone, regardless of age, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, race, religion or disability. The offices are all incredibly dynamic, modern and welcoming spaces to work, with a great approach to flexible working, and a plethora of great benefits.

      Cons

      Some of the underlying applications and sales tools are showing their age a bit now, and could do with updating. Some prospective sales employees may find the cold calling element of the job challenging, although the support provided at this stage is very good.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks so much for sharing your feedback, and thanks so much for your loyalty and long standing service. We're so happy to hear that you have seen a shift as we've grown and matured as an organisation. Thanks Rachel

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Its a tough place if you are starting at the bottom

      Sep 29, 2021 - Account Manager in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, office perks including free food and drinks and recreational activities

      Cons

      Very low basic salary, lots of pressure around numbers, insane target increases ( mine have DOUBLED each year for the last 2 years ) If you are not one of the old boys or in with the management then you are massively overlooked. The usual crowd get the promotions and recognitions each time, its a very competitive market

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your review with us. I appreciate the time you've taken to write this and I will take this feedback back to our leadership team for consideration. Thanks Rachel

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great people

      Sep 24, 2021 - Account Executive in Leeds, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lovely community and huge opportunity to learn and network

      Cons

      The base salary is low and they only have instant coffee in the office

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for your review. We're always looking to improve the working environment where possible so if you have any suggestions, particularly around beverages as you've mentioned and what's on offer in the office, please do speak to our facilities team or the office manager. Thanks Rachel

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Sep 8, 2021 - Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun place to work lots of benefits

      Cons

      It’s a hard grind. Be prepared to put the work in. But it pays off

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us the feedback. Thanks Rachel

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Best culture

      Aug 2, 2021 - Account Manager in Bristol, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture and perks, if you work hard you will be rewarded.

      Cons

      Can be tough, need to go in with the right attitude.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks so much for your feedback and thank you for your commitment and hard work when you were with us Thanks Rachel

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The most positive company I've ever worked for

      Jul 28, 2021 - Internal Role in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Culture and values - Everything the business is doing around improving diversity and inclusion - Pay/Benefits - Support from management and colleagues - Communication and honesty from senior leadership

      Cons

      Very little to add to this section. If I had to be really picky... office parking is limited. However, there is a waiting list and there is also free parking around the office, plus discounted car parks too.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you so much, we're so happy to hear what a great experience you're having with us. Thanks Rachel

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 264 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Softcat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

    or