Softcat Reviews

Updated 4 Mar 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get out what you put in, management look after you, feel like a person rather than a number, they make it as easy as possible for you to succeed

    Cons

    There aren't really any cons

    Softcat Response

    September 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write your views down, and we're so glad that you are seeing the support from management and the development is there to progress your career, this is so important!

  2. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company culture and job security

    Cons

    Below average pay, the best staff are often undervalued


  3. "Account Manager"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours and commission structure

    Cons

    No cons for Softcat here

    Softcat Response

    March 1, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate it! Thanks Elisha

  4. COVID-19

    "Time flies when you're having fun"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great support at every level Open, honest and inspirational leadership team Amazing benefits and social scene Incredible organic growth story to be market leader in a great industry Opportunity to grow career and earnings significantly 10 years of enjoying working for a great company

    Cons

    Hard work for the first few years, worth persevering and building your business and platform

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    February 19, 2021Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for your review, great to see you've already been with us for 10 years, we really appreciate your contribution. Thanks Rachel

  5. "Great commission but a lot of Nepotism"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Account Executive in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great commission - Very social - Loads of events - Young workforce

    Cons

    - People are promoted not because they have any interest in people but because they've probably married a Director. - Quite gossip-y, I guess due to a young workforce. - Account disputes are common.

    Continue reading
  6. "A Friendly and Rewarding company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Account Manager in Fareham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family feel within the company, with great benefits and managers that really want to see you succeed within your role, everyone I met within the company was a pleasure to be around.

    Cons

    The work is hard, obtaining new customers through cold calling is hard work. If you aren't the type of person that doesn't want to inconvenience people, it is seriously hard work.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    February 19, 2021Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and wish you all the very best in the future. Thanks Rachel

  7. "Great company but you have to love sales to be successful"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in London, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Good mentoring, and good graduate scheme to get on after university. Lots of trainings given

    Cons

    Only for a certain type of person, diversity of the company (BME) is poor and if you don't 100% love sales it won't be for you

  8. "Very good place to work, great staff, great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, People, Incentives, Management, Opportunities

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Softcat Response

    February 19, 2021Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we're so happy to hear your comments and we definintely pride ourselves on looking out for our number one priority, and that's our people. Only then can we service our customers in the best way! Thanks Rachel

  9. "A fantastic career and opportunity if you WANT it enough"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great commissions structure. Amazing culture. So much progression opportunity

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say about Softcat

    Softcat Response

    February 5, 2021Recruitment Manager

    Thank you so much for spending your time writing this review, and good luck in your new role! Rachel

  10. "Good freebies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great freebies, TNOs and incentives.

    Cons

    Account base is limited Employ sporty people as that is the only indication you are competitive? Poor base salary

    Softcat Response

    March 1, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and detailing your experiences for us. If you'd be open to getting in touch to share your feedback in more detail, specifically surrounding the cons you've highlighted, I would be grateful. My email is elishaki@softcat.com Thanks Elisha

Viewing 1 - 10 of 212 English Reviews

Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

Softcat logo
or