Softcat Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 307 of over 475 reviews

4.3
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "Softcat make it incredibly hard to ever look for a place to work elsewhere(in 70 reviews)

  • "Culture and office working environment(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing negative to say about Softcat(in 37 reviews)

  • "Maybe the only one is the basic salary(in 29 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    440

    62 Comments

    Tech

    287.5K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Softcat~214722
    Join the conversation on
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Best company to start as a graduate who wants to kickstart their career in sales

      Aug 7, 2022 - Network and Security Specialist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and culture are amazing. The in office experience is second to none. If you want to work remotely all the time this is not the right company for you. Softcat's in office experience is one kf the main reason why I stayed for 6 years. Softcat give you a platform to build your own business. Target any sector you want to. Enable you with relevant training, encourage and support self development. Targets are fair and achievable.

      Cons

      Lack of international presence, which I am sure will change over time.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks so much for taking time to provide feedback - we really appreciate it! Many thanks, Elisha

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Company

      Aug 5, 2022 - Project Manager in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, employee benefits, people

      Cons

      Pension contributions from employer maximum 5%

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks for your review! Many thanks, Elisha

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Ok

      Jul 31, 2022 - Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team ok for a firstrole

      Cons

      Low pay high turnover not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time, and if you would like to discuss any of your thoughts in more detail, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly on ElishaKi@softcat.com Many thanks, Elisha

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      False expectations

      Aug 9, 2022 - Account Executive in Manchester, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free breakfast is offered in the office

      Cons

      the office environment is not a positive one. doggy dog

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you so much for taking the time to submit feedback - we really appreciate it! I would be interested in exploring your experience further if possible. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly on ElishaKi@softcat.com should you feel you would like to. Many thanks, Elisha

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great great culture but it won't pay your bills

      Jul 13, 2022 -  in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture, good awareness of mental health and well-being. There are always great events and parties being held

      Cons

      Average pay is well below the market rate, eventually the novelty of the work perks are not as great when the pay is low and you're struggling to pay your bills. Other departments get far more recognition than others and opportunity to progress in roles which has all led to a high staff turnover.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, we really appreciate it. We are consistently working to improve our remuneration packages across all areas of the business, and have made very positive steps with this recently. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please don't hesitate to reach out to me on ElishaKi@softcat.com. Many thanks, Elisha

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Support role

      Jul 11, 2022 - Sales Support in Leeds, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softcat really look after their employees Room for progression

      Cons

      Basic salary lower than industry standard

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate it, and are so glad to hear that your experience with us has been a positive one Thanks Elisha

    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      See Women's Returners (non) interview review

      Jul 22, 2022 -  in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      See review in interviews, very unpleasant experience/immediate pressure to apple for role outside programme the 0 response

      Cons

      Toxic masculinity recruiter ego guy

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Head of Recruitment

      Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I have referred to your interview review and would really appreciate time to talk through the feedback in more detail. If you'd be open to speaking further, please contact me on rachelco@softcat.com. Thanks Rachel

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work environment

      Jun 21, 2022 - Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and company environment Great people likeminded

      Cons

      Salary could be a little more compettitve Pressure and turn over is quite high

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! Many thanks, Elisha

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Fun

      Jun 14, 2022 - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really good culture and its good fun

      Cons

      Base salary is really poor

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks so much for your feedback - we really appreciate you taking the time! Very happy to hear that you've had such a positive experience with us We have recently reviewed and increased all of our basic salaries across sales, but if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to email me directly on ElishaKi@softcat.om Thanks, Elisha

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Supporting customers through their AWS journey

      Jun 15, 2022 - AWS Experience Specialist in Marlow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to learn, lots of resource available & opportunity to grow and get into management roles and get lot of experience

      Cons

      Low salary compared to UK average

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Team Leader

      Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We have recently done some work internally around reviewing salaries, and are constantly working to keep abreast of the market and how our offering aligns. If you would like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to email me on ElishaKi@softcat.com Many thanks, Elisha

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 307 Reviews

    Softcat Reviews FAQs

    Softcat has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 475 reviews left anonymously by employees. 85% of employees would recommend working at Softcat to a friend and 85% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Softcat employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Softcat. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    85% of Softcat employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Softcat 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Softcat to be management, career development, culture and the cons to be work life balance, compensation.

    Popular Careers with Softcat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

    or